DZ Deathrays
Bloodstreams


3.5
great

Review

by Puzzles USER (17 Reviews)
June 4th, 2012 | 25 replies | 2,818 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 'They're like a party band. It's party music.'

2 of 3 thought this review was well written

Every now and then you come across a band that, all things considered, is damn cool to tell your friends about.

‘Dude, there’s this sick band, they’re called DZ Deathrays.’
‘Oh yeah? What are they like?’
‘It’s like the coolest thing ever. They’re like a party band. It’s party music.’

That's pretty much the best description you can give of the band. Unless you're me, of course. Exhibit A: DZ Deathrays started at a house party in late 2008 and, admittedly, will probably end at one. Or so they say – 2012 has seen the dynamic duo (fortissimo, mainly) receive masses of press coverage, becoming the darling children of local press, national press and NME magazine. It’s the aura of ‘cool’ that these long haired punks carry about that lends itself to their unmistakable magnetism as a two-piece. Their debut full-length, ‘Bloodstreams’, takes the furious pace of their previous couple of EPs and takes it up a notch, then down a couple of notches, then right up to 11. DZ Deathrays play a frenetic brand of future punk; a sound that should be vomit-inducing levels of generic but instead comes across as quite the opposite. Most tracks, namely ‘Dollar Chills’, ‘Dumb It Down’, ‘L.A. Lightning and ‘Gebbie Street’ have the hooks that grip the listener in a way unlike most acts these days.

Listening through ‘Bloodstreams’, one can’t help but sit back in awe at how terrible it isn’t. The unpolished production, out of time drums and cluttered instrumentals would ordinarily lead one to the action of exclaiming, ‘*** this!’ and moving on. Somehow, they pull it off, in a way that’s not only unique and exciting, but also compelling to a multitude of audiences (hipsters, anyone?). The hooks are unforgettable, the energy is vicious, the pace is frantic and the live performance multiplies all of these by at least 72. No doubt highlight track ‘Play Dead Until You’re Dead’ will give the band the exposure they need to blaze a trail across the indie music scene, while ‘Cops Capacity’ serves as potential staple of their live performance.

Chances are: the way things are going, you’ll have the aforementioned conversation at one point or another. DZ Deathrays are the talk of the town, and rightfully so. They’ve a magnetic image, a wild persona, infectious image and monstrous appeal. The word is out, ladies and gentlemen – this band is the business. Get amongst it.



Recent reviews by this author
Cloudkicker FadeDeftones White Pony
Thrice VheissuCloudkicker Let Yourself Be Huge
Birds Of Tokyo Birds Of TokyoTeeheehee Rainbow Stab Pizzaface
user ratings (13)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Black Rat

Comments:Add a Comment 
Puzzles
June 4th 2012



3065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sick band. Fucking sick band.

Butkuiss
June 4th 2012



4109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

NO SLEEP TILL YOU PASS OUT YA GOTTA


NO SLEEP THIS TIME

Butkuiss
June 4th 2012



4109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I need to stop streaming this and get an actual copy.

Puzzles
June 4th 2012



3065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't wait to see these guys live. Not long now.

Butkuiss
June 4th 2012



4109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They were in town a few weeks ago, couldn't see them. It seems to be a recurring theme with me.

WhiteNoise
June 4th 2012



3041 Comments


Agreed, I've noticed that it's become "cool" to name drop these guys atm.

Digging: Dot Hacker - How's Your Process? (Work)

Puzzles
June 4th 2012



3065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How do I edit this shit? I put "infectious image" in the last paragraph and it should be "infectious music". Yeah, Butkuiss, these guys tour like crazy so they should come back around soon enough.

Willie
Moderator
June 5th 2012



15876 Comments


Puzzles, do you live in the US?

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

WhiteNoise
June 5th 2012



3041 Comments


Ahhh I need this album.

Puzzles
June 6th 2012



3065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah Willie I'm from Australia.
White Noise you can get it off their website for $10, 320kbps mp3

WhiteNoise
June 6th 2012



3041 Comments


Yeah i've been streaming it off Spotify, I meant picking it up Physically because i'm crazy like that

Butkuiss
June 6th 2012



4109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Puzzles is our national mascot.

Willie
Moderator
June 6th 2012



15876 Comments


Nah Willie I'm from Australia.
That's a shame because their publicist contacted me about free DZ Deathrays concert tickets in return for a write-up about the show. I asked if I could have you do it since you wrote the review and she was cool with that -- but it's US only.

Puzzles
June 7th 2012



3065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn, that would have been sick. Let me know if anything comes up in the future.
Surely that role goes to Billy, Butkuiss?

Butkuiss
June 28th 2012



4109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely. ;)

Also, Cops Capacity is the SHIT

Butkuiss
March 16th 2013



4109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Seeing them in two weeks. Can't fucking wait.

Puzzles
March 16th 2013



3065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh shit! Getting tickets ASAP

Puzzles
March 16th 2013



3065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bought tickets, yewww

Butkuiss
March 17th 2013



4109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, me, the girlfriend, and a few others are going to catch them at Goodgod in Sydney. Might also catch DLC a few days before.

Puzzles
March 17th 2013



3065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jesus, there goes a chunk of my cash for the next week



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy