XXYYXX
XXYYXX


3.5
great

Review

by Kevin K USER (56 Reviews)
June 1st, 2012 | 135 replies | 24,757 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist


9 of 12 thought this review was well written

Concept
---------
A sixteen year-old makes abstract future garage music, seeming like he has at least 3 more years of experience than that.

Distinctions
-------------
Songs like “About You” demonstrate a profound eeriness and daze, but there’s still a fair amount of landfill to be found here.

Virtuoso
---------
Crisp quality and production are a given for this kind of music, but little will blow you away.

Imagery
----------
A tad bare thanks to the minimalist approach, but it compensates for having a ghostly, melodramatic atmosphere.

Accessibility
-------------
Avid future garage/electronic fans will have no problems easing into this.



It’s interesting to know a 16-year old could make something this professional. Hell I’m not much older than XXYYXX’s Marcel Everett, it makes me wonder if I put aside other things I could have created something with this kind of potential. I’m not saying his situation is unheard of, but I undertake solo projects myself (in art), and all at once it makes me feel inspired and like I’ve been sitting on my laurels too much. Where do you find the time and technique to let ideas flow this well and seem so natural? Do we all just suck?

Whatever the case, Everett has a penchant for music making and it shows on XXYYXX. One part Machinedrum, one part James Blake, his self-titled effort walks the tried and true path of ghastly sampling and wonky melodies like most contenders in the genre. While a few tracks wallow in mediocrity, there’s real potential lying in the framework of XXYYXX. Synthesizers foam at the mouths of several songs here, while others get by on minimalist percussion, but the best songs, particularly “About You”, create the most chilling moments on the album because they efficiently do both. When you feel these songs’ magic, you can easily excuse the little bit of garbage that exists on this album, and you can also expect great things to come from this young producer in the future.



Recent reviews by this author
Uio Loi Uio LoiLord Mantis Death Mask
Sundrugs Hidden ScenesJulianna Barwick The Magic Place
Utada Hikaru DEEP RIVERFlying Lotus Los Angeles
user ratings (149)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ThroneOfAgony
June 1st 2012



3485 Comments


interesting way to review I must say, but I'll look into this for sure

WashboardSuds
June 1st 2012



4992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"About You"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=lG5aSZBAuPs


experimenting again, fire at will, critiquers

Digging: Gas - Nah und Fern

WashboardSuds
June 1st 2012



4992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn Throne, beat me to my own first comment

TheAshes
June 1st 2012



79 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah great stuff, review looks pretty good too.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2012



10064 Comments


Sweet review, and sweet album.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Calculate
June 1st 2012



1135 Comments


i don't know what youre up to with this review but i don't like it

WashboardSuds
June 1st 2012



4992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I guess it's a little confusing so let me explain:

the first half of the review (where things like "Concept" and "Accessibility" are listed) breaks the sound of the album up into categories. the second half at the bottom is the core review.

the reason I did it this way is because I have a hard time throwing in otherwise important information into my review without making it read abruptly or formulaic. this flows better for me.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2012



31087 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tbh I don't know how I feel about the review

Album's good, a little underwhelming at times. Plus these artist names are just getting worse - VVV, XXXY, XXYYXX...... Just what the fuck is going on here???

Digging: Banks - Goddess

WashboardSuds
June 1st 2012



4992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is it the writing, or do you not like the layout?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2012



31087 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bit of both, but to be honest I'm just not a fan of "experimental reviews" so I'm immediately biased

Jash
June 1st 2012



4244 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i can't still can't believe this kid is 16. his newest EP is pretty dope too.

mindleviticus
June 1st 2012



8220 Comments


It's good. Only 2 albums have really peaked my interest with the post-dubstep/garage etc. genre and that's Burial's Untrue and Kindred. It's hard for me to get into this kind of music and I don't know why.

AtomicShane
June 1st 2012



1766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

its ok

mindleviticus
June 1st 2012



8220 Comments


it's cool that this guys 16 and making something this neat. That's a year older than me!

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2012



31087 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only 2 albums have really peaked my interest with the post-dubstep/garage etc. genre and that's Burial's Untrue and Kindred.


lol

mindleviticus
June 1st 2012



8220 Comments


fuck off deviant

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2012



31087 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hahaha

Calculate
June 1st 2012



1135 Comments


you can kinda hear this guys age in his music. also he reminds me a lot of koreless

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2012



31087 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah he still has a ways to go, but if anything this album just makes me excited for what he'll do in the future when he gets a little more experience behind him

mindleviticus
June 1st 2012



8220 Comments


For once I agree with you



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy