Krizz Kaliko
Kickin' and Screamin'


4.0
excellent

Review

by Ian USER (106 Reviews)
May 25th, 2012 | 43 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Kickin' and Screamin" makes it obvious Krizz Kaliko and Tech N9ne are at the top of their game

Alright alright alright he goes by the name of Krizz Kaliko, but you can call him Kali Baby.

Except on "Kickin' & Screamin" it's said with a Bee Gees sound and pronounced, "KAAAAAHHHLLLLIIII Bay-ay-bee!"

Not since The Beach Boys released Pet Sounds has something so positive and innovative been heard by the world. He truly is something else, I mean, someone who is fat, black, and weird is accessible to any ear. If no one understood his music and no one was dancing to it, he'd be dancing by himself because that's just how he does. Yes, he is the guy with the thing on his eye, but his music is dope and he's getting high off his own supply. He's so rich he has a car on his wrist and a house around his neck.

"Kickin' & Screamin'" is easily comparable to Tech N9ne albums that it is seperated by Anger, Madness, and the Hole. If you like Strange Music you already know the outcome so you might as well turn up the volume and watch him kill ***. All first eight songs off "Kickin' & Screamin'" are bangers that soar with the expected no one is ***ing with me feeling. Topping that sextion off is the usual guest appearance of 816 Boyz and the hit, "Abu Dhabi", 2012's economical version of "African Child" as well as the Song of the Year! Well, much like the Beach Boys sentence of my review... not really, but in terms of Sputnikmusic rated musical entertainment the song is somewhere between great and excellent!

Emotionally "Kickin' and Screamin'" soars to the top of the scale, "Created A Monster" sees Krizz open up as much as he ever has:

"Guess I get picked last in gym class again, "Pick on the fat kid, we can kick ass on him And he funny lookin' and he can't afford lunch so just give him a bunch of punches in his stomach maybe it was brother and mother. I'm makin' him cry cause he got Vitilgo on his mouth and on his eyes and he'll never fight back, he ain't built like that, he's a scardy cat, afraid he might get killed like that"".

Krizz Kaliko and Tech N9ne have been doing this type of hip-hop/rap for a while now, transitioning from the first half of their rap career to the second. In no way am I saying they will soon fade away, there's more work to be done, as they say. Slowly evolving, tweaking their sound and spit, they've also learned to take advantage of suprising guest star abilities and knacks for the betterment of songs. With "Kickin' and Screamin" it's obvious Krizz and N9ne are at the top of their game and seem poised to soon go in a new direction, none more evident than in the last half. With this output you can't really say that Tech N9ne is any better than Krizz Kaliko and I'm sure they're both happy with that.



Recent reviews by this author
Z-Ro CocaineEmery The Weak's End
Papa Roach Old Friends from Young YearsLinkin Park Living Things
Madina Lake From Them, Through Us, To YouBrand New The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me
user ratings (36)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
May 25th 2012


12874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck I missed some grammar in my proofs. D:

BigPleb
May 25th 2012


36740 Comments


Can't be helped dude, doesn't take away from the fact its a good review.

ThroneOfAgony
May 25th 2012


3485 Comments


Soulja Boy tell 'em!
Hopped up out the bed,
Turn my swag on,
Took a look in the mirror said what's up
Yeah I'm getting money (oh)

Turn my swag on,
It's my turn, now turn it up
Yeah, yeah
I put my team on, and my theme song
Now it's time to turn it up
Yeah, yeah

I got a question why they hating on me,
I got a question why they hating on me
I ain't did nothing to 'em, but count this money
And put my team on, now my whole clic stunning
Boy what's up, yeah
Boy what's up, yeah

When I was 9 years old I put it in my head
That I'm gonna die for this gold

(Soulja Boy tell 'em)
Boy what's up, yeah
Hopped up out the bed
Turn my swag on
Took a look in the mirror said what's up
Yeah I'm gettin money (ooh)

I'm back again,
I know a lot of you all thought I wasn't coming back...
Yeah, yeah
I had to prove them wrong,
Got back in the studio and came up with another hit
Yeah, yeah

I told the world my story, the world where I'm from
Souljaboy X L dot com, boy what's up
Yeah, yeah

Now everytime you see me spit
Every time you hear me rhyme
Everytime you see me in your state or town
Say what's up
Yeah, yeah

Hopped up out the bed
Turn my swag on
Took a look in the mirror said what's up
Yeah I'm gettin money (ooh)

Storm In A Teacup
May 25th 2012


12874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Your soulja boy is an infestation to rap gtfo

Storm In A Teacup
May 25th 2012


12874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Aww thanks! The heaviest guitar riffs are on Spaz, very similar to the ones off Killer and it's the only song on this album with hardcore screaming vocals.

Eclecticist
May 25th 2012


3863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is such an awesome album! He really came back from Shock Treatment, which was a very big disappointment.

Storm In A Teacup
May 25th 2012


12874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, not very good. Vitilgo is the second best album, but this is the best.

jayfatha
May 25th 2012


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Kill Shit and Dixie Cup fucking rule

Storm In A Teacup
May 25th 2012


12874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Truck you weren't banned! yeyaayayaaa

"Kill Shit and Dixie Cup fucking rule"

Once this album is uploaded to the juke box at my bar I'm going ham. We're allowed to dance crazy in the bar cuz our group is one-hunny

jayfatha
May 25th 2012


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

AAAAALL NIIIGHT AND ALL DAAAAY

Storm In A Teacup
May 25th 2012


12874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ABU DHABI IT MEANS THAT IT'S ALL GOOD WISHIN ABU DHABI'S LIKE WISHIN' A NIGGA WOULD

metalent
May 27th 2012


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is just phenomenal. the entire album is just.. can't even put words to it. "Wannabe" is my personal favorite. every song is great though. i love how the 2nd half of the album becomes more dramatic than the first half. first half was straight bangers, and the 2nd half just hits you with greatness. all the emotion on the 2nd half. this album should not be slept on.

Storm In A Teacup
May 27th 2012


12874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I'm thinking this could grow to a 4.5 for me. There's more of a message here than I first realized. Mainly just on the second half, but the tracks are layed out pretty well, even if they stay on a predictable roller coaster path....still a roller coaster.

DotEight
May 30th 2012


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Can't Be The Only One, Abu Dhabi, and Created A Monster are so fucking good.

metalent
June 7th 2012


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the whole album just flows so well. it has all the banger-esque songs. then the real emotion songs. and i pos'd the review. forgot to do that the first time

Storm In A Teacup
June 7th 2012


12874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah man. Arguably you could say that this is a double album with two different ideas and takes on rap/hip-hop for each disc, but is compressed into one disc without any of the filler songs.

Calc
February 18th 2013


12215 Comments


about to obtain. this guy is awesome

Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2013


19798 Comments


hmmm so i'm assuming you like tech n9ne calc?

Digging: Yellowcard - Lift a Sail

Calc
February 18th 2013


12215 Comments


never listened to him actually. if its as unique as this i'd like it.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2013


19798 Comments


he's pretty unique. krizz kaliko wouldn't even exist if it wasn't for tech n9ne and he's featured on a lot of his songs.

tech n9ne is actually one of the few hip hop artists i can stand.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy