Crevice
In Between


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hernan M. Campbell STAFF
May 25th, 2012 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An acoustic voyage through progressive elements.

There is a hypnotic quality that coats the music of Crevice's In Between. The album is composed by an acoustic sound, which inevitably tends to induce a gentle atmosphere, but the music in this particular effort has a much darker vibe to it. One that also exhibits an alluring element within its soothing tone. The music is composed entirely by an acoustic guitar sound, but the orchestration of the instrumental sections are truly impressive.

A song like "Cold Iridescents", though expressing a more aggressive tone than the rest of the tracks, displays the typical paradigm of the album. The guitar-work is truly captivating because it takes us through lengthy passages with unpredictable tempos, yet they are all dexterously composed. Another interesting aspect of the music also lies within its vocal deliveries. The vocal deliveries are practically existing in a free-form environment, ranging from soft narratives to even aggravated death-growls, which is a rather unique approach for a Folk album. In Between may be an album that only has an acoustic guitar and the voice of a singer to offer, but the listening experience it provides will be sure to captivate the interest of the listener when given the enthusiasm it deserves.



Recent reviews by this author
Trioscapes Digital Dream SequenceBroken Bells After The Disco
Sound and Fury (FI) PulsacionJail Weddings Meltdown: A Declaration of Unpopular Emotion
Chick Corea The VigilPond (AUS) Hobo Rocket
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.6
great
related reviews

Peering

Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2012


4462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I felt like this needed a review. Also I kept calling it an "album" when its really an EP so sorry about that.

Free Download -http://www.mediafire.com/?davdzrlces4hxb6

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2012


22003 Comments


This rules.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2012


4462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Silent
Crevice is CaptainDooRight, he wrote the album and he handed it out a while ago.

Graveyard
May 25th 2012


5838 Comments


nice

Wolfhorde
May 25th 2012


13701 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol potsy. there was quite well frequented list in which captain put the DL for his EP up and yeah it's pretty sweet. that pothead's got some talent.

seedofnothing
May 25th 2012


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Congrats on getting a review for your work Captain. Well deserved.

I really enjoyed this a lot.

I really like how you kept this original with the darker intertones as well the progressive natures. Good job. Can't wait to hear the LP

Also excellent review PaperBackWriter. I agree fully with your descriptions.

Rail
May 25th 2012


561 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah, this is great. Took me a few listens to appreciate the vocals, but the guitar-playing is fresh, composed thoughtfully and generates an atmosphere of the Sublime.

Digging: Matana Roberts - COIN COIN Chapter Three: river run thee

ItsOnlyWords
May 25th 2012


369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is actually pretty good, I love the acoustic style.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2012


4462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Captain
Glad you liked it. Im always looking out for my mates, keep me posted ont he follow-up.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2012


4462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Rail
Yeah i love the instrumentation in this, really good stuff.

Eclecticist
May 25th 2012


3863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fantastic album!

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2012


4462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm glad you like it Captain, that's all that matters.

Dashy
May 26th 2012


421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Finally someone reviewed this! Still a great album that still finds its way into my plays even with the ridiculous amount of new music I've been getting for the past week or so. Glad to see this getting more attention.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2012


4462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Dashy
Yeah I agree. its a good piece of music.

@Captain
Hey, youre a good guy yourself, mate. And I'm honored that you consider me a friend. I consider you one as well.

AllGabrielsAreGlass
May 26th 2012


431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This shit rules. it's also great to see the sputnik community helping each other out like this. Paperback you are an excellent dude.

Shuyin
May 26th 2012


12171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah this album is awsome, i may end up breaking my 666 ratings to give this a 4.

congrats Cap. m/

Digging: Daylight Dies - A Frail Becoming

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2012


10387 Comments


"An acoustic voyage through progressive elements."

This is eerily similar to your Trioscapes summary! ;]

You're great at describing the music, but your reviews would be even stronger if you took alternate routes as well as making descriptions. What does it make you feel, for instance? I suppose a more personal review would fare well for you - your descriptions are great, but it can feel mechanical when the review's comprised of them entirely.

Good work as always, Paperback. Just trying to help out a friend - maybe reading some staff reviews would help you to approach your reviews in a fresh way.

Digging: Francis Harris - Minutes of Sleep

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2012


4462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@AllGabriels
Thanks, mate. I do what I can.

@Omaha
Hey, Omaha. You know your criticism is always welcomed, and it takes a good friend to give to you straight. And yeah I know exactly what you mean. Ive been writing too much lately, and im running low on creative fuels. I think a good break is in order. I'll see you around, mate.

ItsOnlyWords
May 27th 2012


369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've been listening to this a lot lately and it's really powerful. I would have never expected an acoustic ep to hold so much depth. When I read the review after several listens I can truly agree that this review is dead on. Yes it could have used a little elaboration but overall it's very far weak in any. Would pos again if I could.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2012


4462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@ItsOnlyWords
Thank you. But Ive been thinking about adding more to it and may do that sometime soon. There is so much more I could say. One of my favourite things to do in this life is listening to music while smoking some good pot. And sometimes, In that euphoric state of mind, I come up with ideas to write about and then i'll upload a review- only to find a bunch of mistakes or just overall awkward writing when I sober up- I really got to stop doing that. But anyway, thanks for the good feedback.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy