Blood on the Dance Floor
Let's Start a Riot


1.0
awful

Review

by TommyIcedB USER (16 Reviews)
May 20th, 2012 | 49 replies | 12,661 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Music is dead

6 of 11 thought this review was well written

I really worry for the generation I am growing up in. At the time I write this review, I am aged eighteen, still in college (or high school, as it's known in America), so really I should be finding Blood on the Dance Floors music all the rage, right? After listening to merely one track off this album, titled 'I Heart Hello Kitty', I just lost all hope in humanity and its tastefulness. Whether it's the barely subtle sexual poetics, it's $10 software-produced beat, or just the whiny pre-pubescent-esque vocals, it's an absolute train wreck in every sense of the metaphorical word.

I was simply scared to listen to any more. If this is really what fellow human beings of my generation classify as entertainment, and not even in a surreal, ironic sense, I just couldn't bare to listen to any more. The only motivation I had for pushing onwards was for the reason I am here - to write this review, something I couldn't have done off the basis of one track. So, I listened to more, and more, and with each passing track I felt my sanity die a little. It never got any better. If anything, it merely got worse.

Let's start with the undercoating of the music itself - the beats. The shortest was of putting it is they are quite simply utterly horrible. Like the clever little metaphor I used before, each of these beats sound like it was produced on cheap computer software, with no real instrumentation or real skill. It sounds like GarageBand, or worse. No heart, no passion, no soul was put into producing these tracks, just poorly-produced synth loops.

Accompanying the atrocity that drags along in the background, the vocalist - you know, the one with the hair which could well be the ideal definition of the modern "scene" stereotype - who happens to show very little vocal talent. If anyone told this man (or woman?) that he (or she?) could sing was either highly intoxicated and joking around, or deaf. They are the only logical explanations. Either that or no-one told him he could sing. The latter sounds incredibly likely. The vocals are hardly melodic, as the "singing" gets whined out, sounding like a 12-year-old. Maybe that's to appeal to his target audience, but realistically, it's just because he's sh*t. There's no better way to put it. No metaphor could compare to how whiny and... sh*t, the vocals are.

So, what about these lyrics that are being whined out? They are a perfect representation of all that is wrong with the youth of today. Aforementioned track 'I Heart Hello Kitty' (as if the track title alone wasn't bad enough) features such heart-felt poetry as "I like it against the wall/Just f*ck me in the hall/You scream "meat sucks"/Well you're out of luck". Utterly charming, am I right? It just descends into madness as the song progresses, a voice screaming "are they kidding!?" echoing in the back of your brain.

It's "music" like this that makes me worry for my generation. I wouldn't call myself sophisticated; you could even say I'm highly immature, but even I find it hard to believe that this is what it takes to get far in the modern music industry. It's horrible and abusive to the ears and to the mind in almost every way and, dare I say it, is potentially worse than Brokencyde. Despite being young myself, the youth of today is an absolute mess, and Blood on the Dance Floor is the perfect embodiment of that mess.



Recent reviews by this author
Woe, Is Me American DreamSnow White's Poison Bite Dr. Gruesome And The Gruesome Gory Horror Show
Insane Clown Posse The Mighty Death Pop!Abandon All Ships Infamous
The Starship Destroyers The Rise of Alexander PowerslideThe Bunny The Bear The Stomach for It
user ratings (213)
Chart.
1.4
very poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kellerdeck
May 20th 2012



1881 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

You should review Rest. Also, album sucks. Pos'd.

Scoot
May 20th 2012



17733 Comments


review is almost as bad as the album


aqualungcancer
May 20th 2012



573 Comments


This is garbage! Listen to Tull! Also, I agree with Keller, review Rest.

Evreaia
May 20th 2012



4020 Comments


Lol dat albumart

Digging: Dornenreich - Freiheit

gabethepiratesquid
May 20th 2012



4521 Comments


"I really worry for the generation I am growing up in. At the time I write this review, I am aged eighteen, still in college (or high school, as it's known in America), so really I should be finding Blood on the Dance Floors music all the rage, right?"

uh, no. Considering BODTF probably has a fanbase of 10 fourteen year-olds who haven't learned that scene isn't a thing anymore and one flamboyantly gay guy.

also review is pretty awful.

gabethepiratesquid
May 20th 2012



4521 Comments


this was released in 2008 and you're complaining about it being the craziest new teen craze.

I feel like the next time you look at a calendar you're going to nearly have a heart attack when you learn it's 2012.

Kellerdeck
May 20th 2012



1881 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

BOTDF have new material. Same shit, gabethepirate.

gabethepiratesquid
May 20th 2012



4521 Comments


oh yeah and everybody's just DYING to buy their new albums, huh?

Kellerdeck
May 20th 2012



1881 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The nearly dead scene breed is. What do you care? Go bitch somewhere else.

Kellerdeck
May 20th 2012



1881 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Obviously you cared enough to click this review. Maybe the name still has value.

gabethepiratesquid
May 20th 2012



4521 Comments


because hating on this band, just like hating on BrokeNCYDE, JUST like hating on X scene band that has become completely irrelevant as being "GOD GARBAGE THE WORST THING I'VE EVER HEARD NOT LIKE REAL MUSIC" is virtually like hating on Milli Vanilli. Like...yeah, what's the point? Who are you trying to stick it to? And then complaining about them like, "Ha, i'm not like the rest of this generation, I don't like this crap, I like GOOD music!" when these bands have been out of any sort of relevancy for quite some time now is kinda ridiculous.

gabethepiratesquid
May 20th 2012



4521 Comments


"Obviously you cared enough to click this review. Maybe the name still has value. "
it was more of a 'someone took the time to write a whole review of BODTF to give it a 1? What are they
gonna accomplish except letting people know they dislike music that people cared about a few years
ago."

plus like I said review is kind of awful to a funny degree. Anyway this is just kind of silly to argue
about.

TommyIcedB
May 20th 2012



24 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

It was a fun review to write okay? I wasn't really trying to accomplish anything....

gabethepiratesquid
May 20th 2012



4521 Comments


o well I'm glad you had fun sorry.

North0House2
May 20th 2012



5851 Comments


Well, I'm 18 too and I've never even heard of this band. My friends have relatively good music taste, one of whom is into nearly all the same artists that I am... My girlfriend likes Isis, Bright Eyes, Thursday, and nearly all post-rock... So she has a pretty good taste as well.
I mean, sure, most kids have really sucky music taste these days, but so do most adults.

Not the best review I've seen, but not enough for a neg, really.

Digging: Amen Dunes - Love

Vespiion
May 20th 2012



1222 Comments


My case may be irrelevant, but I know at least a dozen chicks who listen to the shit. It is somewhat popular.

Digging: FKA Twigs - LP1

Fluttertrank
May 20th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah, like over at least 4 or 5 chicks at my school listen to this( i go to a very small school.)

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2012



23807 Comments


neg for the summary. didn't read the review.

Spec
May 20th 2012



27153 Comments


cool album art

Digging: Rinoa - An Age Among Them

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2012



23807 Comments


alright i read some of it.

"I just lost all hope in humanity and its tastefulness."

come on.

also, figure out the difference between its/it's



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy