P.O.D.
Payable on Death


3.5
great

Review

by CoverHit USER (7 Reviews)
January 24th, 2006 | 26 replies | 11,564 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


1 of 3 thought this review was well written

P.O.D is one of the oldest nu-metal bands. The group appeared earlier when Fred Durst gathered Limp Bizkit, before Korn released their debut album. However the group became famous only in 1999 with their first major release "The Fundamental Elements of Southtown" and their hit-single "Rock the Party". The group had its own unique style, in their music they combined hip-hop, funk, reggae, metal. Another thing that distinguished this band from another nu-metal acts was the message of the band. There were no Aurse words in the lyrics of the band, they were about peace, love and about the God.

Their "Satellite" was a great album, I consider it to be one of the best albums in Nu-Metal genre. So I was really looking forward to this album. Well, it turned out to be good, but the first thing that one can mention about the album as a whole is a new sound of band. Their guitarist Marcos Curiel had left the band. And then Jason Thurby joined P.O.D. The soundings of both of the guitarist are totally different. So according to it, the sounding of the band changed too. Now don't get me wrong P.O.D didn't become a country or a blues band, but the group changed.

As for the songs, some are really awesome when some are not at a all. Let's start with good tracks. The two singles "Will You" and "Change the World" are really good. They are full of energy. By the way in these tracks the singer of the band Sonny doesn;t rap, he's singing. He sang at the previous albums, but he also rapped a lot. But there is no rapping on this album, also Sonny doesnt scream as much as he used to. There are no reggae songs on the album, but there is still some influence of reggae, sometimes Sonny sings like Bob Marley. "Find My Way", "Land Identify" are good nu-metal tracks. "Revolution" is also a good song, Jason plays a good solo during the bridge.

But there are two songs that are totally awesome. The first is "The Reasons". A great funky song. Traa plays slap during the chorus, showing his abilities. Also the song is very melodic, it's quite relaxing but catchy at the same time. And the second track is "Eternal". It's an instrumental track, and the best on the album. There are only three guitars playing, but it's really one of the most beautiful tracks I've ever heard. Jason' s playing is absolutely amazing. He plays a couple crazy arpeggios during the song, but at the same time the solos are very melodic.

As for another tracks they are quite ordinary and there is nothing special about them, just ordinary nu-metal songs.
Pros
Great Jason's guitar playing
"Eternal", "The Reasons", "Will You", "Change the World"
The musicianship of the band
Cons
Half of the album is full of ordinary nu-metal tracks

This album is really worth purchasing it, some tracks are really outstanding. The sound of the band has also matured, and in this album all
the musicians show their abilities of playing. However, it isn't as good as "Satellite". But i'm really looking forward to their new album and i think that these guys will gladden their fans and the listeners.



Recent reviews by this author
Steve Vai Live at the Astoria London(DVD)Paul Gilbert Space Ship One
Joe Satriani The ExtremistNickelback The Long Road
Eric Johnson Venus IsleEric Johnson Bloom
user ratings (268)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jawaharal
January 24th 2006



1832 Comments


There were no F*** words in the lyrics of the band

Do you mean to say curse words? Because I've never heard someone refer to cuss words as fuck words.

CoverHit
January 24th 2006



13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

O.k, thanks a lot, i'll remember it!

stephankirstein
January 24th 2006



20 Comments


my cuz bought thus he sez it okay and explains that its much like you r review says it to be... it isnt as good as say, satellite, but you can hear quite clearly that the band has matured and gained experience

MM23
January 24th 2006



33 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, although you might want to consider looking into paragraphs, formatting, and a little more detail next time. Good album, too, by the way.

ocelot-05
January 24th 2006



807 Comments


The review said too many things are good. You need to fix the layout.

Plus, fuck words would be tap, hit, bang, screw, hump, nail, shag, make love to, sleep with, etc.This Message Edited On 01.24.06

Cravinov13
January 24th 2006



3854 Comments


I hate this band. Out of all the rap rock I do listen to aka tolerate with exception of Korn, which I actually enjoy listeneing to), I loathe these gusy to a bitter levvel. There's probably only one song on this CD I actually liked, other tehn taht, it's garbage. Not to bad a review though.

NOTINTHEFACE
January 24th 2006



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree almost completely with your review, except that Will You seemed really mediocre to me and Wildfire is freaking awesome but you didn't mention it.
I agree that Satellite is one of the best nu-metal albums ever. That's the CD that got me into heavy music of any kind. Good work.

Zebra
Moderator
January 24th 2006



2647 Comments


My friend loves P.O.D. but I don't really enjoy their music so much, except for the cool reggae song on their new ep.
Your review was sloppy and unorganized. You said a lot of things were awesome, but you failed to say why they were "awesome."

Kingofdudes
January 24th 2006



294 Comments


Eternal is a 5/5, but the album as a whole is 3.5 for me.

Cross Out The Eyes
January 24th 2006



42 Comments


i did not understand what stephankirstein said microsoft talk pisses me off
P.O.D is not very good
good review


Trexrosphere
January 26th 2006



50 Comments


great review. i wanted to get this alblum but chose not to. still contemplating.

Bassplayer101
January 27th 2006



34 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is a great album.Good review, i can listen to the whole thing through

NOTINTHEFACE
January 27th 2006



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh gosh just bought Testify, POD's new one... let's just say that it blows this album (and possible even Satellite) clear out of the water... um can I call dibs on a review for it until I get back from other things this weekend lol? Jk but I would like to review it....

LittlePound
May 18th 2006



4 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

meh.....this cd disappointed me. Right before this cd came out i started to dislike P.O.D, especially since they lost their guitarist, but i bought the cd anyways....Didn't do much for me, i was extremely disappointed with it and i believe i ended up giving it away. Regardless, i have no clue where it is now. Satellite and Brown were so much better.

All4Breakdowns
October 11th 2006



4 Comments


By far this is the worst P.O.D. cd ever, and is also one of the worst cd's I have ever purchased. I respect the way they take a stand for God, but this album is garbage. From the first song to the last, this album ruined P.O.D. Fundamental Elements of Southtown is the LAST good Cd they made, except for a song or two on Sattelite.

jason_f90
November 8th 2006



203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The ending to 'Will You' where Sonny literally screams his guts out "WILL YOU!!WILL YOU!!WILL YOU!!..."...thats the peak point of the album in my opinion.

linchpin313
August 28th 2009



813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that chorus of 'wildfire' is stunning. good album.

Shredzilla
April 9th 2010



501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For some reason, I like this the most out of their whole discography. I think it was good that they left behind the whole Rap Rock crap and tried something new. Plus, this song has "Eternal" on it, which is one of the greatest instrumental's ever written, in my honest opinion.

Asiatic667
May 13th 2010



4647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I forgot about this, It was pretty sweet back when I was 14. Too bad their next album was balls

Pndi
October 25th 2012



451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

too bad Jason Truby left after Testify, they made the best album with him



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy