oOoOO
Our Loving Is Hurting Us


2.0
poor

Review

by Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (105 Reviews)
May 9th, 2012 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: lik dis if u cry evrytim <3

I’ve always referred to this genre within a genre as bass music for the tumblr generation. It’s loud, dark and, when seen live, mind-bogglingly absorbing, but oozing with a particularly syrup-like sentimentality. You know, the kind that best describes fake, digital polaroid photos with “<3 u 4eva” adoringly typed beneath in Comic Sans. Raw? Yes. Sincere? Yes; just a little cheap. Without noticeable deviation from the norm the oversaturated bass-lines and reverb switches can never really add up to anything more than just another single-stop album. The feeling and emotion are there, but the method is something I personally take issue with.

Luckily, it seems, oOoOO seems to be at least close to a similar conclusion. Our Love Is Hurting Us shows him attempting to spread his wings and enrich what was fast becoming a somewhat shallow sound. He still remains firmly entrenched in the deep, bass-drenched style of his previous work, however, but in some instances the sounds and styles he copies and draws influence from are nothing short of surprising. Take “Starr” as an example: not far from a minute before its conclusion it suddenly unleashes a sun-kissed Miami style guitar solo. A flurry of electrified notes that would seem completely out of place if not for their relaxed, yet empowered, tone. That or this is simply the musical form of power-clashing. In either case, it’s a musical risk that has paid off for oOoOO, which sadly is more that can be said for the rest of the album.

What remains varies from average, through forgettable, to downright cringe inducing. oOoOO is pulling on an increasingly familiar set of strings as he creates an array of tracks that fall short of engaging to the point of barely achieving mere existence alone. The little plinks of chimes and high-tuned vocals over flat bass have the consistency of smoke: with the intention, I’m inclined to believe, of simply being cute instead of meaningful; something this style of minimal music cannot afford to do. This is especially true when we’re faced with such songs as “Break Yr Heartt”: a track so excruciatingly similar to a 13-year old girl’s myspace ramblings that it’s almost a relief when it disintegrates into a rather predictable, “haunting” outro. Anything, it seems, is preferable to a chipmunk voice crooning “And I’m with you/ And I love you”. The other tracks on Our Love Is Hurting Us don’t get quite this bad, this is true, but still none really reach for anything truly substantial or ambitious. It’s all just a rather depressing heap of mediocrity and, it appears, laziness.

It probably says a lot when I’m forced to suspect that an artist is being ironic with his music. With this release oOoOO just appears to be too sentimental; too cutesy; too cheesy. Before, it would be perfectly acceptable to proclaim that these aspects were just part of the genre’s character, but Our Love Is Hurting Us is just a step too far. With his next release, oOoOO must prove that he can do more than exploit a scene; or risk driving himself, and the movement that he helped to begin, into the ground.



Recent reviews by this author
Mr. Mitch Don't LeaveGrouper Ruins
Throwing Snow MosaicSOHN Tremors
A Winged Victory for the Sullen Atomos VIIPlinth (UK) Music For Smalls Lighthouse
user ratings (39)
Chart.
3.2
good
related reviews

oOoOO
recommended by reviewer
Holy Other With U
oOoOO oOoOO

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2012


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Posted here first: http://www.muzikdizcovery.com/2012/05/album-review-ooooo-our-love-is-hurting.html

Also: OMG wen did Strangr get so meeaaannn?1!?

KSK1
May 9th 2012


4094 Comments


Worst band name i've ever seen.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2012


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeh, it's not great.

Strider
May 9th 2012


4598 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well, t least Starr is awesome, the rest just sounds like it's not finished... not sur I can rate this

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2012


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Rate it with contempt!

Strider
May 9th 2012


4598 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well it doesn't suck, but like I said, it doesn't sound like it's finished. plus it's really repetitive. but some great moments here and there. a 2.7 I guess

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2012


24098 Comments


s/t was enjoyable but I doubt I'll listen to this. pretty good review though.

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

Rev
May 9th 2012


9441 Comments


Still gonna check this out

AGuyIsWatchingYou
May 9th 2012


907 Comments


ur just jelus cuz he didnt luv u jonny ;_;

Yeah I didn't like it either, I'll have to give it a few more listens though.

PistolPete
May 9th 2012


3650 Comments


so apparently this is a dude and not a chick like i originally thought when their S/T EP came out...

BallsToTheWall
May 9th 2012


44805 Comments


New oOoOO? Sweet. Not a chick?

WashboardSuds
May 9th 2012


5043 Comments


I heard s/t album and it was crap.

Digging: Zodiac (VASE) - Zodiac

climactic
May 9th 2012


19983 Comments


posd only read description

Digging: Downfall of Gaia - Aeon Unveils the Thrones of Decay

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2012


31628 Comments


I’ve always referred to this genre within a genre as bass music for the tumblr generation.


So what genre exactly? You're doing the same thing again, where you end up making really vague remarks about what this album should sound like but then completely avoid the issue

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

taylormemer
May 9th 2012


4953 Comments


It's bass music bro. Music that has bass. Only its for tumblr kiddos. It couldn't be anymore clear.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2012


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Oh sure dude it's bass/ shoegaze/ chillwave/ drag/ indie/ electronic/ experimental/ witch house/ post-dubstep.

Including genre =/= being clear, especially when talking about the kind of music most people won't have heard before. I think I did quite a good job of describing it tbh.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2012


31628 Comments


Yes but like I've said before when you're describing something that most people haven't heard it actually helps to be a bit more specific. And truthfully, if I hadn't heard this before I wouldn't know what to think from your review.

The thing is, when you actually get down to reviewing music, actually start exploring the individual tracks, you're great. But outside of that, like placing the music in some kind of spectrum or continuum, or by trying to link it to something else, you make the strangest claims I've ever seen. Like to the point where I wonder if you've ever actually read anything about the artist or if you just kind of make stuff up as you go along

witch house/ post-dubstep.


lol

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2012


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeh I thought you'd like that.

It's just my style of reviewing, I guess. I get bored very easily, so that part at the beginning where I circle the point before really diving for it is inevitable. Of course sometimes I might go a little far with it but it's bound to happen. As far as being more specific goes, I am quite careful to make sure that little details are dropped throughout the review. The idea being more of a composite image than a single slab of dry, cold, flow-destroying description.

I have to kind of accept the point about reading up on stuff, because it's something I've only really started doing quite recently ever since I began putting hyperlinks below my reviews. Things like that ISAM review I kind of look back and chuckle at, as an example.

mindleviticus
May 26th 2012


8331 Comments


this is pretty meh

HitlerIsGod
May 26th 2012


746 Comments


disappointing, i liked the self-titled ep



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy