Exodus
Bonded by Blood


3.5
great

Review

by Drew Tyler USER (68 Reviews)
May 6th, 2012 | 34 replies | 2,159 views


Release Date: 1985 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Stellar guitars and drums, terrible vocals... Still a classic release.

3 of 4 thought this review was well written

The 1985 debut from Exodus was not ground-breaking. Metallica had already beaten them to the punch a couple years earlier. But given the chance, this album would have started the thrash movement all by itself. The year was 1984, and a young Exodus had just been signed to their first label. The record that followed was in many ways, a heavy metal classic.

Listening to the album for the first time, i thought the opening riff of the title track was incredible. I was instantly banging my head and enjoying it. Then came the singer, Paul Baloff. I stopped banging my head. The guy can't sing. Period. Instead, he elects to simply yell in a very annoying manner. And i have noticed this issue with a lot of thrash vocalists. You either dig it, or you don't. It all comes down to preference. the vocals really bring down the album in my opinion. I personally like my vocalists to contain at least SOME singing skill. With that said though, Baloff did have a good attitude for the band, and it somehow managed to fit with the music. (May he rest in peace)

The duo of Gary Holt and Rick Hunolt on guitars is probably one of the best in thrash history. The guitars are perhaps, the most exciting part of this album. I honestly can't think of one track where the guitars don't sound excellent. The Riffs sound great, and the trading solos from both guitarists are just perfect. From the opening riff in the title track, to the last solo in "Strike of the Beast", the guitars never let up, and this makes for one heavy album.

The Bass guitarist, Rob McKillop, largely just plays along with the rhythm of the guitars. The Bass is buried underneath the much heavier guitars. And i'm not gonna count that against him or the band. Thats what most thrash bands were doing around that time. Besides, I don't really listen to thrash metal for the bass anyway.

The Drums on the other hand, really stand out. To many, Tom Hunting is a drum legend. To be fair, you wouldn't know it from this particular release, but he would prove his finesse in the years to come. For this album however, drum production sounds great, and Tom keeps up with the guitars perfectly. The drums are fast and loud, which is what thrash is all about.

This album certainly deserves to be heard by any self-respecting metal-head. The band showed a lot of energy, attitude and heaviness in their debut, and their future certainly looked promising. The only thing that dragged the album down a peg are the vocals, but that all comes down to preference. If you can look past the vocals you will certainly see why many people consider this album, a true classic.

Paul Baloff - vocals
Gary Holt - guitars
Rick Hunolt - guitars
Rob McKillop - bass
Tom Hunting - drums

Produced by Mark Whitaker

Recorded: July of 1984
Released: April 25, 1985
Torrid/Combat Records



Recent reviews by this author
Savatage Fight for the RockWitherscape The Inheritance
Blindead AbsenceArtillery Legions
Overkill I Hear BlackWhiplash Power and Pain
user ratings (760)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
killemall666 (3)
The Matrix: Starring Exodus...

The Satan Ov The Hell (4.5)
...

manuscriptreplica (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ThrashTillDeath94
May 6th 2012



591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My second review...

Digging: Royal Blood - Royal Blood

ThrashTillDeath94
May 6th 2012



591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah i prefer their later work myself, but this is album is still good.

theartofdoom
May 6th 2012



254 Comments


I simply cannot fathom how one does not like Paul Baloff, but oh well, nice rev¡ew.

ThrashTillDeath94
May 6th 2012



591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't dislike Baloff, i just don't care much for his vocals. He seemed like a cool dude. Anyway
thanks for the compliment bro.

Venpts16
May 6th 2012



283 Comments


This was always one of those Thrash albums that I needed to check out. This review may have convinced me to try it out; great review, and pos'd.

HenchmanOfSanta
May 6th 2012



1857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If you like thrash and dislike Paul Baloff's delivery than you should re-evaluate your life, because somewhere things went wrong.

ThrashTillDeath94
May 6th 2012



591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Henchman, while i respect your opinion, i humbly disagree. I just like my vocalists singing, or at least attempting to...

ThrashTillDeath94
May 6th 2012



591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Venpts16, you should definitely give this album a listen. It is a great album.

HenchmanOfSanta
May 6th 2012



1857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Clean singing over music like this would sound terrible, though. In the context of this album, Baloff's delivery is so perfectly nasty and vicious that it can't be topped. This is just violent, dirty, ass-kicking thrash meant to incite moshing. For that, he's perfect, and all other Exodus vocalists are pale imitations.

ThrashTillDeath94
May 6th 2012



591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Point taken. Perhaps this is why i wrote that his vocals fit with the music. I did write that he had a good attitude for the band.

KILL
May 6th 2012



71372 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

vocals RULE

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Itishappeningagain
May 6th 2012



317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Reviewer is clearly not a bad enough dude to enjoy this album.

ThrashTillDeath94
May 6th 2012



591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just try to be as subjective as i possibly can. Whether someone else agrees with my opinions or not does not concern me personally. But i will ALWAYS respect everyone's opinion.

ThrashTillDeath94
May 6th 2012



591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

By the way, just because you don't agree with me on this topic, does not mean my review wasn't well written...

KILL
May 6th 2012



71372 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

piranha best riffs ever

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2012



20365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vocals are true m/

ZedO
May 6th 2012



1096 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whoa, this is almost classic stuff! one of the best thrash releases in 80s.

TheNotrap
May 6th 2012



8035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Should be released 2 years earlier and deserved a better sound engineering, but still remains one of the most influential thrash albums ever released.

Bonded By Blood, Exodus, A Lesson in Violence, Strike of the Beast and specially Piranha are absolute classics.

Digging: Savage Grace - Master Of Disguise

ThrashTillDeath94
May 6th 2012



591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

TheNotrap, good point. I didn't mention the sound engineering, but i bought the 1999 remaster, which sounds a bit better.

Ovrot
May 6th 2012



10490 Comments


vocals m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy