Field Rotation
Acoustic Tales


5.0
classic

Review

by Zettel USER (37 Reviews)
May 4th, 2012 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: [with a faint smile]...I've been waiting for you for a long time

NOTE: The album is UNRATED

Acoustic Tales is the first of two album released in 2011 by German producer and composer Christoph Berg, best known as Field Rotation. Although 2009 Lich Und Schatten technically could be considered as Field Rotation's first album, Acoustic Tales is to be the artist's first full-length, with the follow-up, And Tomorrow I Will Sleep, being released just a few months later. Field Rotation's music is usually downtempo and minimal, exploring textures, moods and atmosphere in a very abstract way, reminiscent of artists like Jacaszek and Murcof. The music is not devoid of soul and warmth, but it does its best to hide it. Acoustic Tales is a notable exception.

Field Rotation present eleven "acoustic tales" to us, compositions in which his love for classical music is explored for the first time on record. The album feels more like a classical-influenced album with electronic influences, than a electronic record with classical undertones. Does it makes a difference? Well, if you are put off by the "electronic" tag, this album does not really sound like one, despite the use of occasional samples, synths and sparse loops. The focus is on the acoustic elements of the music --piano, string instruments, organ--; the electronic bits are mainly used for texture and for enhancing the atmosphere. The records sounds modern and experimental, yet the focus is on harmony, progression and timbre, making it clear how well Berg understands the spirit behind the classical composition style. He is not only capable of creating electronic music, but also can write music for different instruments (be it synthesized or human-played) and make excellent arrangements. "Acoustic Tale 4" features a great performance by cello player Danny Norbury, but what makes the composition so fantastic is the delicate and tasteful arrangement, the way Field Rotation manipulates and gives the track its final form. He is not trying to break new ground as much as to create a delightful record that flows smoothly and evokes a sense of a serene, contemplative beauty. The music is slow-paced and keeps the rhythmic elements to a minimum, but now and then Berg knows how to introduce a little tension and a dramatic feel, making the music feel very human, even fragile at some spots. This is a trait that is practically absent in other Field Rotation albums and is very welcome on here.

Acoustic Tales is an intimate record that is best enjoyed alone and undisturbed, letting the beautiful soundscapes to be appreciated with all its subtleties and in complete detail. Despite the melancholic tone that dominates the work, the final impression is that of an overcome pain, this serenity of mind, a sense of being in peace with this world, looking at everything from the distance. This music is never forceful: it asks for a passive, silent surrendering, but once you gave in, it closes the doors around you and deservedly demands your complete attention.

One of 2011 most delightful releases.



Recent reviews by this author
Fhloston Paradigm The PhoenixIntegral Sercosa
Cristian Vogel All Music Has Come To An EndSaschienne Unknown
Pleq My Life Begins TodayAnomalous Ohmnivalent
user ratings (6)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zettel
May 3rd 2012


604 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Acoustic Tale 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Br7V1CzEQeU

My last review for Sputnik. It was a nice ride. Good luck and....good night.

Venpts16
May 3rd 2012


283 Comments


Awesome review to end on; Pos'd!

Zettel
May 3rd 2012


604 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Much obliged. Thanks for reading.

Jethro42
May 3rd 2012


12624 Comments


Your last one, dude, really? Why that? I find it sad if you ask me.

MO
May 4th 2012


19077 Comments


Damn another one exits. Later man.

Zettel
May 4th 2012


604 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hi, Jethro. How you doing? Is that a proggy cat in your picture? It is nice, haha.

I realize it sounds more dramatic than it really is, I just do not enjoy writing anymore. In fact I was working on a Karmakanic review (always meant to do it), when I said to myself "F--ck it. I will never finish it". That does not mean I will not be keeping track of your ProgJect ;-)

Manic_
May 4th 2012


447 Comments


didn't think anyone else knew of this guy, great review, usually this kind of music doesn't do much for me but he does it so well that it stands out amongst others.

shame to see you go though since you reviewed a lot of the less generic electronic music on here.

North0House2
May 4th 2012


5889 Comments


Ah, his stuff is always such a nice listen. It's definitely refreshing.

Digging: BRNS - Patine

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2012


6339 Comments


Read only the summary due to limited time, autopos.




My last review for Sputnik

Never say never man, it ain't the last till the fat lady sings you know

Digging: Madred - Supersonic Brainfuck Overdrive

FelixCulpa
May 4th 2012


1240 Comments


Cool to see a review of this. Acoustic Tale 7 (inspired by Franz Kafka) is such a great song.

Zettel
May 4th 2012


604 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It is refreshing to see so many FR fans in here (yeah, four people is many), I believed they guy to be practically unheard of.

@Manic: Thanks...and I agree.

@Voivod: Thank you too... and you are right. Who knows?

HSThomas
May 4th 2012


668 Comments


Checked out Jacaszek recently. May look into this. Great review, you scholarly Frenchman.

Jethro42
May 4th 2012


12624 Comments


Sup Zettel, my friend. I still have to read this review and couple of your previous ones I didn't check out yet. I'm currently putting together our ProgJect the 26th. Nagrarok holds the 25th in his hands. Will be on the map very soon. Would be cool if you covered some Karmakanic. I'd perso like to cover ''Who's the Boss'' one of these days (if you don't do it yourself actually). Cheers man.

Zettel
May 4th 2012


604 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Thomas: Thanks, man...and nice to see you.


@Jethro: Of course, feel free to check any of my recent reviews, unfortunately I am afraid there is nothing there right up your alley with the exception of maybe this one, forgive my daring assumption.

"Who's The Boss" was the album I was working on, actually. I have no idea on how your project works, but, perhaps, I could send you over to you or Nag the review/draft at some point. That could be my little collaboration to your ProgJect, and save you a little work, if you find it appropriate.

25 reviews already? Whoa!

Jethro42
May 8th 2012


12624 Comments


Review and the link you gave make me want to hear that album asap. As for Karmakanic, you can always ask to Nagrarok (just do it!) to help you in completing that review but it could'nt be under ProgJect cos you see, I'm the only author of each and every reviews we have accomplished together since the debut. Awesome review btw, my friend.

mindleviticus
August 29th 2012


8330 Comments


This album needs more attention

OmairSh
November 22nd 2012


11924 Comments




OmairSh
November 22nd 2012


11924 Comments


I'm really enjoying your reviewing style. Great flow and elegant writing. This looks interesting. P O S.

Zettel
November 23rd 2012


604 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Much obliged, Omair. I think you might like this album.

OmairSh
November 23rd 2012


11924 Comments


I'm intrigued. Any good electronica recs for a novice like myself?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy