The Sound of Animals Fighting
Tiger and the Duke (Re-Issue)


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hernan M. Campbell STAFF
May 3rd, 2012 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Flesh is heretic, my body is a witch, I am burning it."

Tiger And The Duke was certainly an interesting approach at Progressive Rock. Though the music displayed the familiar characteristics of the genre, such as psychedelic ambiences and dextrous instrumental passages, it also exhibited a release of energetic intensity that reflected the Punk-influenced backgrounds of the band's members. The Sound Of Animals Fighting, for those who are not already aware, was a group of musicians that were brought together by Rich Balling, which predominantly consisted of members from; Rx Bandits, Circa Survive, Finch, and Chiodos. Tiger And The Duke displayed a style of music that was much more abstract than their respective backgrounds, but it didn't exactly takes us into unfamiliar territories. The music of the album expressed itself as a coalescence of the ambient textures found in Circa Survive with the more aggressive deliveries of acts like Finch and Chiodos.

For the most part, Tiger And The Duke was a truly mesmerizing performance, but it also projected minimal flaws that kept it from being a more enjoyable album. It was composed by 4 acts that consisted of orchestrated music, separated by instrumental interludes that often felt longer than they needed to be. The interludes induced a strenuous listen because they were nothing more than ambient noises that served no further purpose but to fill in time. But now, in this new reissue, they have been reincarnated with a much more harmonious touch. And though their newly reworked sound makes for a better listening experience, they still feel like an unnecessary component of the album. The musical acts have also been reworked, but with minor alterations. For example, in "Act I: Chasing Suns", we find that the instrumental elements remain relatively the same, but the vocals display minimal differences in their deliveries.

But in it's latter section, we find that this reissue transcends past Tiger And The Duke, including remixes of tracks from their sophomore album, Lover, The Lord Has Left Us…. With several of them being reworked by Portugal. The Man. Their re-imagining of "Skullflower" is perhaps the highlight of this particular section of the album. It has been recreated with a decorative coating of psychedelic effects that make for a truly entrancing experience. We can really see the band having fun with these remixes as they explore numerous approaches. Experimenting with several musical styles such as the Electro-Pop rendition of "St. Broadrick, His Mistress, And The Blacksmith" to the atmospheric Dub incarnation of "The Heat". This a pretty interesting reissue, and within it's wide variety of content, has something for every fan of the band regardless of what particular album your most fond of.



Recent reviews by this author
Trioscapes Digital Dream SequenceBroken Bells After The Disco
Sound and Fury (FI) PulsacionJail Weddings Meltdown: A Declaration of Unpopular Emotion
Chick Corea The VigilPond (AUS) Hobo Rocket
user ratings (96)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2012


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album. Tracks I recommend:
All 4 Acts
Horses in The Sky (Live version)
Skullflower: Sorcerer's Mix

Mordecai.
May 3rd 2012


8282 Comments


is it re-mastered by any chance?

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2012


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@foxxy
If you're thinking about getting into the band, then yes it is. It pretty much sums up what you're in for, though their second album is nothing like the remixes its actually more avant-garde. Check out "Chasing Suns" on youtube, its a proggy joy.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2012


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Mordecai
Yeah, all of the tiger and the duke tracks are. The tracks from "Lord" are just remixes.

Mordecai.
May 3rd 2012


8282 Comments


sweet band. Ocean and the Sun just edges this out for me though. Have you seen their live DVD Van Gogh?

Tyrael
May 3rd 2012


20946 Comments


cool

you're a great writer man, keep it up

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2012


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@foxxy
Ocean and the Sun, the music has the similar style of prog/psych rock

@mordecai
yeah I have, I download it. I wish i could have seen them live. They put on a great show.

@Tyraelxy
Thanks.

ThroneOfAgony
May 3rd 2012


3485 Comments


Yeah you're an excellent writer, Paper

Say, I've been getting into a lot of Miles Davis's work lately, and I want to know, what album is his most accessible? I've listened to bits and pieces of his work but never have dove down in it.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2012


10359 Comments


Another great review, Paperback. Pos for sure.

I'm going to point out a few things to help you with your reviews -

-Genres shouldn't be capitalized, like Progressive Rock, etc.

"which predominantly consisted of members from; Rx Bandits, Circa Survive, Finch, and Chiodos."

-This semi-colon is used incorrectly. I would either drop that punctuation mark entirely and just list the bands from there, or change it to a colon at least.

-"But in it's latter section"
its*

Just pointing out minor things, because your writing in itself is fantastic.



captaincrunch11
May 3rd 2012


1241 Comments


I miss this band

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2012


10359 Comments


He is indeed, which is why I'm helping him even more

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2012


10359 Comments


Silence, Potato!

Wreath
May 3rd 2012


85 Comments


Never even heard of this. It sounds quite interesting!

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2012


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Silent
Thanks for the kind words.

@Omaha
You know your suggestions/criticism are always welcomed! Thank you.

@Throne
He's experimented with so many genres, that it kind of depends on what your most into. If you like Bop, then i'd suggest Kind Of Blue. Personally, I enjoy his Jazz Fusion phase because its some of his most intense jams. for Fusion, I would recommend In A Silent Way or some his live albums of that period. I hope you enjoy them.




YoYoMancuso
May 3rd 2012


11189 Comments


haha hilarious band name and great review once again. Gotta check these guys out i guess

ZedO
May 4th 2012


1096 Comments


great band name, sounds interesting.....
pos'd hard, paper!

BTBAMbear
April 18th 2013


99 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It sounds like someone else recorded Craig Owens' parts in Chasing suns. The rhythm of that verse is the same but the melody is different, and seemingly is done by someone else. Will have to look into it. Anyway, amazing album.

Calc
March 20th 2014


12300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

equal vision has this and the second album on vinyl

Digging: Mr. Oizo - The Church



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy