Anywhere
Anywhere


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hernan M. Campbell STAFF
May 2nd, 2012 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Eastern acoustic punk."

Anywhere is a musical project consisting of musicians, Christian Eric Beaulieu, Mike Watt, and Cedric Bixler-Zavala. The music of their eponymous debut, Anywhere, presents itself as an amalgamation of their different backgrounds. It exhibits the energetic aggression of Punk music, but it is driven by a more experimental agenda. It's an album that has us exploring not only the abstract realms of Progressive rock, but also transcending into eastern spirituality.

There is a mystical presence that can be felt within the music of this album, one induced by trancing musical elements and Raga aesthetics. "Shaman Mantra" and "Dead Golden West", for example, induce an almost meditative effect as their orchestrations are blossoming with musical hypnotism. The vocals produce a very soothing effect in their deliveries, immediately seducing our senses away into an ethereal realm. Anywhere is an album that constantly draws us into atmospheric dimensions decorated with a hypnotic ambience that will be sure to overwhelm any fan of The Mars Volta with nostalgia. But don't think that Anywhere is a carbon-copy of Cedric's primary musical endeavor. Christian Eric Beaulieu and Mike Watt have seen to it that the passionate dynamics of their Punk roots are more than evident in this album.

"Anywhere" is perhaps the culmination of everything these musicians were trying to accomplish with this album, as all of their different influences coalesce so exquisitely here. This song is one of many that express an explosive amount of energy, and in its structure, reveals the typical approach to the more elevated sections of the album. The guitar arrangements are actually quite interesting because they are composed by an acoustic sound, yet the strumming is driven by such an intense release of aggression. And it isn't long before "Anywhere" has us entering into that familiar surrealistic environment of psychedelia. In the end, Anywhere proves to be a truly remarkable debut. Providing an utterly captivating listening experience, from songs that surround us with a delicate coating of calmative sounds to others with more dynamic displays of spontaneity, this album is flourishing with a level of artistry that will be sure to impress anyone who lends it their attention.



Recent reviews by this author
Trioscapes Digital Dream SequenceBroken Bells After The Disco
Sound and Fury (FI) PulsacionJail Weddings Meltdown: A Declaration of Unpopular Emotion
Chick Corea The VigilPond (AUS) Hobo Rocket
user ratings (26)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2012


4445 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album was released on Record Store Day 2012, with a limited release of 500 copies only. The actual release date will be in 04 Jun 2012

Wreath
May 1st 2012


85 Comments


Whoa, I was just about to review this!

Urinetrouble
May 1st 2012


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Im going to review it later good job

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


10302 Comments


" It's guitar arrangements are quite unique, they arecomposed by an acoustic sound yet the strumming is driven with such aggression."

Its*, are composed *, and it's a run-on sentence. You gotta proof-read more, man. ;]

There are also some punctuation errors and other run-ons. But very well-written, although I can't say I'm surprised. Pos, man.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


4445 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Omaha
Thanks, but I actually want to re-write it. Thanks for pointing some of the errors out, I'm going to fix it and hopefully Jom will approve the edits.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


10302 Comments


You honestly don't need to, man, this was a great review

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


4445 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Omaha
I'm not re-writing it completely, but I will edit the errors you pointed out. Thank you, for your constructive criticism, I always appreciate them.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


10302 Comments


Sure thing man, when I see a fantastic writer I do all I can to help.

MaskAtTheMasquerade
May 2nd 2012


2887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album and band titled track is like the best thing in the world with a cherry on top

CaptainDooRight
May 2nd 2012


30037 Comments


"This song is one of many that express an explosive immense of energy. It's guitar arrangements are quite unique, they arecomposed by an acoustic sound yet the strumming is driven with such aggression. And it isn't long before "Anywhere" has us entering into the delicate, surrealistic environment of psychedelia."

your descriptions are getting so tasty :]...[not that they weren't before]. Def' gonna check this out,POSIEFLORIFIC

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

Wreath
May 2nd 2012


85 Comments


I think you pretty much nailed this review. I've been secretly admiring your reviews for a while actually. I don't really feel the need to submit a review of my own right now. :3

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


4445 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you everyone for the support. It means a lot.

@Wreath
Thank you, but i think you should still do it. The more reviews, the better. I'll definitely be sure to read it if you choose to upload it.

Wreath
May 2nd 2012


85 Comments


Nah man, I don't really have anything to add. Besides, it would probably pale in comparison to this
anyway. :3

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


4445 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Wreath
Thank you, that's very kind of you to say.

BobMcflum
June 30th 2012


125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cover art is beastly

balazs
November 4th 2012


481 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haven't checked this out yet, I've heard only the title track, but I liked it more than almost anything on Noctourniquet. Anyway, good review!

HectorRios
November 5th 2012


44 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I Listen To This Record right before i go to sleep, Love It!

XingKing
July 12th 2013


10882 Comments


Just found out this existed and enjoying what I'm hearing so far



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy