Meshuggah
Koloss


2.5
average

Review

by CharlyDeranged USER (1 Reviews)
April 30th, 2012 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not great, not bad either. Did these Swedish folks feel it was perhaps time for an unwanted change?

How can you not love such an amazing album? They ask. This is Meshuggah's best work yet. I elaborate as to why I think differently; never in my life have I anticipated an album as much as I have for Koloss. So I got the album and naturally listened to it, expecting to have my jaw dropped down to the ground instead I was left unsatisfied and rather disappointed. I have only been listening to Meshuggah for a few months having come across the single "Bleed" whilst searching for another band, taken aback by Meshuggah, I had to do some heavy research and possibly listen to more of their songs. My denouement, ObZen is truly more of a powerful album than Koloss, ObZen, which was rather heavy and possibly Meshuggah's best album in my opinion.

Koloss has ten tracks, only liking three... Them being; I am Colossus, The Demons Name Is Surveillance and Break Those Bones Whose Sinews Gave It Motion. Meshuggah is a rather complex band and possibly not everyone's favourite cup of tea. But really, what the hell happened here? I was expecting more or less the same brutality I heard in ObZen, Chaosphere and Nothing. To me it seems as though the songs were quickly done and merged in a way that the band made sure that they will be entirely different from their previous albums but that's alright and that is not the problem at all. I have never had a problem with bands changing their sound and nor am I saying that Meshuggah have changed their sound but the saying "job well done" cannot be said for this album. It is as though they couldn't wait to evade from the studio and go out and play live gigs and have yet another album done next to their name. Koloss lacks something, more energy perhaps? Again, sheer brutality? It is always a good thing to listen to an album and be hooked from the beginning until the end and not be left dissatisfied. Meshuggah is a great band with amazing talented artists who I feel could have disembogued their heart and souls out on this album, I suppose that is the one thing that frustrates me about this record, it has killer songs but you get the inevitable feeling of boredom halfway through them. Behind The Sun, Marrow and Do Not Look Down can be placed under that category.

This album is not the "right" album to give to a beginner who has never listened to these Swedish guys and would love to try them out because I am almost certain they will rebuke it immensely. I can only hope they will not disappoint with their future albums or I might as well disown them now.


user ratings (1216)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
MO
April 30th 2012


19078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

" I have only been listening to Meshuggah for a few months having come across the single "Bleed"

well there's your problem

if you got introduced to Meshuggah via arguably their most technical album and song, and then they release a more "simple" album you won't enjoy it as much since it sounds "boring".

KILL
April 30th 2012


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2012


7321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is not the "right" album to give to a beginner who has never listened to these Swedish guys and would love to try them out because I am almost certain they will rebuke it immensely. I can only hope they will not disappoint with their future albums or I might as well disown them now.

Interesting. Might that be why I thought this was so mediocre? Or maybe I just don't get chug-fests lol.

taylormemer
April 30th 2012


4953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Irving, listen to I and Catch Thirtythree over and over until you love them immensely. Then the rest of their discog is like picking flowers in the prairie.

taylormemer
April 30th 2012


4953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sorry, also throw in Destroy Erase Improve a couple of times. Just to make KILL happy.

ThroneOfAgony
April 30th 2012


3485 Comments


this album is so terrible omg i might as well go bleach my anus

DotEight
April 30th 2012


5643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Interesting. Might that be why I thought this was so mediocre? Or maybe I just don't get chug-fests lol."

It's just that this band is highly overrated.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2012


10383 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Good review, friend. There are things you can do to improve, though - I'd say to leave the personal stances out of your reviews, more or less, and to avoid statements like these.

"How can you not love such an amazing album? They ask. This is Meshuggah's best work yet. I elaborate as to why I think differently"

It's not necessary in the context of your review, and it's pretty implied anyways.

There are also some grammatical issues, like run-ons, etc. I'd suggest you look over those things, but I'll still give you a pos. This was very well-written, especially for a first review!

Digging: Thou - Heathen

CharlyDeranged
April 30th 2012


18 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Thank you all for the feedback. My first review and I now know what I am supposed to work on, thank you once again.

evilford
April 30th 2012


22987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol

asaf
April 30th 2012


889 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This isn't a review. It's a pointless rant. With sentences like " I have never had a problem with bands changing their sound and nor am I saying that Meshuggah have changed their sound but the saying "job well done" cannot be said for this album" you aren't reviewing anything, but rather just blathering for the sake of space.

Certainly you're entitled to your opinion, it just seems like it's based on a quick glance and thin overview of a rather accomplished and impressive discography.

sputnik reviews these days remind me of my first and horrible SEA s/t review that got butchered twenty seconds after I posted it. I certainly took plenty of notes and studied the site before posting ANYTHING again. something I highly recommend you do as well.

Cheers.

ThroneOfAgony
April 30th 2012


3485 Comments


omg man my condolences are with you

ZedO
April 30th 2012


1096 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

omg, you choosed meshug for your debut review!!!!!!!

zaruyache
April 30th 2012


7419 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lol no. Is not dat bad but is worse than most of the stuff they released beofre.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

CharlyDeranged
April 30th 2012


18 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Alright Asaf... Shalll keep that in mind.

Crustbugas
May 15th 2012


14 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Album was complete garbage, bought the album a few weeks ago and was disappointed to find that every song was a snoozer. Barely any groove, few parts to head-bang to, repetitive as fuck, boring as fuck, linear direction, shit structure and build ups that go no where. Confused as to what the appeal of this album is. Fairly certain if another band released this instead of Meshuggah the reviews of this would be met with mostly negativity.

Relinquished
May 15th 2012


26011 Comments


with a name like crustboogers and having periphery as a 5 of course you'd think this sucks

Crustbugas
May 15th 2012


14 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

How does me giving periphery a 5 have anything to do with me thinking koloss was terrible?

evilford
May 15th 2012


22987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I saw that but I wasn't gonna say anything lol

Relinquished
May 15th 2012


26011 Comments


"How does me giving periphery a 5 have anything to do with me thinking koloss was terrible?"

exactly. by your logic: periphery > meshuggah. and thus the world implodes.......or you are just a moron.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy