Dweller On The Threshold
Dweller On The Threshold


4.0
excellent

Review

by Eli EMERITUS
April 28th, 2012 | 29 replies | 6,577 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sparse yet effective, "Dweller on the Theshold" is bizarre in its painful normalcy, yet confounding in its creative execution.

For fans of Enemies List Home Recordings, another new release means the advent of a new off kilter and lo-fi extravaganza. Enemies List knows its strengths just as much as it knows its dedicated fan base, thus releases such as Dweller on the Threshold’s self-titled debut find themselves nice little niches and welcoming arms. Said album in particular has been hyped up by the label to the extreme, with updates and snippets being dropped consistently over the last few months, all to fan the fires of anticipation. Well, Dweller on the Threshold has been released, and it’s safe to say that the Dan Barrett’s high hopes have been met.

The album is largely acoustic, performed in an almost singer/songwriter style. Instead of a lonesome man singing with his guitar, Dweller on the Threshold actually features a lot of electric instruments as well. Everything is wrapped up in a nice, lo-fi haze that gives it a very distinct sound. Dweller on the Threshold’s self-titled debut is typical fare for a niche that is largely atypical. It’s most easily likened to 2011’s Giles Corey, a lonely and haunting album whose lo-fi atmosphere gave off a very hollow vibe. Dweller on the Threshold is similar, yes, but happens to be a beast all its own. It is a much more dynamic affair, with explosive percussion and guitar mixed with tons of reverb and chaos. Yet this is only a small part of a rather discombobulated whole. Moments of absolute serenity are intermingled with moments of spontaneous anger and discontent. The transition between “The Woods: Electric” and “Crumbling House” is a shining example of this, as the former is a languid acoustic piece the meanders about, only for the calm to be disrupted when the almost “hardcore” “Crumbling House” enters. But these moments are simply wonderful as the album is always throwing around new ideas to see how they work, and thankfully, most of them go off without a hitch.

The odd mixture of styles is what makes the album such an exciting experience. Everything from the crazy unpredictability to the stunning beauty culminates in the absolutely phenomenal “The Drone.” The song begins much the same way as many of the others, with the light strumming of the guitar and the subtle and distant vocals. Yet there is a solemnity about it that gives it much more emotional weight than the other tracks. The first half is gloomy and slow, but things are later turned on their heads when the song erupts in a beautiful and cathartic climax. It is a breathtaking moment, and without a doubt the album’s most profound.

Dweller on the Threshold truly stands tall next to its labels finest. The album manages to be the best thing Enemies List has churned out since Giles Corey, which in turn was the absolute greatest since 2008’s incredible Deathconciousness. Needless to say, that is some mighty fine company to keep, and the album doesn’t buckle under their looming shadows. Dweller on the Threshold is a marvelous piece of beautiful music that captures many different tones and atmospheres into one excellently produced package.



Recent reviews by this author
Saintseneca Dark ArcHave a Nice Life The Unnatural World
Thee Silver Mount Zion Fuck Off Get Free We Pour Light on EverythingFell Voices Regnum Saturni
Hammock Oblivion HymnsMount Eerie Pre-Human Ideas
user ratings (36)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 28th 2012



10582 Comments


In life there are two absolute certainties:

1. We are all going to die

2. Martine Balcaen will give a four (at the very least) to every single piece of music Enemies List releases.

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

taylormemer
April 28th 2012



4913 Comments


And taxes

MutnikSpusic
April 28th 2012



560 Comments


Dan Barrett is my friend

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Is this 2011/2012?

I'm confused.

MutnikSpusic
April 28th 2012



560 Comments


on facebook

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Okay, it's 2012 and it won't let me edit it. To whoever added this: I hate you, truly. Grrrr!

Had this on my harddrive for a while, I'll give it a listen now.

FelixCulpa
April 28th 2012



1236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sorry Strangers that might have been my fault (When I added it I think I just assumed it was set to
2012). Can't edit it either :/

Such a good album. Pay what you want download here: http://bit.ly/dwelleronthethreshold
Grab the limited vinyl here: http://enemieslist.net/store/index.php?
main_page=product_info&cPath=3&products_id=10

Swell review Xeno.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't hate you fully, just a little bit. ;)

Don't know what's up with the editing function recently. I haven't been able to edit reviews either.

@the album: I love the lo-fi vibe it has going for it but it seems just a little too desperate to really gel with me. It's something I definitely would recommend though.

taylormemer
April 28th 2012



4913 Comments


The editing function works fine. I'll prove it by fixing your year now. Most users (including yourself) have to wait for edits to be approved before you can see the results. So chances are your patience has gotten the better of you.

Editing reviews on the other hand has been down, and this is well-known, yet nothing can be done until the Almighty One returns. Until then think of it as a blessing: it makes you proof your work ever more strenuously than before, which can only be a good thing.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"The editing function works fine. I'll prove it by fixing your year now. Most users (including
yourself) have to wait for edits to be approved before you can see the results."

Thanks, bro.

Though I swear I've edited things before, got the "wait to be approved" (but looks like an error
message) sign and nothing has come of it.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 28th 2012



10582 Comments


Yeah there is an error. Something really is broken when you try to edit a personal review.

taylormemer
April 28th 2012



4913 Comments


"Though I swear I've edited things before, got the "wait to be approved" (but looks like an error message) sign and nothing has come of it."

Highly unlikely, unless you're edits were shit: aka pointless/unnecessary. Could that have been a possibility?

The error message itself is a result of the server transfer, but it does not affect edits going into the queue.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It was for album artwork that for some reason failed when I first put up the album. There's the possibility of the same weird error cropping up a second time, I suppose.

LiquidVelvet
April 28th 2012



629 Comments


Review feels a little awkward at times, but definitely still good. Big ups to you for reviewing this, I'm not sure what I would say about it. Album rules though, ELHR never let me down.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 28th 2012



10582 Comments


"this sounds awesome, thanks eli"

you're welcome?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 28th 2012



5867 Comments


I can't find a band pic for this act.

*so pissed*

Digging: Electric Citizen - Sateen

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
April 28th 2012



14943 Comments


Nice review Xeno, sounds like something I could get into

Digging: The Antlers - Familiars

Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 28th 2012



10582 Comments


You could give it a shot man, I think there is a little bit here for everyone. And thanks : ]

AGuyIsWatchingYou
May 1st 2012



907 Comments


"2. Martine Balcaen will give a four (at the very least) to every single piece of music Enemies List releases."
With good reason too. Can't wait to listen to this, also nice review.


Rail
May 4th 2012



489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listened to this for the first time as I was going to sleep...Crumbling House nearly made me pee myself.

Digging: Tipper - Forward Escape



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy