Saint Vitus
Lillie: F-65


4.0
excellent

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
April 27th, 2012 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Saint Vitus re-establish themselves as one of the finest doom metal bands ever

Saint Vitus had successfully returned in 2003 after an 8 year absence, touring around the world, but had yet to release any new material until, finally, after a 17 year gap, the band released Lillie: F-65. Named after a drug, the record is as doomy and dark as Saint Vitus can get. A great return to the music scene, each song on the record is heavier, more pessimist and bleaker than the previous, making this a must have for 2012.

Lillie: F-65 follows the same formula, with the band churning simple, classic yet effective doom metal just like they always did. At 34 minutes, nothing here goes to waste, it just helps creating the somber atmosphere. Starting with a highlight, "Let Them Fall" sounds as classic Saint Vitus. The scorching guitars give way to Weinrich's sparse and coarse vocals. The angry and demoralized chorus is the starting point of descending into a worse state of mind followed throughout the record: “Why do I scream at them/They never listen/Why do I beat my head/Against the wall/I made a simple plan/They complicate it/Now they’re near the edge/Let them fall”. Halfway through the song, Dave Chandler's guitar solo rips to a disorienting feeling, giving even more weight to "Let Them Fall". Despite the minimalist instrumentation, all the songs build together this sonic wall led by Chandler's dominating guitars. "The Bleeding Ground" finds Weinrich singing about the Government's drug testing, taking the forefront over the stop-start rhythms on the verses. Towards the end, the slow burner breaks into fast stoner metal, giving the listener what he needs, a change of pace. Again Chandler's solos are really interesting and good, the first at one point bordering on feedback, barely keeping any notes, while the second at the end is pure shredding.

Giving the listener a break, the Weinrich-penned acoustic instrumental "Vertigo" is a nice detour from the beasts that surround it. It also shows this record is not one sided as one might think after listening to the first songs. The next tracks grow even murkier, bleaker and one more dissonant than the other. Wino's voice gets more and more abrasive and imposing too, keeping very well with the album's direction. All the agony culminates in the last 11 minutes, made up by Dependence and Withdrawal, which make for an ugly end to the album. Starting with a haunting, soft riff before bursting to a slow, seething behind Weinrich's voice that signalizes impending doom in the last verse (“Woke up sick again today/It doesn’t really matter/My end is here, nothing else to do/I depended on you”). Disturbing but really good solos are spread all around the track, "Dependence" holding a 2 minute feedback at one point, after which Weinrich impassionately delivers the final lyrics, segueing into "Withdrawal" that is nothing but feedback from Dave Chandler. One might find this as indulgent, but even if the song will be skipped most of the times, it's the brutal, naked ending to Lillie: F-65, keeping in theme with the drug abuse. After all, Saint Vitus are not renowned for any delicacy in their music.

As with most doom records, the listener has to be in mood to give this a spin and truly understand and enjoy the music presented here. It's easy to dismiss the record as being short and indulgent at times, but this is what makes it great, it's long enough to keep the listener attentive and its ugly and depressing atmosphere is essential.



Recent reviews by this author
Mark Lanegan Phantom RadioKMFDM Our Time Will Come
The Asteroid No. 4 The Asteroid No. 4Amplifier Mystoria
Causa Sui Pewt'r Sessions 3Karma To Burn Arch Stanton
user ratings (48)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


3451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The cool video for Let Them Fall - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fnsjhcVHZg0
Dependence - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyWVugAZMXo&feature=relmfu
The Waste Of Time - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pgw3Zds2UF8&feature=relmfu

Digging: The Ting Tings - Super Critical

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


4443 Comments


Good review, mate. as usual.
though that first sentence is a bit off to me. like i think it should be:
"Saint Vitus had successfully returned in 2003" or
"Saint Vitus have successfully returned since 2003"
....but this is just me. anyway, well written stuff. have a POS.

Apollo
April 27th 2012


10336 Comments


holy shit this is exciting! awesome review

CaptainDooRight
April 27th 2012


29960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

no way saint vitus has a new album, sweet, love this bands early stuff

pos

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

CaptainDooRight
April 27th 2012


29960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i know these guys are doom but that a lot of progressive qualities about them

Ovrot
April 27th 2012


10508 Comments


I knew this would rule

Digging: Satan's Satyrs - Demo 2010

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review despite grammatical mistakes in the summary and the first sentence (which you can't edit). Have a pos.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


3451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys!
@Paperback - Yeah I realized the mistakes when I posted the review but since the editing section is down I have to wait...
@Captain - I thought you might like this and yeah these guys are more than just doom. I haven't managed to check out all their albums but Born Too Late and Mournful Cries are really good.
@ Greg - I finally put this review together. When I started writing it I kept thinking this will go wrong since I've never written about doom bands before. But I'm glad this turned out ok

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You can always ask mods for some corrections.

Also, possible corrections:

"The Bleeding Ground" finds Weinrich singing about government's drug testing...

Everything culminates in the last 11 minutes (also change 'everything' to some other word, e.g. The feeling of agony...)

"Withdrawal" which makes for an ugly end to the album

Weinrich impassionately delivers the final lyrics





insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


3451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So I can just leave a comment in the shoutbox and one of the mods will take care of it ?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah or post a comment here:

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/showthread.php?p=18857607#post18857607

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


3451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I never knew about this, thanks a lot! I'll leave a comment with the mistakes and the url, hopefully it will be edited.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


6205 Comments


The link Greg posted has the following title (probably written by the mods)


For the Meds (We know you can't edit your stuff, but we can't fix it. Sorry!)


Don't know if it is possible for the mods to edit review text.

Digging: Seduced (AT) - The Proclamation

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


3451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought I should give it a try, because from what I saw on the thread Jom edited Paperback's review and deleted some stuff.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Jom basically alluded to the fact that the editing feature is still not working. A lot of requests of this kind have been taken care of.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


3451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Done. I hope he'll correct my mistakes when he has the time to.

ZedO
April 27th 2012


1096 Comments


Dependence sounds so cool.......

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2012


3451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I really like Dependence too, but the whole album is great, you should check it out if you haven't already.

rockandmetaljunkie
April 27th 2012


3447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This must be really good. If i have the chance i will check it during the weekend.

CaptainDooRight
April 27th 2012


29960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah it's solid but nothing too amazing



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy