Slayer
Hell Awaits


4.5
superb

Review

by Brendan Schroer USER (186 Reviews)
April 23rd, 2012 | 70 replies


Release Date: 1985 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Down... to the fiery pits of hhhHHHHHEEEEEEELLLLLLLL!

Well, they're at it again. Back from the pits of fiery fucking hell, the masters themselves matured from their last ass-fuck of an album Show No Mercy. It might have been recorded like elephant shit in a basement, but the sound was fucking fantastic classic thrash metal in the vein of powerhouses like Metallica and Megadeth. Out of the fucking alleyway comes another session of ass-destruction, in the form of the sexy Hell Awaits.

For those without the unholy knowledge of this release, it came out in 1985 to fuck over all those pussy-ass bitches who made their thrash-lite metal. Featuring 7 songs, it has the ability to rip apart all the unfortunate souls who aren't prepared to listen to the glorious beating of their senses.

Now, these songs aren't of average length, some going over 6 minutes! Fuck, during the next album every song would be less than 5 minutes and usually under 3! Yet this isn't like Reign in Blood. They were doing something different with their fucking sound, while cutting down the NWOBHM influence of their previous release. The lyrics talk about necrophiliacs, raping, cutting, killing, and the works. If that's your idea of a good time, go fucking nuts.

The music is a different story. It's the most brutal shit put to record. This influenced a ton of extreme metal when it came out, due to the intense-ass riffs, shit-spewing speed, and bat-shit insane drumwork. Overall, the whole experience is a giant riff-fest from beginning to end, without and remorse (with the exception of some sludgy moments here and there).

When combined, the lyrics and music form an evil concoction of titanic proportions, slaying all light in its path and making ears fucking bleed worldwide. The progressive sound combined with the chilling atmosphere makes for an intense listen of pure destruction.

There's not more to say, no more words, no more bullshit; buy this for the time of your life.



Recent reviews by this author
Rush PrestoAgainst Me! Transgender Dysphoria Blues
Taylor Swift 1989Joni Mitchell Blue
Porcupine Tree Fear of a Blank PlanetMichael Jackson Off the Wall
user ratings (1361)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainDooRight
April 23rd 2012


30334 Comments


Good album.

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
April 23rd 2012


2009 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So fucking good (the album)

Digging: Rishloo - Living as Ghosts with Buildings as Teeth

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2012


6343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Have this on cassette, must get it on CD someday.

Great album.

Digging: Aspherium - The Fall of Therenia

bloc
April 23rd 2012


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This was the album that changed my mind on Slayer. I'd only really heard their newer stuff (which I did not like) but after listening to this I realized their older material is really good.

south_of_heaven 11
April 23rd 2012


5438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

su nioj

HitlerIsGod
April 23rd 2012


746 Comments


this one is boring. show no mercy and the next three after this are better.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2012


4458 Comments


^ This one is really good too, though Show no Mercy is my favorite Slayer album.

XulOnerom
April 23rd 2012


1818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Neg for ripping off sonic's and kill's style

LAD
April 23rd 2012


136 Comments


good review bro, these guys are fags

Pillbox
April 23rd 2012


67 Comments


You'll certainly die in hell for saying that.

J0ckstrapsFTW
April 24th 2012


3659 Comments


My sack could write a better review... Christ

SpiritCrusher2
April 24th 2012


3350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pretty underrated album, and I agree with some things you said, but this review is a joke right? but I won't neg, you gave it a 5 hey m/

Parallels
April 24th 2012


6643 Comments


ripping off sonic's and kill's style [2]

KILL
April 24th 2012


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

passionate review

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

DeadBeat
April 24th 2012


529 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

roses´╗┐ are gay

violets are gayer

shut the fuck up

and listen to Slayer.

m/

TheNotrap
April 24th 2012


8132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

My least favourite from their classic era, still rules though.

Digging: Funebrarum - The Sleep of Morbid Dreams

phishing
April 24th 2012


395 Comments


probably my favourite slayer album

BlackLlama
April 24th 2012


1706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Have this on cassette, must get it on CD someday.

Do yourself a favor and get it on vinyl.

Necrotica
March 19th 2013


10136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Forgot about this trve review \m/

necroscope86
March 19th 2013


213 Comments


That review is just marvelous



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy