Slayer
Hell Awaits


4.5
superb

Review

by Brendan Schroer STAFF
April 23rd, 2012 | 42 replies | 2,888 views


Release Date: 1985 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Down... to the fiery pits of hhhHHHHHEEEEEEELLLLLLLL!

Well, they're at it again. Back from the pits of fiery fucking hell, the masters themselves matured from their last ass-fuck of an album Show No Mercy. It might have been recorded like elephant shit in a basement, but the sound was fucking fantastic classic thrash metal in the vein of powerhouses like Metallica and Megadeth. Out of the fucking alleyway comes another session of ass-destruction, in the form of the sexy Hell Awaits.

For those without the unholy knowledge of this release, it came out in 1985 to fuck over all those pussy-ass bitches who made their thrash-lite metal. Featuring 7 songs, it has the ability to rip apart all the unfortunate souls who aren't prepared to listen to the glorious beating of their senses.

Now, these songs aren't of average length, some going over 6 minutes! Fuck, during the next album every song would be less than 5 minutes and usually under 3! Yet this isn't like Reign in Blood. They were doing something different with their fucking sound, while cutting down the NWOBHM influence of their previous release. The lyrics talk about necrophiliacs, raping, cutting, killing, and the works. If that's your idea of a good time, go fucking nuts.

The music is a different story. It's the most brutal shit put to record. This influenced a ton of extreme metal when it came out, due to the intense-ass riffs, shit-spewing speed, and bat-shit insane drumwork. Overall, the whole experience is a giant riff-fest from beginning to end, without and remorse (with the exception of some sludgy moments here and there).

When combined, the lyrics and music form an evil concoction of titanic proportions, slaying all light in its path and making ears fucking bleed worldwide. The progressive sound combined with the chilling atmosphere makes for an intense listen of pure destruction.

There's not more to say, no more words, no more bullshit; buy this for the time of your life.



Recent reviews by this author
Soundtrack Mega Man X5 OSTSteel Panther All You Can Eat
Shakira Shakira.Death Symbolic
So-Cal Rocket Dynamics Too Bad She Won't LiveCarnifex Die Without Hope
user ratings (1266)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainDooRight
April 23rd 2012



26459 Comments


Good album.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
April 23rd 2012



1679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So fucking good (the album)

Digging: Sport - Bon Voyage

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2012



5613 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Have this on cassette, must get it on CD someday.

Great album.

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

bloc
April 23rd 2012



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This was the album that changed my mind on Slayer. I'd only really heard their newer stuff (which I did not like) but after listening to this I realized their older material is really good.

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

south_of_heaven 11
April 23rd 2012



5426 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

su nioj

HitlerIsGod
April 23rd 2012



746 Comments


this one is boring. show no mercy and the next three after this are better.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2012



4339 Comments


^ This one is really good too, though Show no Mercy is my favorite Slayer album.

XulOnerom
April 23rd 2012



1817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Neg for ripping off sonic's and kill's style

LAD
April 23rd 2012



136 Comments


good review bro, these guys are fags

Pillbox
April 23rd 2012



67 Comments


You'll certainly die in hell for saying that.

J0ckstrapsFTW
April 24th 2012



3585 Comments


My sack could write a better review... Christ

SpiritCrusher2
April 24th 2012



2633 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pretty underrated album, and I agree with some things you said, but this review is a joke right? but I won't neg, you gave it a 5 hey m/

Parallels
April 24th 2012



6640 Comments


ripping off sonic's and kill's style [2]

KILL
April 24th 2012



67082 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

passionate review

DeadBeat
April 24th 2012



529 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

roses´╗┐ are gay

violets are gayer

shut the fuck up

and listen to Slayer.

m/

TheNotrap
April 24th 2012



7818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

My least favourite from their classic era, still rules though.

phishing
April 24th 2012



395 Comments


probably my favourite slayer album

BlackLlama
April 24th 2012



1360 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Have this on cassette, must get it on CD someday.

Do yourself a favor and get it on vinyl.

Digging: Morgana Lefay - Maleficium

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2013



7857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Forgot about this trve review \m/

necroscope86
March 19th 2013



213 Comments


That review is just marvelous



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy