Halcyon
Pastures


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jacob Royal STAFF
April 23rd, 2012 | 22 replies | 2,598 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Tranquil while jarring, evocative while bearing a mind of its own.

The more that I sink my teeth into the core of progressive, the more I realize that the genre can be stale if you don’t know what you’re looking for. What taints the genre’s perception overall is the sky-high pretension that often accompanies soaring ambition. It’s necessary to be able to connect with the musician through the music, despite its quirks. This realization has naturally led to me being much pickier in what I devote my attention to, but there and again there’s an album that’s worth fiendishly promoting. For instance, over the past couple of weeks Halcyon’s first foray has been the center of my attention, and will continue to be throughout the summer. It’s tranquil while jarring, evocative while bearing a mind of its own.

And you don’t even have to believe me on this one, but it’s <i>almost</i> as lush as its artwork. <i>Pastures</i> has got soul, my friends, and it’s unbridled passion that cuts through the blackest of night without a second thought. And the persistence of variety on <i>Pastures</i> isn’t even what floors me, but rather the manner in which it’s executed. Halcyon easily could have taken the archetypal approach to modern progressive metal and expressed every hue of the EP through cookie-cutter djent. What’s most respectable, though, is the pervasive versatility at hand. There lie vast stretches of jazz-colored passages like “Waterfall”, which is just as cascading as its title suggests. Meanwhile, there are more bold shades of heaviness to be found elsewhere on the release, and perhaps the Scale the Summit-esque “Firefly” proves this point the most poignantly. But while the versatility is admirable in its own right and ensures repeated listens, the emphasis on melody is what makes the end product sweetest. When considering the various palettes Halcyon could have worked with, the various colors utilized are even more reputable because of how natural they are. The innovative riffs expected from this sort of release are certainly there, and are even more effective within the context they inhabit. With flying colors, Halcyon have met the precedents decreed by their progressive lineage, and have painted a portrait of what their genre is capable of portraying with the right mentality.



Recent reviews by this author
Every Time I Die From Parts UnknownBaths Ocean Death
Closure in Moscow Pink LemonadeSOHN Tremors
SZA ZTycho Awake
user ratings (7)
Chart.
4.4
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2012



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Recommended Tracks : Firefly, Waterfall, Django Fett

Streaming at: http://halcyonofficial.bandcamp.com/album/pastures-ep

Let's play a game: whoever can tell me the exact number of times I used color references in this review wins.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

ThroneOfAgony
April 23rd 2012



3485 Comments


The tracklist is really weird

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2012



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How so?

ThroneOfAgony
April 23rd 2012



3485 Comments


Idk I mean Noodle, Noodle 2, Noodle 3


lol

UnnamedOcean
April 23rd 2012



3950 Comments


Hmm this is really jazzy sounding


Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2012



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah, I getcha. Yeah, they definitely didn't devote most of their time to naming their songs! At least
the end product is pretty damn cool x)

Yeah Ocean, there's a fun element of jazz here that sets it apart from its contemporaries for sure.

bloc
April 23rd 2012



34669 Comments


This sounds great dude. Kind of reminds me of my band. At least the jazzy parts do.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

CaptainDooRight
April 23rd 2012



28321 Comments


I think you need to use brackets"[]" in your review instead of "".

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2012



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bloc is in a band?!

Yeah Captain, realized that pretty much immediately after I posted it. Would edit it up, but for some reason I can't edit any of my reviews right now. It's unfortunate for an impulsive person like myself!

macadoolahicky
April 23rd 2012



1835 Comments


I would have called this The Noodle Bowl.

Nice review. Sounds like something I could enjoy.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2012



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That would have been an incredible title for this. And thank you, friend :] Check out the tracks I posted in my first comment, and see if it's your cup of tea.

CaptainDooRight
April 23rd 2012



28321 Comments


"Yeah Captain, realized that pretty much immediately after I posted it. Would edit it up, but for some reason I can't edit any of my reviews right now. It's unfortunate for an impulsive person like myself!"

Yeah I've had the same problem too. No worries but good review though. Pos.

Also bloc shoutbox me a link to your bands stuff if you have one. I'd love to check it out.

bloc
April 23rd 2012



34669 Comments


Sorry guys, despite being together for almost 2 years now, I don't really bother uploading our stuff on the Internet (ie. all our recordings are live). We're planning on hitting up a studio this summer though to get some high quality performances captured and then I will consider it.

But anyway, the majority of the material I write is blues and jazz based.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2012



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Captain :]

And Bloc, you'd best not forget to link me, brother!

bloc
April 23rd 2012



34669 Comments


Haha, don't worry my man.

CaptainDooRight
April 24th 2012



28321 Comments


Wow this does sound pretty fresh, need to get dl for this

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2012



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's only like 5 bucks, ya know...

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2012



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jamming this right now, so gooodd

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2013



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Coming back to this, and shit. This is so solid.

Also, my italics in this review suck!!

Emyay
March 10th 2014



5768 Comments


i forgot i downloaded this way back when. jamming now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy