Brand New
Daisy


3.0
good

Review

by mark sammut USER (37 Reviews)
April 12th, 2012 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A step forward or two steps back?

Brand New have become somewhat of darlings for music critics. After their pop/punk angst debut album, Your Favorite Weapon, the band did what most artists are afraid to do; they decided to move away from the mainstream instead of towards it. Their sophomore record, Deja Entendu, hit the rock scene by storm showing a side of the band that hardly anyone thought they had after their first album.

The Devil and God are Raging Inside Me is the apex of this transformation process, a musical emotional masterpiece. Songs like ‘Jesus Christ’, ‘Luca’ and ‘Limousine’ show how far Brand New have come lyrically and instrumentally.After the success of their third album, the pressure was on for Brand New to try to once again eclipse their previous record. Daisy was released in 2009, unfortunately due to how good it’s predecessor is, the only way Daisy was going to live up to the hype was if it happened to be the best album ever. It’s not.

Brand New have become known for their lyrics, how they combine deep introspective lyrics with misleading metaphors, their use of sarcasm to get message across and the generally unforgettable verses. Daisy is a much vaguer album, with lyrics dealing with darker topics like loss, death and isolation. The album is a mix of unexpected tempo changes, crunchy distorted guitar riffs and heart wrenching screams. After listening to the whole album the listener will undoubtedly feel exhausted and overwhelmed, but not necessarily satisfied.

‘Vices’ sets the mood for the album, with vicious screams and heavy distorted guitar riffs. It’s a song that grabs the listener by the throat and slowly squeezes the life out of them…but you know in a good way. Unfortunately the momentum from the opening monster is lost with the follow up song, ‘Bed’. A slow ballad that is at best decent and at worst boring. The lyrics are unforgivably weak, and the chorus is painfully bland.

‘At the Bottom’ was the lead single form the album, an atmospheric rock track with a disturbing guitar riff. It has a decent chorus, and the lyrics are good as they deal with the loss of friends…unfortunately the song surprisingly doesn’t have a real climax, as all we get is the chorus repeated a couple of times to close the track. The title track suffers from the same problem; it builds and builds but doesn’t go anywhere.

The best tracks on the album seem to be the heavier tracks. ‘Bought a Bride’, ‘Sink’, ‘In a Jar’ and ‘Gasoline’ all deliver a powerful punch. The former has an interesting distorted guitar intro before a Lacey starts singing over a heavy drum beat. He screams the bridge and then sings cleanly a good chorus. ‘Sink’ is similar in style; the vocals constantly change from clean to screams, even instrumentally the tracks follow the same pattern with a heavy drum beat and lots of distorted riffs. Actually ‘In a Jar’ and ‘Gasoline’ both follow the same formula, but it’s a formula that works well.

‘Noro’ is a monster of a closer, a long track with a brilliant guitar riff and introspective lyrics that deal with guilt and the feeling of hopelessness they create. ‘You Stole’ is another long track, but it doesn’t work quite as well. The chorus is not bad, and Lacey gives a good clean vocal performance, but the song starts to drag in the slower parts and only picks up momentum a bit during the few moments when the song explodes.

Daisy is an interesting album, an experience that will not be quickly forgotten by any listener. It doesn’t work anywhere as good as its predecessors, but it still could prove to be an important evolutionary step in the development of this remarkable band.



Recent reviews by this author
Butch Walker Left of Self-CenteredPink The Truth About Love
Barenaked Ladies Everything to EveryoneMetallica Death Magnetic
Avril Lavigne Let GoGuns N' Roses G N' R Lies
user ratings (2632)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Graveyard
April 12th 2012


5733 Comments


That's a lot of reviews for one album

Digging: Sugary Sweet Machines - Controlled Breathing

foxxxyroxxx
April 12th 2012


496 Comments


uh so umm well let's see eh why the 1.5 man

Graveyard
April 12th 2012


5733 Comments


I don't know bro

foxxxyroxxx
April 12th 2012


496 Comments


good enough for me just know that i will always be wary around that thing

RobbaqPL
April 12th 2012


160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The lyrics tend to be crappy, some songs should simply be longer, yep yep. It makes up with its rawness and dirty atmosphere, and so I have some unexplainable love for this album.

The review's okay, but I think it goes too quick from song description to the ending. I guess adding a sentence or two in the last paragraph would help... Have a pos, though.

DarthMann
April 12th 2012


13815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i like this album better than deja

SCREAMorphine
April 12th 2012


1752 Comments


Reviews pretty good.

I haven't heard this one yet, probably won't.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2012


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Musically, this is their most fulfilling and complete record to date.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2012


15737 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

pretty best for brand new standards

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

Funeralopolis
April 12th 2012


11373 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

-Review is very track by tracky just disguised a little bit
-I don't know how many times you can say distorted guitars
- Didn't even mention the continuous brooding atmosphere
- don't like At The Bottom for the sole fact it isn't a crescendo


Digging: Black Milk - No Poison No Paradise

captaincrunch11
April 12th 2012


1209 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Rating is wrong as FUCK

kevin234
April 12th 2012


238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's a sad day when the front page has a nickleback album getting a higher rating than a brand new album

Funeralopolis
April 12th 2012


11373 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I would call the song Bed slow burning, it is slow but intensely aggressive.

North0House2
April 12th 2012


5857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not my favorite BN album, I'd probably say it's an equal split between this and Deja as far as how much I like it. The lyrics, yeah, they're kinda sub-par in comparison to The Devil and God... I believe I read that Vinnie wrote most of the lyrics for this, is that correct?

Either way, kinda okay review. Reads awkwardly in some spots, not gonna pos or neg.

Digging: Zelienople - The World Is A House On Fire

Parallels
April 12th 2012


6641 Comments


I have this on CD. I hardly ever play it, but I'd probably give it a 3 or 3.5

NeutralThunder12
April 12th 2012


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

album of the fucking century

17WordHaiku
April 12th 2012


158 Comments


I think enough has been said about this album, lol.

Good review, bored of the album now though.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2012


16026 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

The only beef I have with your review is that you say, "the band did what most artists are afraid to do; they decided to move away from the mainstream instead of towards it" and then you gave this (most likely their least mainstream album) the lowest rating in their discography. But I don't get hung up on ratings, they are just numbers. I agree with almost everything that you actually wrote, although you might want to try taking more of a cumulative approach next time...your descriptions of the individual tracks are great but then it reads kind of clunky when you try to transition from description-description-description to summary, when instead it could be all summary mixed with a few descriptions to back up your assertions.

But anyway I'm rambling. Love this album, can't wait for Brand New's follow-up (although I'm scared it will be "happy" like some interviews have indicated...hopefully it's just a ruse and when we finally hear the album, it will blast us away with how angry and depraved it is)

Digging: Yellowcard - Lift a Sail

Tyrael
April 12th 2012


20879 Comments


Sowing, I think their new one will be like Deja Entendu

happy on the outside (poppy!) but deeply hurt and broken inside

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2012


16026 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It better be because I'm running out of music that understands me

*throws back bangs, scoffs and adjusts lip ring*



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy