Secrets of the Moon
Seven Bells


4.0
excellent

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (196 Reviews)
April 11th, 2012 | 25 replies | 4,522 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An intelligent use of atmosphere and a tendency to do the simple things well allows Secrets Of The Moon’s ‘Seven Bells’ to stand by itself, making for an interesting and thoroughly enjoyable listen.

Fans have been teased by the band’s numerous Ep’s, singles and demo workings, but after a three year wait Secrets Of The Moon grace the black metal community with seven quality tracks; aptly titled ‘Seven Bells’. Now, the band’s 2012 release may not better its predecessor Privilegivm but it is likely that Seven Bells will maintain a high level of replay value for those both familiar with the band but also those within the genre. Emerging from the German occult black metal scene Secrets Of The Moon have always had competition from home and internationally; thus never really reaching the forerunners of the genre. Bands like Satyricon, Shining (SWE), Lunar Aurora as well as countless other bands are for the most shares the majority of the spot light. Fortunately for Secrets Of The Moon, they are gaining steady attention from the metal community.

When describing the sound of Seven Bells it’s important to understand the role concept has in the album. Despite all outward opinions this album is not as straight forward as first appears. The music is blackened (obviously), bleak, controlled and built on a remarkable use of atmosphere. Sections thrash along usually with some dissonant melody structure that reinforces this dark, cold and to an extent progressive album. Secrets Of The Moon excel in their ability to combine very simplistic ideas and promote them with a higher sense of atmosphere. The band is in no way restricted to the regular constraints of the genre. There is no excessive amount of blast beating, no undecipherable gritty vocal patterns and the album doesn’t sound like it was recorded in a tin can. Secrets Of The Moon give listener and album that is balanced, interesting, provides contrast and progresses at a respectable pace. There will be moments where Seven Bells sounds just like any other black metal band, but with the band’s ability to write songs at this level, the album begins to not only stand on its own, but stand above other acts.

There may be aspects where the listener finds sections tedious; tracks like ‘Worship’ which rely on a certain repetition to convey the tracks concept may come across as overdone especially where the lyrics reinforce the “You will be free”. The tracks also get progressively longer (the final track ‘The Three Beggars’ being just over twelve and a half minutes) and are absent of typical structural patterns. Fortunately for most this won’t be a problem as the track progresses and the atmosphere builds allowing the listener to be taken on an eerie, atmospheric ride.

Seven Bells may not launch Secrets Of The Moon completely out of the underground black metal scene, but it allows for the band to emerge gaining a little more attention with each release. Seven Bells may not see the same mystical heights as Privilegivm or have the same occult effect that Carved in Stigmata Wounds did, but Secrets Of The Moon’s 2012 album shows they know exactly what they are doing.



Recent reviews by this author
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
Miserable Failure HopeBong Stoner Rock
user ratings (19)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 10th 2012



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One for the black metal enthusiasts.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2012



4412 Comments


I enjoyed your review, have a pos man. I like their name "Secrets Of The Moon", I thought they were going to be Prog or Psych rock, but i dig black metal too. I'm gonna check them out.

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2012



4412 Comments


I enjoyed your review, have a pos man. I like their name "Secrets Of The Moon", I thought they were going to be Prog or Psych rock, but i dig black metal too. I'm gonna check them out.

CaptainDooRight
April 11th 2012



28864 Comments


" Despite all outward opinions this album is not as straight forward as first appears."

*"it" first appears - or: as first "appearances"

"Sections thrash along usually with some dissonant melody structure that reinforces this dark, cold and to an extent progressive album."

*"melodic", "reinforces this dark, cold and to an"[doesn't make sense]

"Secrets Of The Moon give listener and album that is balanced, interesting, provides contrast and progresses at a respectable pace."

*doesn't make sense, consider revising

" but it allows for the band to emerge gaining a little more attention with each release"

*coma after "emerge"

=============

from what I've from this band was just ok but I haven't given them a proper listen yet so I may and they did have some interesting elements. Overall good review.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2012



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Capitano : ) as for your first of the issues It's exactly how I want it as for the others I will definitely need to go over them. As for the band It's something you should check out for sure. Cheers man.

Dimor
April 11th 2012



1758 Comments


This sounds really interesting, and im digging the hell out of the album cover aswell. And as for the review, the pos is yours bro.

thumbcrusher
April 11th 2012



3591 Comments


haven't seen one of your reviews in months. review's great, though i'm not really into black metal so i doubt the album would appeal to me that much

Gmork89
April 11th 2012



5510 Comments


I remember jamming these guys a few years ago, I should probably check this out.

BallsToTheWall
April 11th 2012



44196 Comments


Good review guy, it all sound so magical on paper.

Digging: My Chemical Romance - Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge

MisterSteel
April 11th 2012



453 Comments


Review makes the album sound interesting, and the Lunar Aurora rec doesn't hurt either. I'll make sure to check this out.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2012



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys, balls, are you hiding something in that comment?

macadoolahicky
April 11th 2012



1835 Comments


This album is so good. Definitely going to be on my best metal of 2012 list.

Acanthus
April 11th 2012



9537 Comments


The cover art brings a smile to my face, might have to look into this.

bowlofsoup
April 11th 2012



1073 Comments


Awesome review again man. I might check this out, but I've been on a death metal binge lately.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2012



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is so good. Definitely going to be on my best metal of 2012 list

So far, (it's still early) it's on mine.

The cover art brings a smile to my face, might have to look into this.

It just looks at you don't it?

Awesome review again man. I might check this out, but I've been on a death metal binge lately.

While I respect the power of binges this should be one of the next 3 albums you should listen to man, closely followed by Privilegivm and Anithesis.


LoneWanderer
April 12th 2012



180 Comments


This is very interesting...I've only listened to "Seven Bells" and I'm liking it. Plus the album art is sick.

pos'd

darkwargreymon
April 12th 2012



188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, but I believe it is slightly above Privilegivm, but not Antithesis.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2012



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well privelegium was my first so its the first one is go to, anithesis is just itself.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2012



8328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I remember that I saw you post this but was too tired at the time to read it. It's a good review man and I'm glad that somebody reviewed this. I was contemplating on doing it, but I was too busy at the time when this came out.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2012



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you got to get round to reading this eventually, hoped you like the record too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy