Pink Floyd
The Wall (Immersion)


4.5
superb

Review

by Alex Beebe USER (126 Reviews)
April 9th, 2012 | 30 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An intricately detailed re-release celebrating the last amazing album in Pink Floyd's discography.

The Wall is the most recent of Pink Floyd’s album discography in line for remastered re-releasing as a part of the “Why Pink Floyd…?” campaign. The album is also the third and last of 3 of the band’s most successful efforts that have been chosen to be released as expanded collector’s edition box sets, following The Dark Side of the Moon and Wish You Were Here. The two editions, “Experience”, and the ultimate seven disc “Immersion”, each come with previously unreleased material and related memorabilia.

The original set of songs itself still holds up as the quintessential double-album of progressive rock, and nearly 33 years after it’s original release at that. It is similar to The Dark Side of the Moon in that it is a concept album, but this offering 1-ups itself in scale by being a rock opera about a rock star cleverly named “Pink”, who isolates himself from the world around him with a metaphorical “wall”. The idea of the wall itself is such a pitch-perfect metaphor because it embodies the blank, bleak and lonely atmosphere that Pink Floyd paints. A vast spectrum is created for this story to play out across its two discs, and it is sprawling with appropriately taken advantage of theatrics that bring the production into focus the most, showing the spaciousness of emptiness.

The lyrics are significantly more harsh, and notably more darker than on previous albums, and they feel fittingly distant over the minimalist tones. Although it would have worked even better if the lyrics had musical moments with more of a bite, and more intensity backing them up.

Attention is mainly put into emphasizing on the advantages that the atmosphere and theatrics gain from the visceral production to come out of a rock opera that spans as massively as across two discs, but The Wall could be just a little more well-rounded if it had more instances of a more rock driven direction (similar to what The Dark Side of the Moon possessed in conveying it’s concept) to compliment it’s dreary themes with a harder edge and delivery, instead of having it’s backbone completely be made up of jazzy low-key bobs.

This formula works excellently regardless, as it is a smart way to keep Pink Floyd’s renowned psychedelic personality intact and noticeable while still staying minimal, but this lack of a rougher musical angle starves this experience of achieving the level it aims to be at. This is still only the smallest of flaws however, as it does not detract from how The Wall was a classic closure to the 70’s progressive scene, and an influential example both thematically, and composition wise for artists in every generation to come after.

The Immersion edition lives up to it’s name, as it undeniably does an excellent job of immersing and absorbing the listener in everything The Wall was about, with it’s 7 discs of epic and awesome live performances, previously unheard material, and an immense load of neat related memorabilia.

An inclusion of the film The Wall (with maybe even some bonus features) on the DVD among these 7 discs would have been a nice addition to this bundle though, but as an audio collection, this doesn’t even come close to disappointing.

This edition is every Pink Floyd freaks dream come true, and it’s bound to do more than satisfy and intrigue anyone interested to learn more about this vital point in Pink Floyd’s career.



Recent reviews by this author
Les Claypool's Duo de Twang Four Foot ShackPeriphery Clear
Nickelback The Best of Nickelback Volume 1Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP 2
Active Child RaporJustin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2
user ratings (18)
Chart.
4.4
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012


31341 Comments


Gotta love the blatant copy and pasting from Wiki in that tracklist

climactic
April 8th 2012


19364 Comments


memorabilia? definitely necessary in the TRACKLIST

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

luschlotz
April 8th 2012


993 Comments


^that. and the review shouldn't talk about the actual album. It should talk ONLY about the bonuses, and If they're worth the buy

dannyboy89
April 8th 2012


12025 Comments


Review seems full of hot air imo.

KILL
April 8th 2012


71957 Comments


summary is correct lol

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

luschlotz
April 8th 2012


993 Comments


A Momentary Lapse Of reason sucks.

MO
April 8th 2012


18857 Comments


some good songs on the Division Bell

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012


7311 Comments


Review seems full of hot air imo.

Yup.

breakingthefragile
April 8th 2012


2961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Immersion box set is 7 discs long. Imagine how long that would be. I didn't copy and paste it from wiki as there isn't one yup on wiki, nor is there a track list anywhere. I got it from some summary website. I'd put the source, but besides, a track list is a track list, I don't really think it could ever be considered plagiarism. Why does it matter?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012


7311 Comments


Also, weren't you the guy who submitted like half a dozen reviews at once yesterday?

breakingthefragile
April 8th 2012


2961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Irving, I explained this to you guys on my review of Noctourniquet, so here it is again.

"I just started using Sputnik, and I was previously reviewing music for quite awhile using Tumblr.com, but I didn't have much success getting my opinions out there. I knew nothing about how this site worked when I made my profile, as I had only browsed it prior to this. So I'm really sorry for posting seven reviews in a row, they where all reviews that I had previously wirrten on tumblr., and I just wanted to post them so I could get them out there quick and get some stuff on my profile, and get my account started up quick. I had no idea it was a bad thing so I'm really sorry about that. Please forgive the newbie, I have harmless intentions, and didn't mean to cause any problems."

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012


31341 Comments


nor is there a track list anywhere.


There is now!

I'd put the source, but besides, a track list is a track list, I don't really think it could ever be considered plagiarism.


No you've missed the point, no one is talking about plagiarism! If you're going to add an album to the database, please make sure to put the full tracklist in, not just a summary

breakingthefragile
April 8th 2012


2961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also, thank you to whoever spent the time to actually post the correct track listing of the entire box set. I originally went for a content summary instead, in fear of its length.

breakingthefragile
April 8th 2012


2961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh wow, freak timing on my last comment. Thanks Deviant! Didn't see your comment at first lol.

SCREAMorphine
April 8th 2012


1756 Comments


There was so much more you could have done with the review, but your writing isn't that bad.

DominionMM1
April 8th 2012


10100 Comments


The LAST amazing album in Pink Floyd's discography?

too bad that distinction belongs to The Wall's predecessor

breakingthefragile
April 8th 2012


2961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@SCREAMorphine This is actually the first music review I ever actually sat down and wrote. I had kind of in a way been reviewing albums through discussion with my friends, and arguments in forums and comments on YouTube videos (yeah I'm TOTALLY such a cool guy lol). I'm definitely not satisfied with this thing at all, but for the first review I ever wrote, I think it's pretty good. I really should of revised it before I put it up on here, but I wanted to get exactly the feedback you guys are giving me.

breakingthefragile
April 8th 2012


2961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@DominionMM1 I'd say Wish You Where Here was the last CLASSIC in Pink Floyd's catalog. I'd give that
album and Dark Side both 5/5's, but when I say amazing, I don't necessarily mean perfect. That term
can apply to 4.5 in my book. As for Animals though, I love it, but I'd put it under the wall. I'd give
it a 4/5.

DominionMM1
April 8th 2012


10100 Comments


yeah, but this isn't even a 4. And no props for animals? wtf?

breakingthefragile
April 8th 2012


2961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Like I said, I love Animals, but what I think made Dark Side and WYWH superior was the accessibility. I'm not saying long compositions are bad, it's not a flaw at all, "Echos" and such are incredible. For example, Dark Side was exceptional because it was progressive and psychedelic, and casual listeners could get into it easily, and I think that put it on a masterful level of composing, while keeping its conceptual integrity intact.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy