Inverloch
Dusk|Subside


4.5
superb

Review

by Karl V.H. USER (85 Reviews)
April 9th, 2012 | 59 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One half back from the funereal/ death/ doom crypt.

Let’s get this overarching fact out of the way that will most definitely ring loud throughout every single review of this album: Inverloch are comprised of 2/4 of the original diSEMBOWELMENT line-up, producing only one single “unfuckwithable” L.P. called Transcendence into the Peripheral and is considered a cornerstone album in the death/doom realm. Now that the ‘compulsory’ back story is out of the way, we can now concentrate on the heart of Dusk/ Subside with few comparisons. As you might have guessed, Inverloch sound a whole lot like their father band (Opps, I spoiled that one) but this one off child E.P. manages to sum up all the parts of their genetic makeup in less than half the time it took diSEMBOWELMENT to do back in 1993. What also makes this sound so fresh, despite the comparisons is the production which could be attributed to the signing with Relapse Records, having a much bigger budget to work than when diSEMBOWELMENT signed on with Relapse way back in 92.

Beginning the album with nearly a minute of silence, the rumbling melodic guitars creep in at an Esoteric pace. As everything swells into the hyper speed death metal, you begin to realize that the similarities almost stop right there between Inverloch and diSEMBOWELMENT (fuck, I did another comparison). Everything just feels tighter, especially when the doom blows slam the blast beats right down to the floor and pick up again flawlessly with a mini-solo that riffs beautifully over another section of speed and finesse. As you might have guessed, the album is up and down the death/ doom ladder, not at all feeling forced together throughout the run time of each track. In fact, each track on this E.P. flows effortlessly into each other and after a couple of listens, the album feels like one gigantic song. That’s also the appeal of this E.P. and I find myself hitting replay on this monster because the run time feel so much shorter than it actually is. It’s engaging to say the least and each of the three tracks highlight the absolute best parts of why I love death and doom metal to begin with.

Simply put, I can’t get enough of this E.P., far surpassing anything in this genre that has been released within the past ten years. If death/ doom is your thing, you would be a fool to overlook this.



Recent reviews by this author
The Austerity Program Beyond CalculationGodflesh Pure
Sun Worship Elder GiantsLord Mantis Death Mask
Horseback Piedmont ApocryphaCarcass Surgical Steel
user ratings (36)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
April 8th 2012


19498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Mini-review for a sweet mini-album. Fucking amazing stuff right here.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Wizard
April 8th 2012


19498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Oh and this album is streaming.

http://www.metalsucks.net/2012/04/03/exclusive-full-album-stream-inverlochs-dusk-i-subside/

Relinquished
April 8th 2012


25186 Comments


KARL



"dISEMBOWELED" first para



seeing d.usk at Roadburn bro

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012


18672 Comments


pos this is good stuff

Digging: Execration (NOR) - Morbid Dimensions

Wizard
April 8th 2012


19498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"dISEMBOWELED" first para

What?

seeing d.usk at Roadburn bro

That's what they were originally called and I'm fucking jealous.



Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012


18672 Comments


you spelled it like that, its dISEMBOWELMENT

Wizard
April 8th 2012


19498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Oh shit hahahahaha I guess I should read harder next time!

This album has been playing non-stop all day.

Eclecticist
April 8th 2012


3863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have been waiting for this to come out ever since I saw the announcement that it was in the works back like five months. I can't wait to get it and listen to it!

Wizard
April 8th 2012


19498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Go give the stream a listen. Seriously, this is some amazing stuff.

Just preordered this album too.

Ending
April 8th 2012


1917 Comments


More death doom? Sweet! Nice little write-up too.

Minor subject, but isn't it diSEMBOWELMENT on the cover of TITP with the "d" and the "i" both lower case? Very minor question, but I'm curious as to know because it's going to bug me if I don't find out.

cvlts
April 8th 2012


8967 Comments


this looks sexy. gonna check it asap.

lol unfuckwithable

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012


16434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was excellent. Glad you reviewed it, Karl.

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

Wizard
April 8th 2012


19498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I certainly fucked up the spelling and now logo of "diSEMBOWELMENT".

Now fuck off, I got it and fixed it!

MO
April 8th 2012


18857 Comments


totally gonna check this out

Wizard
April 8th 2012


19498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

You had better or you're dumb.

Crysis, I promise that rating will go up!

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012


16434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

single review of this album; Inverloch are comprised


Should be a colon, not a semicolon.

called Transcendence into the Peripheral and is considered a cornerstone album in


called Transcendence into the Peripheral, which is considered a cornerstone album in*

Wizard
April 8th 2012


19498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Ahhhhh gotcha.

Feature on this please?

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012


16434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ask in the meds thread, I'm sure they would grant it.

Hawks
April 8th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely gotta listen to this.

Ending
April 8th 2012


1917 Comments


I certainly fucked up the spelling and now logo of "diSEMBOWELMENT".

Now fuck off, I got it and fixed it!


Alright, now I can sleep peacefully.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy