Empires Fade
Reflection


4.0
excellent

Review

by TBliss2 USER (24 Reviews)
April 5th, 2012 | 39 replies | 3,694 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 'Reflection' really is an impressive effort, and should see the band garner a much wider audience with its hard hittingly savage approach.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

With extreme music continuing to remain in such rude health in the UK recently, the glut of stellar bands that unjustly sit on the unsigned shelf continues to grow rapidly. One such outfit, Manchester hardcore mob Empires Fade, look more surely than anyone to be quickly snatched from the pool of massing hopefuls, as taking the evidence of their five track E.P. 'Reflection' as a taster of things to come, theirs is an exciting future indeed.

Melding the guitar melodicisms of Misery Signals with the straight up pummeling of such heavy hitters as The Acacia Strain, and adding just a dash of 'Ruin' era Architects, the songs here are brimming with an immediate malevolence, apparent from the off as the dissonant chords and pummelling rhythms of opener 'Virtue' begin proceedings. From here, we are treated throughout to a flood of hulking grooves, monstrous breakdowns ( just check out an minute and a half into 'The Highest Highs' for what will surely be a live favourite) and shimmering lead work. Indeed, although the release is consistently relentless, it is these infectious lead lines which act to provide a welcome glimmer of light in the darkness, with songs such as the towering 'Volition' switching up between crushing intensity and serene, subdued picking sections, lulling the listener before the next ferocious wave hits.

It is this sense of dynamics that Empires Fade have really seemed to grasp on 'Reflection'. The tracks ebb and flow seemlessly between melody and aggression, yet all the while retain a certain frenzied sincerity, which is no more clear than with the inclusion of some occasional clean vocals which pleasingly forego the polish and auto-correction so popular today, relying solely on ability and the raw emotion that comes across. The soaring melody in the aforementioned 'The Highest Highs' is a prime example of this.

'Reflection' really is an impressive effort, and should see the band garner a much wider audience with its hard hittingly savage approach. With an equally fierce live show, especially given their place on some imminently fantastic tours, it will undoubtedly not be long until Empires Fade are relieved of their criminally labelless tag.



Recent reviews by this author
Sacrilegious Throne Eternal ApostasyObscene Entity Obscene Entity
The Burial In The Taking Of FleshLower Than Atlantis Changing Tune
Martyr Defiled In ShadowsEveryone Dies In Utah Polarities (+//-)
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TBliss2
April 5th 2012



504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Free download here if anyone is interested

http://www.empiresfade.com/

Shuyin
April 5th 2012



11171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good cover and band name, need to dl this


Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue with the Stars

TBliss2
April 5th 2012



504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah man, give it a shot, its great stuff.

Shuyin
April 5th 2012



11171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well this is deff great stuff, also agree on the misery signals influence. pos'd

TBliss2
April 5th 2012



504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks alot dude, glad your liking it.

wacknizzle
April 5th 2012



12638 Comments


Good review. Sounds like Misery Signals and Architects, I'm checking this out for sure, hopefully it's as good as you say tbliss.

Digging: Systems - Ghost Medicine

TBliss2
April 5th 2012



504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you are a fan of those guys I think you will enjoy it mate :D

sspedding
April 13th 2012



4751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

These guys are from my town and they hold a pretty tight live show but I couldn't help but find this quite derivative. Very good review though. Pos.

TBliss2
April 13th 2012



504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers buddy.

Shuyin
April 28th 2012



11171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just cant get enough of these guys, The Highest Highs is such a kick ass track.

TBliss2
April 29th 2012



504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool man, its good stuff

FearThyEvil
May 30th 2012



12265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Only on the first song but I'm already really liking it. Vocalist rules so hard.

DotEight
May 30th 2012



5476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this is the shit.

TBliss2
May 30th 2012



504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you guys are digging this. Gonna catch these guys live soon.

DotEight
May 30th 2012



5476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's like Misery Signals almost, so close.

FearThyEvil
May 30th 2012



12265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I usually hate an overuse of breakdowns but they are placed really well and when his vocals over-layer them it just works so fucking well.

DotEight
May 30th 2012



5476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Vocal-wise it's not anything special, it sounds just like The Ghost Inside, but guitar-wise it's
amazing. And I dare someone to challenge that.

FearThyEvil
May 30th 2012



12265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I honestly think his vocals are really good and are just so guttural and visceral but it's just my take on them.

DotEight
May 30th 2012



5476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No I agree, he just sounds so similar to TGI.

Honestly Breakdown of Sanity has better vocals than this, but EP has better guitar leads.

wacknizzle
May 30th 2012



12638 Comments


This better than I remember it sounding, too bad I deleted it already.
I probably won't dl again though, vocals are pretty meh.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy