The Beatles
Let It Be


1.5
very poor

Review

by crandynewman USER (38 Reviews)
April 2nd, 2012 | 78 replies | 5,297 views


Release Date: 1970 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Beatles end on a bad note but at least they know when to let it be

7 of 23 thought this review was well written

After the genius reveal of Abbey Road, the Beatles had nowhere else to go but down. And so down did they go. It is quite a shame to see the Beatles end their careers as the Beatles (even though all of them would go to have successful careers in the music business without each other, whether it be in bands or in solo acts by themselves) but this is probably the worst Beatles record out of all of them. Even though it's not a great album but it does still have a few songs that are worth listening to.

The first great song is Across the Universe, and what a great song it is. This is the song that the Beatles movie was named after in the late 2000s, and it's a great song. It has a very pleasant minory melody along with some sweet French lyrics in the chorus. The production on this album is all over the place and a lot of the album leans towards sounding like more along the lines of classic rock than Beatlesy classic pop, but this song is pitched perfect. The next great song is the title track, Let It Be. Everyone has heard this one but in case you haven't it's a genius piano ballad with some truly uplifting vocals and lyrical themes.

And the last and final track worth mentioning is The Long and Winding Road. In several interviews, Paul has mentioned that he doesn't like the production on this album created by murderer Phil Spectre but I think it fits well for this song. Then again so does the stripped down version, so its really just a great song either way you cut it up really. Sadly those are the only three good songs on the record and most of the album consists of crap like Get Back and One After 909 which are just generic and boring rock songs. The good side of this is that we will always have the rest of the disography to remember the Beatles by, and remember them I will.



Recent reviews by this author
The Beatles The BeatlesStooma Against the World
The Beatles Magical Mystery TourThe Beatles Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
Say Anything Anarchy, My DearThe Beatles Revolver
user ratings (1647)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Adam Thomas STAFF (4)
All things must pass...

Kevin Rhoads21 (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
crandynewman
April 1st 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

final part!!

henryjohnson
April 1st 2012



299 Comments


another fantastimo review

letsgofishing
April 1st 2012



900 Comments


Hi Crandy!

Digging: Kayo Dot - Choirs of the Eye

RosaParks
April 1st 2012



14592 Comments


posd

crandynewman
April 1st 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

thanks henry!

Funeralopolis
April 1st 2012



11025 Comments


pos cus crandynewman

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

crandynewman
April 1st 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

thanks!!!

johnnyblaze
April 1st 2012



2595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

crandy layin it down once again. BIG UP

KeithStone582
April 1st 2012



1480 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well done!

Fluttertrank
April 1st 2012



17098 Comments


good review. I was worried that crandy left. good to see you still here crandy

EverythingEvil2113
April 1st 2012



1279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Before i even read this i will just say that any album with Let it Be and Across the Universe on it deserves to be higher than a 1.5. Will now read.

ILJ
April 1st 2012



6617 Comments


This album has some great songs but it's a really bad album!

crandylogic



Digging: Mastodon - Once More 'Round the Sun

EverythingEvil2113
April 1st 2012



1279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well that was a quick read but it was written well. I don't find this to be one of their best but I don't think it's anywhere near their worst either.

Graveyard
April 1st 2012



5598 Comments


hey sup crandy

crandynewman
April 1st 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

thanks everything!

iljajlm, 3 good songs out of 12 is .25 or 1/4
1/4 of 5 stars is 1.25 so i gave it 1.5

newjunkaesthetic93
April 1st 2012



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're so right. This is brilliant.

ILJ
April 1st 2012



6617 Comments


"iljajlm, 3 good songs out of 12 is .25 or 1/4
1/4 of 5 stars is 1.25 so i gave it 1.5"

That makes no sense. Very poor implies almost no redeeming qualities.

Also, even with that explanation, your rating makes no sense.

crandynewman
April 2nd 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

it makes sense

it had 1.25 so i rounded up to be nice

macadoolahicky
April 2nd 2012



1835 Comments


Crandy, I love you. You should review Pink Floyd next.

crandynewman
April 2nd 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

thanks mac!

i have to listen to them first



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy