The Cranberries
Roses


3.0
good

Review

by Irving Tan STAFF
April 1st, 2012 | 47 replies | 6,406 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A microcosm of their entire career.

Food for thought: The Cranberries’ current claim to being mainstays of modern radio alt rock is still the same one that they had eighteen years ago. That’s not half as damning as it sounds – any band which spends the first third of their career preparing to release "Zombie" to the world deserves to be handed a complimentary round of Guinness each time they walk into a pub. But while “Zombie” has proven itself to be a timeless classic, the rest of The Cranberries’ discography has rarely exuded the same air of artistic vision and clarity. So even though the four-piece have, on occasion, shown glimpses of rescaling those same old peaks of 1916 – most recently on the riveting “Animal Instinct” and 2001’s "Analyse" – they have often found themselves lacking the discipline and industrial panache to make the subsequent record anything more than fitfully entertaining.

It has been a full eleven years since their last studio record (2001’s Wake Up and Smell the Coffee) was released, but Roses makes it very clear – very quickly – that precious little has changed since then. The album sees the Irish four-piece continuing to ply their trade on the softer end of the alt rock spectrum: dreamy sketches, jangly guitar parts, and light electronica waffle dominate proceedings, to the point that the two relatively upbeat numbers placed onboard – lead single “Tomorrow” and the coy, almost-sardonic “Schizophrenic Playboy” – seem conspicuously out of place. Elsewhere, care has also been given to bring out the atmospherics on each song as well, causing each piece to flow from one to another in a graceful, languid way – almost as if track changes were something embarrassing and worth hiding.

On a whole, it isn't a bad thing, really, since it gives the album some coherence. Plus, Dolores O’Riordan still has that knack for making her hooks stick in your head with those pipes of hers, which don’t appear to have aged a single jot since we last heard them. Legitimately mediocre pieces are few and far in between (well, perhaps with the exception of the closing pair of “So Good” and “Roses”, which make for the most deflating landing experience this side of the Hindenburg), but some parts – like the empowering stomp towards the end of album opener "Conduct", or the absolutely superb choral refrain contained in “Losing My Mind” – will stand out more easily than others. Much like The Cranberries’ entire career, Roses is hardly earth-shattering as a whole, but it is constructed well-enough to earn its few cursory rounds on the airwaves and retire with dignity. Further down the line, time may reveal that those moments may be better enjoyed in isolation, which is frankly just fine – as that’s how we’ve always approached The Cranberries anyway.



Recent reviews by this author
Caleb McAlpine All Things NewAngel Olsen Burn Your Fire For No Witness
Eternal Summers The Drop BeneathBlood Orange Cupid Deluxe
Yuna NocturnalGhost Avenue Ghost Avenue
user ratings (38)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Alex Beebe (3)
The Cranberries find who they are again, and do so in a mature way that they still sound relevant, a...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2012



7008 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's the same old theme since 1916.

Digging: Caleb McAlpine - All Things New

pizzamachine
March 31st 2012



12568 Comments


Great review fellow contrib, imaginary high five!

deathofasalesman
March 31st 2012



5743 Comments


Great review! I've only heard "Zombie" and kinda thought they just rode the wave of that song's success all these years.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2012



7008 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^ Sarcasm alert.

AsoTamaki
March 31st 2012



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review. I was just thinking earlier today about how little attention this got.

AsoTamaki
March 31st 2012



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's no Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can't We?, but it's better than most of their other stuff.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2012



7008 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@ andcas: Listen to "Losing My Mind", "Conduct", and perhaps "Tomorrow" - those are the best cuts. I can't think of anything on here that I would include on my list of all time Cranberries best songs though.

Jethro42
March 31st 2012



12029 Comments


Oh, an Irving review! Must be well written. Only 3 timid paragraphs long!! Je pourrai ainsi lire cela plus facilement. Un peu plus tard, cependant.

bloc
March 31st 2012



34489 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Weird this had no review yet. Solid album.

Digging: Gamma Ray - Empire of the Undead

The7thVermicide
March 31st 2012



925 Comments


I've listened their mid 90's material .So I will give this a chance

blastOFFitsPARTYtime
March 31st 2012



1477 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Enjoyable album - at least as good as the two before this. But yea, definitely no classic songs on offer.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2012



7008 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So these guys are coming to Malaysia next week (marking the first half-decent gig we've had since Muse half a decade ago); was thinking of going but my employers had to send me offshore this very week =/

Nagrarok
April 1st 2012



7947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This was about as good as I expected it to be. They were already on the decline with Bury the Hatchet and Wake Up and Smell the Coffee before they broke up, so I wasn't expecting too much. Their first three albums are great, but they've always been slightly hit-or-miss when it comes to songs.

And those 3 paragraphs are indeed very refreshing Irving. I had been thinking you might cover this.

iFghtffyrdmns
April 1st 2012



7047 Comments


But while “Zombie” itself has proven itself to be a timeless classic...


good to hear from you irving! nice write up bud

SowingSeason
Emeritus
April 1st 2012



14509 Comments


Excellent review Irving, glad to see you back. I've only ever heard zombie so I don't know what to expect...will honestly probably let this release pass by. Pos'd though

rasputin
April 1st 2012



14504 Comments


this is their most consistent record since no need to argue. it doesn't have any standouts but i can listen to the whole thing in one sitting - i can't do that with anything after no need to argue.

deathofasalesman
April 1st 2012



5743 Comments


I wasn't being sarcastic...

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2012



7008 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@ Salesman: WHOOPS. Sorry about that bud - I guess for a minute there I took you for one of those guys who just drop by to slip in an almost non-sequitur comment about a review and then just leave. In any case, do you plan on trying this?

@ Nag: Thanks bud. I was hoping to put this review out a little earlier (i.e in time for a potential feature) but work has a certain way of butting into your Sputnik life lol. How have you been mate? Miss reading your stuff; also, I was listening to Blof the other day and was like "hmmm, wonder what Mathijs is doing" lol.

@ iFght: Damn, good catch mate. Thanks! It's good to be back reviewing too! =)

SowingSeason
Emeritus
April 1st 2012



14509 Comments


It's like I don't even exist. Just ignore my compliments : (

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2012



7008 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@ Rasp: Interesting...so you would actually say this is one of their best latter day (if we want to call everything after Argue "latter-day") pieces? Out of curiosity, what's the best song on this, in your books?

@ SS: Thanks bro. And yeah, you're prolly better off trying some other stuff - there really isn't much here that's drop dead awesome. I should also mention that I still do pop by the Sput a lot - I just don't have enough time in sufficiently large chunks to comment, troll, and hand-hold like I used too. Finding time to write new reviews is kinda hard too these days (this also partially explains why my recent pieces tend to be a bit on the short end).

And finally, your avatar is HOT. OMG. Absolutely lovely.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy