Kyary Pamyu Pamyu
Moshi Moshi Harajuku


4.0
excellent

Review

by pizzamachine USER (211 Reviews)
March 31st, 2012 | 73 replies | 8,151 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A lightweight, irresistible J-pop album.

8 of 8 thought this review was well written

One can too easily claim that Moshi Moshi Harajuku sounds like a Perfume album. After all, the same person that produced this mini album (Yasutaka Nakata) also produced Perfume’s JPN. However, there is one defining difference between the two J-pop groups. Namely, Kyary Pamyu Pamyu is an oddball. You’ll be hard pressed to find pictures of her that don’t have her caked in ridiculous doll-like make-up, or doing a funny face, or wearing crazy clothes - that’s just who she is. Whereas Perfume is manufactured and impersonal, Kyary at least displays some personality. Such is evident in her music video for ‘PONPONPON’, which went viral due to its psychotic yet cute visuals. For people new to J-pop the eye catching images would surely intrigue, but the question then is whether or not this mini album can equally impress hardened J-pop fans and critics. Fortunately, it can.

Moshi Moshi Harajuku plays out like a Perfume album, only simpler and more mindless. The album is generally easy to listen to with smooth, affectionate electronics and happy beats. One pictures an innocent little girl skipping along through a crowded mall, excited to go to the toy shop. The soldiers are her favorite, ‘cause she can wind them up and watch them march around, bashing their little drums to a cute song. Perhaps imaginary but certainly infectious, and this image consistently endears. The resulting sound is equally endearing, with positively childish sounding electronics plus instrumentation. Such a light weight, adorable display of music is absorbed easily, and the positive energy about it is difficult to resist.

Perhaps the overly cute image is an attempt at brainwashing the masses, but the corresponding music nonetheless impresses. Pop is meant to be this simple and pleasurable, and thus this mini album is highly recommended. Despite rather similar songs and a heard-before style of J-pop, the music is too enjoyable to be weighed down by its scant negatives. Candy for the soul, Moshi Moshi Harajuku is sweet but never sickening.



Recent reviews by this author
Jeremy Soule Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion SoundtrackRa Critical Mass
Gemini Syndrome LuxSirenia Perils of the Deep Blue
Rainbow (KR) Rainbow Syndrome Part. 2Part Myth Part Legend Almagest Codex
user ratings (49)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Nandacollection

Pamyu Pamyu Revolution
recommended by reviewer
Perfume JPN

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
March 31st 2012



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This just had to be reviewed.

deathofasalesman
March 31st 2012



5808 Comments


Seems interesting. The cover is cute as hell.

Well-written and concise review.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2012



49736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

YES!!!!!!!!!!!

Digging: Kyary Pamyu Pamyu - Pikapika Fantajin

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2012



49736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm reviewing dis too

conradtao
Emeritus
March 31st 2012



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

YES WONDERFUL. "ちょうどいいの" is perfect.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2012



49736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

1. Kyary no March
2. Cherry Bonbon
3. PONPONPON
4. chodo lino
5. pinpon ga nannai
6. Jelly (Capsule cover)


pizzamachine
March 31st 2012



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I'm reviewing dis too"

haha cool bro

KILL
March 31st 2012



70284 Comments


wow

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2012



49736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you would love this

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2012



7955 Comments


My grandfather taught me many things. One thing he taught me was to never trust those shifty eyed Japanese

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2012



49736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They make all the good videogames though

Tyrael
March 31st 2012



20697 Comments


that cover is gonna give me nightmares

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2012



49736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wait till you see her music videos

Xenophanes
Emeritus
March 31st 2012



10584 Comments


nooooooooooooooope

great review though

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

Acanthus
March 31st 2012



9535 Comments


Great review even though I still dislike j-pop, reviewing these has helped your style too I think.

Digging: Die Sektor - Applied Structure In A Void

balcaen
March 31st 2012



3183 Comments


fuck yeah
i love her


there's some sort of twisted darkside to her childish j-pop ways.

my head with explode when her full-length comes out this year.

Ire
March 31st 2012



41744 Comments



Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2011



13138 Comments

Report this Post

god why the fuck are people just starting to get into k pop and j pop and post it all over the site ugh


balcaen
March 31st 2012



3183 Comments


because it's generally more acceptable to like pop now i think

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2012



49736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Had to bump up my rating

North0House2
March 31st 2012



5795 Comments


J-pop scares the crap out of me.

Digging: Pet Slimmers of The Year - Fragments Of Uniforms



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy