TTNG
Animals


3.0
good

Review

by drewcordova USER (5 Reviews)
March 27th, 2012 | 16 replies | 2,294 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: There are two sides to the coin.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

This Town Needs Guns is a hard band to pin down. Animals, their full-length debut, is very similar to a coin. Depending of the toss, you get either heads or tails (funny enough, each of the song names are of animals which have both heads and tails). Points of brilliance in this album are balanced out by the dismally bland.

The opening track, Pig, gives a taste of the music to come. The guitar work is virtuosic, the rhythm section is decent, and vocalist Stuart Smith's voice fits. However, Pig is a macrocosm of the record. The themes established early on are continued throughout. Each song blends into the next, and the guitar work is the main culprit. Each song has copious amounts of noodling, and it seems like the same few arpeggiated chords are played incessantly. In fact, the guitar starts to become frustrating background noise through the first six songs.

Then comes Elk. The seventh song on the record makes good on the promise given early on by Pig. It opens with soft acoustic picking, and is followed by horns. As it begins, you feel the sting of mourning. Once the drums are introduced, that sting begins to grow warm with the feeling of hopefulness. Elk is a beautiful journey, and wonderfully emotional, even from an indie “math-rock” band.

Elk is followed by the next best song on the record, Crocodile. Here, Stuart Smith has his best vocal performance. Not only does his voice fit, but his singing actually goes with the music. Elsewhere, his voice fits, but his singing doesn't, and it is definitely a point of contention. It seems as though the verses were sung with no thought as to how they would fit with the rest of the band. Animals is in need of a good shot of melody, and the vocals just don't deliver.

As a debut album, Animals is a good start. This is a band with tremendous potential, but one that relies too heavily on their musical chops. Ironically though, the best song on the record in an instrumental. Instead of indulging, they show restraint. With tiresome noodling, and an incapable lyricist, this record has all of the makings of a bust. However, with the complexity of the songs, and musical potential, you may find a gem. There are two sides of the “This Town Needs Guns coin”. What do you say, heads or tails?


user ratings (551)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
David Driver (4)
Highlighted by a virtuoso lead guitarist, This Town Needs Guns releases a largely impressive debut t...


Comments:Add a Comment 
drewcordova
March 27th 2012



705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Indie noodling just becomes too tiresome. I prefer my noodling in metal.

drewcordova
March 27th 2012



705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's unique for sure.

NeutralThunder12
March 27th 2012



8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i play guitar so 4/5

Funeralopolis
March 27th 2012



11215 Comments


jellyfish and worms

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2012



17204 Comments


Their s/t and ep are better by a lot. Still though I'd rather listen to Owls.

Relinquished
March 27th 2012



24919 Comments


looks like you heard the album with a different tracklist

drewcordova
March 28th 2012



705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

As impressive as it is, there's still something missing. Does anybody know of new albums pending for TTNG?

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2012



10062 Comments


"Animals, their full-length debut, is very similar to a coin."

I get exactly what you're trying to say here, but the way you execute this comparison is about the most awkward thing ever.

Overall, though, pretty good review. I can agree with you, although I enjoy it a bit more than you do. And I love Stu's voice, damnit.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

drewcordova
March 28th 2012



705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for the feedback. I'd like to make the review more understandable, so if anything in particular jumps out at you let me know.

drewcordova
March 28th 2012



705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

By the way, I like his voice too. I just feel a disconnect between the music, and the rhythm of his singing.

sixthgoldenticket
March 28th 2012



1176 Comments


Still though I'd rather listen to Owls [2]

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2012



10062 Comments


Yeah, I can understand what you mean about his voice being a bit off-rhythm. However, I wouldn't say that there's a much better way around it, considering the complex style of their music.

And in terms of your review style, I think you would benefit from not going through the tracks in the systematic way that you do. It's more interesting when reviewers only bring up the songs they feel are necessary, and it isn't necessarily following the album's structure :] and the way that you talk about them makes it almost sound like there aren't other tracks. What I would try to focus on doing is emphasize why you're talking exclusively about these tracks, as opposed to other ones, and mention the overall ideas of the other ones, and perhaps why they weren't worth mentioning. And what made the tracks that you mentioned WORTH mentioning.

Prets sure I just reiterated the same exact point like 3.5 times in about 1,000 words more than I needed to, but it was all out of love



Relinquished
March 28th 2012



24919 Comments


i don't remember hearing his voice off-rhythm anywhere here

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2012



10062 Comments


Not off-rhythm, just poised in a rhythmically awkward manner over the music

drewcordova
March 28th 2012



705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^^^ succinct. Thanks for the feedback again Omaha

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2012



10062 Comments


Sure thang :]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy