A Loss For Words
No Sanctuary


3.5
great

Review

by KSK1 USER (6 Reviews)
March 27th, 2012 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: As catchy as it gets.

The Boston music scene is ripe with growing musicians waiting to bust out and grace the rest of the world with their presence. Whether it be metal, hardcore, pop-punk, or any other genre catering to fans of underground music, the list of bands is endless and pop-punk band A Loss For Words are among the favorites. Following the success of their 2009 full length “The Kids Can't Lose”, the band has signed to Rise Records there were certainly mixed feelings on what that meant for the future of the band. Rise has a reputation of churning out the same old run of the mill “genericore” albums, band after band. A Loss For Words' debut with Rise “No Sanctuary” gives a little more validity to the Rise roster as it is certainly a breath of fresh air amongst all the debauchery.

This album kicks off at a million miles per hour with the opening track “Honeymoon Eyes.” Bouncy yet still melodic, this song does an excellent job blending fast paced rock reminiscent of Yellowcard with their general pop-punk style. The chorus is as catchy as they come and this is the case with most of the album. Pop-punk bands aren't out to release an album of guitar wankery or breakdowns so their greatest weapon to stay relevant in an overcrowded genre is to stay catchy. A Loss For Words put the focus on the music as a whole rather than just single memorable moments scattered throughout an album of filler.

The highlight of this album is unarguable vocalist Matt Arsenault's unique voice. He has a genuinely pleasant tone that perfectly fits the bands poppy style. Lyrically, “No Sanctuary” is generally well written and free of cheesy, cringe-worthy one liners. The content is nothing out of the ordinary. Most of the songs are about girls, life on the road, missing their friends and family, etc. His vocals fluctuate to add to the catchiness of each chorus and verse urging listeners to sing along. The title track is the only song to feature harsh vocals. It's a more hardcore approach while still adding Matt's signature melodies in the chorus.

There are very few negative things to say about this album as a whole but some of the riffs can be a little monotonous such as the lead riff in the song “Raining Excuses.” Another issue which is common in this genre of music is that a lot of the songs seem to follow the same formula over and over. Lucky for them they have it generally perfected and are still able to write solid catchy songs that don't lose their replay value after five spins. All in all the innocent and catchy hooks are extremely enjoyable and you can help but move and sing along. This is a very good start to the bands career as signed musicians and hopefully this album will take them to even greater heights as they grow together musically.

Recommended Tracks:
Honeymoon Eyes
The Lost Cause I Use To Be
Jetsetter
Wrightsville Beach



Recent reviews by this author
Bleeding Through The Great FireThe Plot In You First Born
I, the Breather These Are My SinsMonsters Monsters
Close Your Eyes We Will Overcome
user ratings (93)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
KSK1
March 27th 2012


4084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Can't believe there was no review for this. I don't write too many reviews but all feedback is welcome.

silentstar
March 27th 2012


2259 Comments


I somewhat liked this album; there were some really good songs, but then again, some weak ones. My favourite track is probably the closer, absolutely love the chorus.

KSK1
March 27th 2012


4084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah that's definitely one of my favorites. Should've put it in the recommended tracks. I meant to.

pmmets07
March 27th 2012


5883 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

al4w: the most average band to ever pop the punk

lucasjcockcroft
March 28th 2012


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

could not get into this for some reason.

accompliceofmydeath
March 28th 2012


4227 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really dug The Kids Can't Lose, but I felt like this could've been better.

Digging: Cruel Hand - The Negatives

KSK1
March 28th 2012


4084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It definitely takes a poppier approach kinda like the newest ADTR album without the breakdowns and this is better.

OurNumbers
April 12th 2012


122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The singer's voice reminds me a lot of the guy from Let's Get It.

Anyway, this album seems great so far. I've only listened to it on shuffle with several other newer pop punk albums, and it seems to be the catchiest and most accessible.

Hovering between a 3.5-4, because some of the tracks are already getting nostalgic for me.

Edit: & For some reason, I really like the album cover. The aesthetic is just awesome.

xstaytrue18x
May 10th 2012


579 Comments


is this worth checking out? i loved their previous album, fun as fuck live too.

lucasjcockcroft
July 21st 2012


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

http://youtu.be/FBmd3DxJQjs

sooo awkward

KSK1
July 21st 2012


4084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Lol, turned it off as soon as I saw Davey from Vanna. Fuck that guy and this is like the one song I don' really like from this album.

lucasjcockcroft
July 21st 2012


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

his dance moves looks so awkward.

Spluger
October 31st 2012


1167 Comments


Huh, I actually like that song. I saw Vanna live before and Davey didn't seem like that bad of a guy lol. Is he an asshole?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What's this about Davey?

Massachusetts quintet A Loss For Words continue to hone their craft on 2nd LP 'No Sanctuary'. Surprisingly stretching their base pop-punk sound into a number of directions, the diversity here is both a blessing & a curse. A mid-album foray into hardcore & balladry miss their targets, yet the versatility shown by all 5 members is impressive & commendable. It's still nothing too ground-breaking, but between the solid musicianship & Matt Arsenault's spot-on vocals, 'No Sanctuary' is a rewarding listen... And it's fair to say that AL4W have the knack for a catchy hook too! Recommended Tracks: Pirouette, Wrightsville Beach, Raining Excuses & Honeymoon Eyes.

Spluger
December 29th 2012


1167 Comments


Exactly, as far as I know Davey isn't that bad of a guy.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I try my hardest to be nice in this Sputnik environment.

Spluger
January 2nd 2013


1167 Comments


Not the easiest task.

KSK1
January 2nd 2013


4084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Davey Muise is a piece of shit from my experience with him so I can say i'm not a fan haha.

Spluger
January 2nd 2013


1167 Comments


How come?

KSK1
January 3rd 2013


4084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It was a long time ago and i'm over it, but him and someone else affiliated with the band threatened my friend and I. Not gonna go into detail but hes a cunt.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy