Kapitan Korsakov
Stuff and Such


4.3
superb

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
March 23rd, 2012 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A multi-faceted rock album that combines sonic experimentation with strong melodies to startling effect.

Belgium-based Kapitan Korsakov (KKK for short) are quickly becoming a force to be reckoned with when it comes to underground rock. The trio's downright experimental tendencies make them fairly difficult to pin down. Their critically acclaimed debut disc, Well Hunger, delivered an abrasive blend of ferocious noise rock and drone-induced sludge metal, which resulted in a welcome change of pace in the current rock scene populated by bands which struggle to come up with their own distinct style. Kapitan Korsakov didn't seem to have difficulty finding their own niche. Such enthralling tracks as “When We Were Hookers”, “Sink Sleeping” and “Cozy Bleeders” displayed enough individual identity to be regarded as their own, evoking deranged gonzo rock aesthetics in the process.

Released early this year, Stuff and Such rekindles the act's fury and moulds it into way more groove-oriented soundscapes. The refreshing onslaught of “Quicksand Surfer” is composed of a simple drum beat, a shoegaze-inclined wall of sound and menacing screams that build to an intense climax. In contrast, heavy rock of “Don't Believe the Hope” is based on absurdly groovy, hypnotic guitar play which provides a backdrop for impressively spastic drumming. This style is also captured on a series of phenomenal instrumentals throughout the disc, the most notable of which is complex “Cheese is Christ.” The track displays an amazing textural synthesis of pounding bass lines and massive guitar riffs in a way that resembles the work of popular math rock group, You Slut!

There's another unexpected facet to Stuff and Such that was nowhere to be found on the trio's debut. Namely, Kapitan Korsakov significantly enlarge their stylistic palette through a shift towards less bombastic and more accessible songs. Sonic Youth echoing “Cancer” may be their first legitimate hit with its rampant, sing-along chorus and sly garage rock aesthetics. The act also surprises with equally catchy, stripped-down ballades that feature clean vocals only. Beatlesque “Lest My Water Break” is wonderfully subversive in its lyrical content, whereas idyllic “Piss Where You Please” is a delight due to its playful mandolin melody. However, it's epic “In the Shade of the Sun” that has to be the grandest singular achievement of the band to date. This nearly 9-minute-long composition quietly builds to a spaced-out coda followed by a sudden outburst of spacey guitar soloing and a vocoder-ridden vocal performance being nothing short of poignant.

Just as its title suggest, Stuff and Such comes as a collection of various tracks revolving around the myriad of influences rather than an entirely cohesive album. Despite this, the song craft is so immensely powerful that the record may solely serve as a perfect antidote for all the pseudo rock outfits that deliver one lacklustre and unimaginative album after another. Kapitan Korsakov just prove to be head and shoulders above them, surpassing even most of their fellow noise rockers in the process. Versatility along with a novel approach to sonic assault are the trio's tokens of recognition that set them apart from numerous peers on this exceptionally diverse album.



Recent reviews by this author
Kimbra The Golden EchoDog Fashion Disco Sweet Nothings
So Slow DharaviMastodon Once More 'Round the Sun
Fire! Orchestra Enter!Ought More Than Any Other Day
user ratings (7)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2012


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Cancer:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tRijSzVUdBQ

Quicksand Surfer:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCYBDZM7EXY

Piss Where You Please:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQugzUK-BvI

Yes. They're already 3 videos for the songs from this album.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Eclecticist
March 23rd 2012


3863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh fuck yea this album rules! That song Cancer reminds me of early Nirvana

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2012


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

^Good point. It reminds me of Sonic Youth more actually. Anyway, excellent song!

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 24th 2012


6457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, man.
I really liked the record, but they're sooo much better as a live act; hence my somewhat lower rating.

Digging: Thom Yorke - Tomorrow's Modern Boxes

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 24th 2012


6457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also, if you like them, try out The Hickey Underworld: also Belgian, also underground.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RkB56z_8nck

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2012


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Thanks dude. My rating may seem a bit too high, but I gave this album the benefit of the doubt. I think it's at least a 4. I haven't seen them live... so I don't know if it would change anything.

The Hickey Underworld sound good. They seem to be softer than these guys though. I'll check them out more thoroughly and let you know what I think.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2012


3419 Comments


Hey! Good review Greg! Pos. I listened to the videos linked and these guys seem like a lot of fun. I should get this album sometimes, at the moment I am still enjoying Nest Of Vipers a lot. With this occasion I went back to spin Truckfighters' records too.

Digging: Electric Wizard - Time to Die

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2012


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

This is really as good as Nest Of Vipers, just a lot more experimental and going into different directions. Truckfighters rule too, except the last album which I didn't dig very much.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2012


3419 Comments


Weird, I like the last album most... I really love almost all the tracks there (Majestic, The New High and Blackness are my favorites). It's not that heavy as the predecessors I guess but nevertheless I find it a great record. They should be dropping a new record this year too, it's been 3 years now since Mania.

Those guys are best live from what I've heard. The energy at their show is huge

Eclecticist
March 24th 2012


3863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

btw Greg84 you don't need to post individual youtube links for songs, the album is streaming on the band's website

http://www.kapitankorsakov.com/Music.html

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2012


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

@Eclecticist:
Thanks man. I haven't noticed that before.

@insomniac:
Mania is the only album of theirs I don't care much about. I have no doubts they're awesome live. Stoked for the new record.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2012


6147 Comments


Good review, pos.

Some corrections:

experimention

experimentation


with in underground rock

within


Such tracks as

Tracks such as

Digging: Raven Throne - ???????? ?????????

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2012


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Thanks man. I obviously agree with the 1st correction. I'm such a noob. I changed the 2nd one in a different way. 'Such tracks as' is better than 'Tracks such as' imo, but to each his own. Both versions are correct.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2012


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I don't know why this track isn't on the album. Awesome tune!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=julP_3LclW0

The lyrics are boss.

MrElmo
August 23rd 2012


1955 Comments


if the next converge sucks I'll get this insted

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 23rd 2012


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I don't think this LP has got anything to do with Converge, but suit yourself Elmo.

MrElmo
August 23rd 2012


1955 Comments


yea I know, just a hazardous decision i took, but since this is sonic youth-esqu it'll prob end up on my shelf anyway ^^.
So will this be your album of the year?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2012


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

It's Sonic Youth-esque only in spots. These guys are experimental and very hard to categorize. While I would dub them noise or experimental rock, some people refer to them as experimental stoner rock because of permeating sludge influence.

And it'll make my top10 for certain.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 24th 2012


6457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't really see the experimental side, they pretty much play very hard rocking tunes.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2012


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

http://vimeo.com/50539479

Awesomeness!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy