Terrorizer
World Downfall


2.0
poor

Review

by Attis USER (12 Reviews)
March 23rd, 2012 | 45 replies | 2,380 views


Release Date: 1989 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Lies.

3 of 7 thought this review was well written

As you all know, Terrorizer is a deeply underground music band that formed in 1987, arguably the most kvlt year of the 80s. Their intriguing combination of death metal bordering on crust would later lay the foundations of another extreme metal genre known as grindcore. And this is where things get ugly. This is where it all comes crashing down. Ugh.

World Downfall is, for lack of a better word, bad. Sure, it had all the aspects that would later define the heydays of grindcore, but World Downfall as a whole never goes beyond its impactfulness. Released in a period of time when riffs were everything, World Downfall brings fast, relentless and at times highly technical riffs. But the riffs themselves don't make an album (let alone a grindcore album) and World Downfall suffers from the lack of substance built around them. The first few songs are tolerable in the sense that you're waiting for something to happen, yet nothing ever comes. Its just 30 minutes of nonstop brutality pillaging your ipod earphones without so much as a tiny buildup, solo or climax. There is no purpose to be found here. Sure, the riffs sound great but when you have bands like Me and Him Call it Us who managed to twist the primitive nature of grindcore into a blossoming, imploding beauty, they quickly get lost in your head. The bass is nonexistent but what did you expect from a guy who hasn't probably even heard Primus. Similarly, the drums are heavy and ever-blasting but coupled with the directionless riffs they lose any credibility. Where is the passion? Where is the lyrical prowess of bands like Pig Destroyer? Where is the epicness of Nasum and the emotional saturation of Discordance Axis? What World Downfall offers instead is an empty, uninspired look at the 80s extreme metal scene.

Overall, if you're looking to get into the genre, World Downfall is an album to be avoided unless you want to experience all the pitfalls of the music of the 80s. Initially intriguing, World Downfall ultimately offers nothing of value. I gain no deeper knowledge about myself. This review has meant nothing.



Recent reviews by this author
Meshuggah KolossAs I Lay Dying Awakened
Refused The Shape of Punk to ComeZelienople The World Is A House On Fire
Discordance Axis The Inalienable DreamlessInsect Warfare At War With Grindcore
user ratings (271)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
The Bone Zone (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
March 23rd 2012



71482 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fade you have crossed a line

the god damn shit line

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Attis
March 23rd 2012



333 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

constructive critique is welcome

ShadowRemains
March 23rd 2012



20539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what kill said

Digging: Banks - Goddess

eternium
March 23rd 2012



16337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ugh

Attis
March 23rd 2012



333 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i love grind but this has to be one of the most overrated records of all time, sorry

lucasjcockcroft
March 23rd 2012



3706 Comments


lawl

eternium
March 23rd 2012



16337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol Me and Him Call It Us reference

Still a bad review.

ShadowRemains
March 23rd 2012



20539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its just 30 minutes of nonstop brutality pillaging your ipod earphones


this is a good thing

Attis
March 23rd 2012



333 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

eternium you like this more than me and him call it us?

eternium
March 23rd 2012



16337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is essential and top tier grindcore.

And I know people that were in the band and associated with it.

Attis
March 23rd 2012



333 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

but, personal connections aside, do you really think people will know about this album 10 years from now?

eternium
March 23rd 2012



16337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is already over two decades old.

Ire
March 23rd 2012



41754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow ur dumb

Attis
March 23rd 2012



333 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

how, exactly? i already expressed my opinions in the review, feedback would be appreciated

Fluttertrank
March 23rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not sure if a troll but if you are fuck you. Riffs are great, the grind parts are brutal and the vocals are great too. And the bass is pretty audible, i think you just have a problem.

Ire
March 23rd 2012



41754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but, personal connections aside, do you really think people will know about this album 10 years from now?



but, personal connections aside, do you really think people will know about this album 10 years from now?



but, personal connections aside, do you really think people will know about this album 10 years from now?




Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2012



18334 Comments


but, personal connections aside, do you really think people will know about this album 10 years from now?

but, personal connections aside, do you really think people will know about this album 10 years from now?

but, personal connections aside, do you really think people will know about this album 10 years from now?

but, personal connections aside, do you really think people will know about this album 10 years from now?

but, personal connections aside, do you really think people will know about this album 10 years from now?

Digging: Shed - Shot Selection

ThroneOfAgony
March 23rd 2012



3485 Comments


This review has meant nothing.

Attis
March 23rd 2012



333 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the grind parts sound good but they ultimately add nothing, as ive already stated. i admit that this kind of rough vocals never appealed to me but overall i think they dont fit with the riffs

ffs
March 23rd 2012



4865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

these guys don't have to "build anything around the riffs" when they have 5x better riffs than any of the bands you mentioned



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy