Abramelin
Abramelin


4.0
excellent

Review

by CaptainDooRight USER (93 Reviews)
March 23rd, 2012 | 120 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Solid death metal with a few unexpected turns; in ways you may have not been expecting for a well known death metal album.

Australian death metal for the most part has been really solid. Abramelin does nothing to deter from that thought."Abramelin" is known by many death metal fans as a classic. There are some notable things on this album, such as every musician being fully capable of playing effective death metal. While this album is solid death metal, it does have its flaws. A lot of the songs have solid riffs but sometimes the impact of the riff is weakened due to its un-originality and lack of creativity. The opening track "Misfortune" has groovy passages that only make me wanna bang my head just slightly, but the failure comes from the expected riffs. As this song progresses I find myself being able to predict every riff change and accompanying drum pattern; this happens a lot even throughout the album.

With a high level of predictability, "Abramelin" still has notable moments of doomy aspects where "Stargazer" lingers with heavy riffs and accompanying lead harmonies. The variation of tempos fits well with the overall mid paced feel of Abramelin's first LP. Several tracks contain well fitting solos, which in this case are necessary to break the monotony. "Stargazer" also throws in an acoustic section right at the end of its death metal fury, which does well to fuse into the next track. These occasional standouts are enjoyable but are still not good enough to make this album one of the best a person could find in the genre.

I believe the lack musical drive is due to the high number of band member's coming and going. Between 1989 and 1997 Abramelin went through 5 drummers, 4 guitarists, and 2 bassist'. There may have been a high level of stress in trying to write good music with varying member opinions playing against the unity. Whatever the case may have been, this album is solid death metal and is definitely worth listening to.



Recent reviews by this author
Dropped Flyer Electronic CigaretteAbacus Abacus
Van der Graaf Generator Pawn HeartsFinch (NL) Beyond Expression
Orwell AVOHFASIHOdyssey (USA) An Abstract Existence
user ratings (33)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainDooRight
March 23rd 2012


29914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

inb4 myself[*note to self, "that doesn't make sense"]

Digging: Impetuous Ritual - Unholy Congregation of Hypocritical Ambivalence

CaptainDooRight
March 23rd 2012


29914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha thanks for the pos riff *edit, spoke to soon. explain yourself negger

this ain't no magnetic fields but I feel you'd agree with the rating, you may even think it should be lower from what I know of your taste

DeafMetal
March 23rd 2012


8588 Comments


perhaps the best dm album to ever surface from australia

review is lol

MO
March 23rd 2012


18865 Comments


yea needs a higher rating hard, for once listen to the riff face

CaptainDooRight
March 23rd 2012


29914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

opinions opinions, bring the negs, I need moar

DeafMetal
March 23rd 2012


8588 Comments


ok

CaptainDooRight
March 23rd 2012


29914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also this album is pretty boring

DeafMetal
March 23rd 2012


8588 Comments


"also this album is pretty boring"

so u gave it a 3.5 - great?

CaptainDooRight
March 23rd 2012


29914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah the albums good, it's just not a 4.5

an example of a 4.5 would prolly be Gorguts Considered Dead

stop overating albums guys, looks bad

bloc
March 23rd 2012


34925 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This kicks

MO
March 23rd 2012


18865 Comments


blocs

bloc
March 23rd 2012


34925 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

off

KjSwantko
March 23rd 2012


9443 Comments


Gonna check this out. Capt you should've put more effort into this review and made it longer though bro, what you've got so far is good.

CaptainDooRight
March 23rd 2012


29914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuk you riff dick

rev is true bro, needs nothing more, accept reality bro's

Adabelle
March 23rd 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, pretty good man

CaptainDooRight
March 23rd 2012


29914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the plethora of fade alts has spoken

DeafMetal
March 23rd 2012


8588 Comments


you're wrong dude, this album is better than that

CaptainDooRight
March 23rd 2012


29914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah maybe if I was elite like deaf

or maybe if I wasn't one of the 8 out of 2 who 3.5'd this

ShadowRemains
March 23rd 2012


21054 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

captain you seem to keep writing the same review over and over again

Digging: Execration (NOR) - Morbid Dimensions

CaptainDooRight
March 23rd 2012


29914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

maybe because my writing style hasn't changed, that could be why

but when I look back on them, they seem to be different to me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy