Parkway Drive
Killing with a Smile


5.0
classic

Review

by dunksman23 USER (6 Reviews)
March 22nd, 2012 | 50 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is what fusing metal and hardcore is all about

The boys from Byron really shook things up with their first full length, which with the help from Killswitch Engage axeman Adam D, got them on the path to success

Parkway Drive have garnered a huge fanbase since the release of "Killing With a Smile", and have cemented themselves as one of the reall heavyweights in metalcore today, with much of that thanks going to their debut. But what made "Killing..." so good?

Released in 2005, "killing with a smile" happened just before the metal/deathcore explosion of 06/07. As a band that didn't listen to metal (except the lead guitarist), Parkway Drive showed a remarkable understanding for the genre, and that they could definately match it with the very best.
Album opener 'Gimme A D' shows the no nonsenss hit 'em hard attitude that is prevailent throughout the album. The fast riffage, solid drumming coupled with fantastic vocals and heavy breakdowns let the listener know exactly what they're in for. Whilst the next two songs, "Anasasis" and 'Pandora' are quality work, the album doesn't truly hit it's stride until....

Romance is Dead

Fan favourite, encore song and overall one of Parkway's finest moments. This gem truly shows the potential the Metalcore genre has to offer. Whilst showcasing everything a quality song should have, it still retains Parkway Drive's unique sound and ferocious attitude.
With the momentum gathered, Parkway assaults the listener with Guns for show, knives for a pro (song gets kudos for being a "lock, stock and two smoking barrells" reference); a short, yet incredibly hard hitting song.

Following up one great song with another is the norm for this album, and the "It's Hard to speak without a tongue, Mutiny, Smoke 'em if ya got 'em" and "A Cold Day in Hell" and running back to back, the brutal assault on the listener's ears does not relinquish.

The solid technicality, drumming and great vocals that Parkway are known for are showcased to their fullest extent, whilst the breakdowns and semi-immature lyrics may turn some people off, the overall energy and hard-hitting nature of of this album makes it one every metal fan should give a go.



Recent reviews by this author
Cryptopsy None So VileWhitechapel Whitechapel
Bleed from Within EmpireMartyr Defiled Collusion
Chelsea Grin My Damnation
user ratings (1345)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Benjamino Jackanory (4)
Melodic, rage-filled and barrels of fun; Parkway at their unadulterated best...

Danie (4)
It's metalcore and it's not egregious. Seriously....

Andrew H. EMERITUS (3.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
dunksman23
March 22nd 2012


215 Comments


first review
criticism welcome

ohfoxxxycole
March 22nd 2012


4353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the review is great for a first just work on the editing because there are a lot of mistakes here

dunksman23
March 22nd 2012


215 Comments


Cheers dude, will do

Funeralopolis
March 22nd 2012


11419 Comments


If nobody in the band listened to metal besides the guitarist then how did the singer know how to scream?

Digging: Black Milk - No Poison No Paradise

dunksman23
March 22nd 2012


215 Comments


first gig they did, he ripped his vocal chords hard. They were more into punk and hardcore. He learnt of his brother so i've heard, but other than than i dunno :/

Mordecai.
March 22nd 2012


8279 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If nobody in the band listened to metal besides the guitarist then how did the singer know how to scream?


yes, only metal is allowed to have screamed vocals ok guys

Funeralopolis
March 22nd 2012


11419 Comments


cool I didn't know there were punk bands that did false chord screams.

Funeralopolis
March 22nd 2012


11419 Comments


This review is pretty awful it is basically like here is a history of the band, I like them, the end.

Butkuiss
March 22nd 2012


4199 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album takes me back many, many, many, many moons.

First four tracks+Smoke Em If Ya Got Em, Blackout, Hard to Speak Without A Tongue and Cold Day In Hell still get played every so often on my ipod.

dunksman23
March 22nd 2012


215 Comments


Fair enough funeral. This is just my opinion. I tried to be to the point with as little mucking about as possible

NeutralThunder12
March 22nd 2012


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"This is what fusing metal and hardcore is all about"

hahaahaha

Hawks
March 22nd 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I know this is your first review, but it's really not good.

NeutralThunder12
March 22nd 2012


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

happened just before the metal/deathcore explosion of 06/07. As a band that didn't listen to metal (except the lead guitarist), Parkway Drive showed a remarkable understanding for the genre, and that they could definately match it with the very best.

dunksman23
March 22nd 2012


215 Comments


Hey neutral, are you gonna be constructive or just take excerpts from my review and diss them?

Funeralopolis
March 22nd 2012


11419 Comments


parkway drive is definitely not amongst the best metalcore.

dunksman23
March 22nd 2012


215 Comments


Well they are to me. It's my review. If you don't agree that's fine. I'm not gonna criticize ur music opinion

NeutralThunder12
March 22nd 2012


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

are you aware that misery signals, converge and poison the well exist

Mordecai.
March 22nd 2012


8279 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^^^ lol

and yeah review really sucks. learn to spell.

NeutralThunder12
March 22nd 2012


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is no laughing matter mordecai

Mordecai.
March 22nd 2012


8279 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like misery signals just as much as the next guy but c'mon they're pretty generic



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy