Asphyx
Last One on Earth


4.0
excellent

Review

by VisionsFromTheDarkSide USER (23 Reviews)
March 21st, 2012 | 71 replies


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 1992's Last One on Earth packs a weighty punch

Asphyx are very much an overlooked band in the old school death metal scene. Certainly one of the best death metal bands from the Netherlands, their sophomore release, ‘Last One on Earth’ manages to strike the balance between being easily identifiable as a death metal band but also being fairly original too.

The main way in which Last One on Earth achieves its excellence is from simplicity. Many bands around that time adopted an extremely up-tempo approach, with lightning fast riffs, furious blast beats and crazy, chaotic solos. Asphyx, however, abandons these guidelines and mainly opts for a more mid/slow tempo approach, employing simple but effective riffs. Some songs also shift between slow and fast tempos, such as opening track 'M.S. Bismarck', 'Incarnated Lust' and 'Food for the Ignorant'. These help make the songs very interesting and adds great variety to the album.

The guitars have a nice buzz-saw like tone, similar to that of many famous Swedish bands around the time, but with a slightly more crisp edge to them. This type of production works well with the mid/slow paced riffs, as it makes them sound more crushing and heavy.
If you’re looking for solos, then you are looking at the wrong album, as solos are a rarity on Last One on Earth. However, rather than being a hindrance, this is actually a good thing, as it helps to maintain the doom feel to the album.

The vocals are another highlight too. If there’s one common fault in death metal, it’s that the vocals often seem to be slightly lifeless and monotonous. However, Martin Van Drunen delivers a fantastic vocal performance on this album, mainly employing a style halfway between growling and shrieking. They add to the doom-and-gloom vibe that the album creates, and he certainly packs a lot of emotion into them.

Although the negatives of this album seem very petty, they still exist. Some of the songs, although not actually being all-that lengthy, seem to drag on a little. Songs such as 'The Krusher' and 'Last One on Earth' feel like they could have been cut short slightly.

On the whole, Last One on Earth is a very overlooked gem in the old school death metal scene, never quite getting the recognition it deserves. The atmosphere it gives off is almost unprecedented in death metal, and the album sure as hell packs a punch, perhaps competing with some of the best from that time.



Recent reviews by this author
Maveth Coils of the Black EarthCoffinworm IV.I.VIII
Sport Bon VoyageExarsis The Brutal State
Stonehelm StonehelmEyehategod In the Name of Suffering
user ratings (91)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainDooRight
March 21st 2012


29131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos hard good job bro

Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2012


18464 Comments


drunen forever

Digging: Recondite - Caldera/DRGN 2

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
March 21st 2012


1788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers bro, kinda rushed but I do like this album a lot

Digging: Noah Gundersen - Ledges

CaptainDooRight
March 21st 2012


29131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

came out really clean, your wording is spot on

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
March 21st 2012


1788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"came out really clean, your wording is spot on"
Really? Cheers man

"Martin Van Drunen? Of Pestilence? I cant believe i have not checked this out. Good review
pos'd"
Haha thanks, yeah he really does a great job on this album


KILL
March 21st 2012


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

drunens so hard

my fav drunen

consuming is life bro

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2012


18464 Comments


yeah it drunens hard but this drunens and dooooms thats just too good man

KILL
March 21st 2012


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i know but the songs are just better on consuming

PLEASE GET THEM OUT OF MY BOOOOODYYYYYY

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2012


18464 Comments


THE MORE WE BREATHE

THE SOONER WE DIE

KILL
March 21st 2012


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its not the same : (

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2012


18464 Comments


i just want to fit in

KILL
March 21st 2012


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol nah it rules too but idk out of the body is just

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2012


18464 Comments


as great as it is trauma is still my fav track

SUFFERING FROM A TRAUMA

HenchmanOfSanta
March 21st 2012


1865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who the fuck gave this a 1?

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2012


18464 Comments


a retard loser

bloc
March 21st 2012


34848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Always liked this band. I do prefer The Rack over this though.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2012


18464 Comments


but the riffs man

CaptainDooRight
March 21st 2012


29131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bump for a worthy album

Hubcool
March 21st 2012


166 Comments


The review is great, but I disagree about the band being overlooked, Asphyx and Pestilence are easily the 2 first bands that come to mind when you think about Dutch OSDM, yet again I guess Dutch OSDM in itself is a pretty overlooked scene :p

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
March 22nd 2012


1788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"The review is great, but I disagree about the band being overlooked, Asphyx and Pestilence are easily the 2 first bands that come to mind when you think about Dutch OSDM, yet again I guess Dutch OSDM in itself is a pretty overlooked scene :p"

Thank you, and well I think when it comes to osdm as a whole they are pretty overlooked, but yeah they're definitely not if you specify it to dutch osdm



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy