Faithless
Reverence


4.5
superb

Review

by ThroneOfAgony USER (12 Reviews)
March 20th, 2012 | 30 replies


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A masterpiece from one of the greatest electronic groups ever

Anyone that loves electronic music knows that ‘Insomnia’ was nominated for the greatest Dance anthem in 1995. Over the course of more than 10 years, Faithless, the group who designed the 10 minute epic have risen to their fullest, and meaningfully so. The club-banging track has been featured in a wide range of video games, commercials, and movies. ‘Insomnia’ is also one of Faithless’s most preciously made tracks, partly due for the complexity and distinct melody/rhythm changes; and even though the song has its highest moments (the lustrous synthesizer that slides in action halfway), it will entertain just about any electronic music fan, even for people who are the complete opposite and who find the entire song to be an annoyance. But really, this song and Faithless’s amazing debut is both equally prodigious and approachable. And the majority of ‘Reverence’ is just about everything you can ask for in the electronic music world. There are perfectly structured beats, uplifting synthesizer leads, and beautiful vocals sung by both male/female that will invite anyone inside to explore. It’s all just a huge ball of goodies.

With this album, Faithless don’t manage to display one specific genre as opposed to many others. As in, they explore house, downtempo, and even non-cheesy trance to make something completely varied in its own nature. ‘Insomnia’ is an amazing anthem house piece whilst ‘Salva Mae’ is an out-of-this-world trance tune with a heartwarming melody. ‘Don’t Leave’, sung by the female vocalist herself is probably the most emotionally gratifying here. The gentle piano chords are with what give it so much emotion, and of course so do the song meaning. ‘Baseball Cap’ fiddles with the lyrics a bit more instead of the common love theme by repeating ‘baseball cap’ over and over again, and ‘If Loving you is Wrong’ perfectly refers back to the standard cheesy love lyrics.

‘Reverence’ is definitely a mysterious journey that is not only Faithless’s best, but a quintessential album for electronic music. It’s commonly referred to as an unquestionably perfect record and essential for the dancefloor. Faithless are a group above and beyond the ordinary, and ‘Reverence’ perfectly exemplifies this in fashion.



Recent reviews by this author
Coil Horse RotorvatorCoil The Ape of Naples
Kraftwerk Computer WorldAphex Twin Selected Ambient Works 85-92
Tiesto In Search of Sunrise 5: Los AngelesBonobo Animal Magic
user ratings (56)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

The Dance

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
March 20th 2012


12632 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet to see a review for this!

ThroneOfAgony
March 20th 2012


3485 Comments


THANKS PIZZA AND CAPTAIN

ThroneOfAgony
March 20th 2012


3485 Comments


yeah captain it's been a while man, how ya been

ThroneOfAgony
March 20th 2012


3485 Comments


dude sick. alright i'll see which m/'s you should review

ThroneOfAgony
March 20th 2012


3485 Comments


you should. insomnia is pure gold.


also, inb4 deviant finds something wrong with the review.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2012


2819 Comments


" inb4 deviant finds something wrong with the review"

You'll have to make do with me in the meantime.

I'm a bit surprised this never got a review before, so it's a little disappointing that you never really dived into the depths of the album. I'd like to know a little more about the underlying themes of the album, especially since you describe it as so essential. Making a bit more of why it's so good as compared to any old release would be great, too.

Apart from that it's well written enough, despite a couple of comma-minefields scattered around the place. The second sentence, for instance.

Funeralopolis
March 20th 2012


12617 Comments


I bet this isn't a masterpiece.

Digging: Blur - Parklife

Activista anti-MTV
March 20th 2012


3150 Comments


sup tarkus

VlacDrac
March 20th 2012


844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0



"I bet this isn't a masterpiece."



Actually it's average

It doesn't have many memorable parts.



Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2012


31873 Comments


In b4 Strangerofsorts ;)

Pretty much what I would have said

ThroneOfAgony
March 21st 2012


3485 Comments


oh wow, didn't know you commented. but yeah bro it's the best. and yeah the opening is one of the best for sure

AllGabrielsAreGlass
May 1st 2012


431 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

5 tracks on here are amazing (Reverence, Salva Mea, Insomnia, Dirty Ol' Man and Baseball Cap.) but the rest is just one big long mmmeeehhhh train.



By the looks of things I probably wont be getting any other album from them.

TronaldDump
June 2nd 2012


503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Insomnia is the greatest song in all electronica.



There I said it.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2012


2819 Comments


Well, if TronaldDump said so then I guess it must be...

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2012


31873 Comments


Well it is, so there's that as well

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2012


2819 Comments


Well it is pretty damn tasty, but "best ever" is just a tad bold.

aok
June 6th 2012


4488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oo -- cool to see this finally got a review. and with the right rating to boot.



the whole thing's finally clicking for me. 'insomnia' is the centerpiece of course, but there's a hell of a lot going on throughout. i still might review this -- we shall see

aok
June 6th 2012


4488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i dunno man, it might be

KILL
June 6th 2012


73768 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

http://oi47.tinypic.com/9uul9t.jpg

aok
June 6th 2012


4488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

but like, what is then?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy