Ictus
Imperivm


4.5
superb

Review

by CaptainDooRight USER (93 Reviews)
March 16th, 2012 | 47 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The best hardcore album I've ever heard hardly follows the common suites of it's counterparts; blending crusty, interchaging hardcore into a one track wonder that completely shatters the genres bar levels.

This is it. The time has finally come. Being an avid consumer of death metal and the likes, I'll tend to venture out and explore new territories, someday hoping I find that one gem that was humbly waiting for me. This is it. So what about this album is so special? In plain english the music is literally perfect and extremely well written. This one track self titled song is comparable to the best moments in one's life. There are no breaks here as if Ictus, a harcore band from Spain, wrote a bunch of songs and just decided to blend them into one track just to be cool and fit scene-like characteristics. This is actually ONE WHOLE SOLID MASTERPIECE THAT NEVER NEEDS TO END.While most songs from artist' build up to their high points then plateau until it ends, "Imperivm" is nothing like that. Somehow Ictus have found a way to maintain full control over their dynamic shifts. When it seems like an azimuth is being reached the band will seemlessly transistion into perfect cleans that never take away from the previous set atmosphere.

These miracles of wonder are fully attributed to a really close connection of talented musicians. They are all extremely skilled at their weapons and always fully display what their capable of. Besides being some of the best Hardcore I've ever heard in the genre, their ability to craft composition after composition that is never forced is nothing short of amazing. Drummer Fernando, has amazing skills on the kit and I feel he keeps the energy of this band going well. He's a beast behind the set; with perfect creativity on the cymbals and fill lines he always keeps the riffs pushing forward. The guitarist and vocalist Ignasio keeps perfect, exciting riffs coming in one after another and knows how to compose like a virtuoso of a musician that he is. His vocals are amazing as well and have a good blend of death and hardcore styles to it which is what I really like about this album. The genuinity of every component befits the slightly crusty atmosphere it entangles.

Everybody needs to hear this album right now. For a person who is highly skeptical and cautious with this genre, I personally recommend this album to everyone. For a release that came out in '07, "Imperivm" is an unwarranted, overlooked gem that is humbly waiting for your ears to take in what you've been missing all along. Listen to this now. Get this now. You will not be dissapionted.



Recent reviews by this author
Dropped Flyer Electronic CigaretteAbacus Abacus
Van der Graaf Generator Pawn HeartsFinch (NL) Beyond Expression
Orwell AVOHFASIHOdyssey (USA) An Abstract Existence
user ratings (26)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
macadoolahicky
March 16th 2012


1835 Comments


This is it.

I will be checking this out, good review.

Eclecticist
March 16th 2012


3863 Comments


Hardcore eh? Did you decide that it was time to add a little breadth to your reviews?

seedofnothing
March 16th 2012


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review

this is sounds really good so far, I'm surprised because I don't listen to this style of music much either

Funeralopolis
March 16th 2012


11982 Comments


almost worth the mounds of hyperbolic acclaim it receives!

Digging: Spiritualized - Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space

seedofnothing
March 16th 2012


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no joke the drummer really gives this the energy push it needs to be successful

pizzamachine
March 16th 2012


12576 Comments


I'm probs going to review Krypts - Open The Crypt soon bro. Heads up!

seedofnothing
March 16th 2012


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah the problem with most hardcore for me is it's boring and too predictable, i do find myself really enjoying this

AsoTamaki
March 16th 2012


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn, this is really that good? Not that into hardcore either, but I will trust you guys. Will check.

seedofnothing
March 16th 2012


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah neither am I, I'm not into hardcore at all but even I would prolly 4 this

AsoTamaki
March 16th 2012


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Few minutes in and it is really good so far. I'm loving the dual guitar riffs. Great stuff.

seedofnothing
March 16th 2012


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha I just finished the whole album, once I started I couldn't stop. it just keeps getting better and better

that drummer is amazing

MalleusMaleficarum
March 16th 2012


14457 Comments


good review dude, i'll have to check this out

seedofnothing
March 16th 2012


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I imagine people will avoid this because of the label Hardcore

but these guys are so much more than just a label.

Tyrannic
March 16th 2012


3262 Comments


hmm...

(strokes beard)

innnnnnteresting.... will do later tho, meshuggah kick atm

AsoTamaki
March 16th 2012


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this ruled. Everything flowed perfectly even though they hardly repeated any parts.

Tyrannic
March 16th 2012


3262 Comments


rush? didn't they do that song more than a feelin'?

that's rush right? they made that song? right? right? right??????

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2012


4462 Comments


I'm embarrassed to say I haven't heard of them myself. I'll check them out.
Anyway have a pos Captain. Well written stuff, as usual.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2012


4462 Comments


@Tyrannic
That's Boston who wrote that song.
Rush did "Tom Sawyer", you've definitely heard that one, every one has.


AsoTamaki
March 16th 2012


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Limelight and Closer to the Heart more likely

YYZ is better though yeah

Tyrannic
March 16th 2012


3262 Comments


paperback, i was kidding. boston's one of my favorite bands from childhood. gawd

thanks doo. i was meaning to spin some prog soon. good review as usual



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy