Axis of Light
By the Hands of the Consuming Fire


3.5
great

Review

by Martin L. USER (44 Reviews)
March 15th, 2012 | 82 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If you choose one record that forces you to feel dizzyingly levels of despair and imparts dread in a short, powerful burst, please make it this one.

It would be an absolute travesty to criticize the production on Axis of Light’s debut record, especially considering the bone-chilling atmosphere the band manages to achieve on By The Hands of the Consuming Fire. In short, the drumming is almost non-existent, the general instrumentation is lacking in terms of anything diverse or interesting (besides a few, key aspects), and Consuming Fire is generally as sloppy as fuck. More importantly though, Consuming Fire is all the better for it.

Energetic and spastic, technicality and dexterity are tossed by the wayside on this bleak road in favor of cathartic despair. We forgive Axis of Light for - scratch that, we thank Axis of Light for this considering the wonders it does to produce an utterly abyssal and dread-inducing atmosphere. This is best achieved through the high-pitched wailing, which demand center-stage throughout. There’s little to love here if you’re looking for subtlety or layers, and Consuming Fire can be too simplistic for its own good at points, but the off-kilter, hateful product is bare to the bone and this only stands to heighten the sense of harshness throughout.

Each track follows a similar progression as it decreases from static and fuzzy rhythms into vocalist Axiom’s madhouse of unrelenting, shrill screams of depravity that manage to handily supersede all other elements. Though raw, Consuming Fire is still nowhere near impenetrable. The obvious undertones of hardcore and punk, most visible in the careless beginnings of tracks “II” and “III,” allow the listener an easy entering point, a foothold to grab hold of while delving deep into the dark, abyssal consuming fire.

It may not be a record you like, or even enjoy; but at the very least, Consuming Fire with its emotive atmosphere and murderous cries should be enough to reinvigorate your interest in black metal as far as 2012 is concerned.



Recent reviews by this author
Aidan Baker Already DrowningPity Sex Feast of Love
NoMeansNo WrongHuata/Bitcho Split
The Men New MoonGiles Corey Hinterkaifeck
user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2012


18737 Comments


yeah this was pretty good

Digging: Monolake - Hong Kong

rasputin
March 15th 2012


14550 Comments


yeah enjoyed this demo when i first heard it

played it again last week and it was still good

agree with your rating

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2012


18737 Comments


the vox rule

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2012


16448 Comments


enjoyed this

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

Ignimbrite
March 15th 2012


5419 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this rules

Digging: Jakob - Sines

carouse
March 15th 2012


302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought about 4-ing it but a 3.5 just seemed more fitting, here.

TheSpirit
March 15th 2012


17940 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Really happy to see this getting reviewed. Really good read to boot

Ignimbrite
March 15th 2012


5419 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

minor issue: this sentence is sort of awkward...

Energetic and spastic, technicality and dexterity are tossed by the wayside on this bleak road in favor of cathartic despair.



MoosechriS
March 15th 2012


5036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool review dude, this turned up in the post last weekend. Love the atmosphere of the whole thing

carouse
March 15th 2012


302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks guys, and yeah I'll fix that awkward sentence.

CaptainDooRight
March 15th 2012


30025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha right on I was waiting for someone to review this. Good album. Pos.

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

zaruyache
March 15th 2012


6971 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This makes my ears hurt, but in a good way.

Digging: Ardour Loom - Demo

seedofnothing
March 15th 2012


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is raw awesomeness

ApplicationToHeaven
March 15th 2012


1562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is awesome, bought the tape for £3

seedofnothing
March 15th 2012


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

like riff said before

the riffs are like soft snow flakes gracing my ears

seedofnothing
March 15th 2012


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also the vocals are amazing and filled with exquisite emotion

CaptainDooRight
March 15th 2012


30025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really can't stop listening to this

MoosechriS
March 15th 2012


5036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Me either, so fucking good

CaptainDooRight
March 15th 2012


30025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck yeah bro!!

m/ hard

Hawks
March 15th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I should probably listen to this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy