The Beatles
Rubber Soul


2.5
average

Review

by crandynewman USER (38 Reviews)
March 10th, 2012 | 53 replies


Release Date: 1965 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Listening to this does make my soul feel more flimsy than normal

I might lose a lot of Beatles credentials but I honestly don't like Rubber Soul very much. I think that's mostly because I think Bob Dylan is a big hack and this is heavily folk influenced and especially Dylan-influenced. That is not to say that it has good parts, but for the most part its just not very good at all. There are a couple highlights however and their career would soon take off after this so its definitely good that they made this one but I'm just not really feeling it.

This is the first album where the Beatles start to get a little bit serious! Although you wouldn't know that from the goofy first song called Drive My Car which has to be the dumbest thing to write about of all time. Especially when the lyrics range from "baby you can drive my car" to "beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep". Yeah pretty lame guys. Norwegian Wood is a pretty good song however and its got a nice riff to it but be WARNED: this is the first time they use sitar, something that would ruin otherwise perfect albums in the near future!

There are some really good tracks on this towards the end such as Michelle which has a cool melancholy melody, In My Life which everyone already knows, and Wait, which is my personal favorite on the album. Its too bad that they took so long to get to these really good tracks and it feels like it would make a better folk record than a Beatles one but personaly I don't want the two to mix! Bobby Dylan get out of here, I want my Paul George and Ringo back! Luckily they dropped all of these influences except the sitar for their albums to come and were all the better for it!



Recent reviews by this author
The Beatles Let It BeThe Beatles The Beatles
Stooma Against the WorldThe Beatles Magical Mystery Tour
The Beatles Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club BandSay Anything Anarchy, My Dear
user ratings (2183)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
crandynewman
March 9th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

part 5

Lakes.
March 10th 2012


28388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

U be trollin'

also lol at bob dylan being a 'big hack' u funny crandy lolololololo

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

lancebramsay
March 10th 2012


1585 Comments


Review is kinda beep beep, be bad

crandynewman
March 10th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thanks flutter!

i just dont like bob dylan at all

coneren
March 10th 2012


11111 Comments


what a review holy fuck

crandynewman
March 10th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thanks ren!

SCREAMorphine
March 10th 2012


1758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

2!!! WHAT!?

Not their best but an amazing album

ohfoxxxycole
March 10th 2012


4353 Comments


first

crandynewman
March 10th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it might be more of 2.5 or 3 i just dont like folk

SCREAMorphine
March 10th 2012


1758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Be cool and bump it up to a 3 Crandy

crandynewman
March 10th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i went to 2.5

SCREAMorphine
March 10th 2012


1758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good man

crandynewman
March 10th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thanks scream!

Funeralopolis
March 10th 2012


11564 Comments


he's back!

Digging: Black Milk - If There's a Hell Below

crandynewman
March 10th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sorry ive slown down

booreno62
March 10th 2012


69 Comments


Well...Bob Dylan is one of the worst live acts ever...

TooLateToGoBack
March 10th 2012


1775 Comments


he's back!

we missed you, crandy.

DallaShepherd
March 10th 2012


18 Comments


Awesome review!

Review some Pearl Jam next!

crandynewman
March 10th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thanks dalla!

i dont like grunge

starry
March 10th 2012


552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nowhere Man and The Word are two of the best I think. They are as much about the vocals and them harmonising together, which isn't really much about the Dylan style. Drive My Car is about the energy of the song more than the lyrics, a good track to open with. McCartney is quite strong on the album.

Overall I think this is definitely a well above average album. Maybe it's easy to want to react against some saying it is a great masterpiece when some tracks aren't that great, while still being pleasant. The last track sounds weak to me, the cover is ok but no more, Harrison was better later.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy