Witch In Her Tomb
Witch In Her Tomb


3.5
great

Review

by B R A N D O N S C O T T USER (103 Reviews)
March 9th, 2012 | 50 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist


As 2012 sees me regaining my love for all things nekro, kvlt and any other ridiculous blackened slang, Witch In Her Tomb has helped me immensely in returning to black metal, a genre I really, REALLY love. Reviving the classic 90's Norwegian black metal sound with the addition of their own perverse melodic sensibilities, Witch In Her Tomb is hardly revolutionary but they still remain victorious thanks to their attention ensnaring black metal sound.

Taking the harsh minimalism of Darkthrone and the thick atmosphere of Mayhem, Witch In Her Tomb is a collection of six short yet succinct black metal anthems, each song containing trademark elements of the genre while also incorporating the band's own unique stylings. A great example of this lies in the track "V" which borrows the chord progression from Pachelbel's Canon in D, a move that while odd works splendidly. Longest track "II" opens with a brief and atmospheric acoustic section before bursting into a cold and furious black metal assault, a true audible incarnation of a raging blizzard. The band overall does very well at capturing the essence of an arctic tempest, not only representing the cold through their instruments note choices but through a raw, buzzing production, a snowy veil lightly dusting the grim music.

Just an incredibly solid release from start to finish, Witch In Her Tomb successfully summons the specters of old while also looking to the future; featuring a tasty array of droning, blasting and atmospheric segments done in moments of both harsh dissonance and memorable harmony, this band's first and so far only release is one of 2012 "must-have" black metal releases so far this year.



Recent reviews by this author
Cara Neir The OverwatchCarved Cross Demo III
Black Beasts IIAzarath Blasphemers' Maledictions
Doth Datura WrightiiCara Neir Sublimation Therapy
user ratings (19)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
March 8th 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Another short review for short album. My personal rating for this is a four but I think most people would probably find this within the 3.5 range though. Anyway this has helped me immensely when it came to actually being interesting in black metal again

Digging: Volahn - Aq Ab Al

BallsToTheWall
March 8th 2012


44785 Comments


Good review, cool band name. Most likely give this a whirl.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

seedofnothing
March 8th 2012


3425 Comments


Your shorter reviews are always golden.

Vesper
March 9th 2012


3085 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yep, solid. m/

You should also notice that track V uses the (in)famous chord progression from Pachelbel's Canon in D, which is kind of odd for a black metal song, even though it's so popular elsewhere, haha.

TheSpirit
March 9th 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, cool band name. Most likely give this a whirl.


Wylie, this is right up your alley.

Your shorter reviews are always golden.


Thank you man, I really appreciate that. Maybe I can pull an Adam Thomas and get promoted to contrib doing mostly shorter pieces.


You should also notice that track V uses the (in)famous chord progression from Pachelbel's Canon in D, which is kind of odd for a black metal song, even though it's so popular elsewhere, haha.


Would you mind if I incorporated that fact into my review? I think that would definitely back-up that the band melodically does some pretty interesting and unique things.

seedofnothing
March 9th 2012


3425 Comments


"Adam Thomas"

Haha, that's Yazz isn't it?

TheSpirit
March 9th 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah, it's redskyformiles

yazz's name is thomas

seedofnothing
March 9th 2012


3425 Comments


got it^...listening to

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLRmFItlFDY

man that tone is to die for

TheSpirit
March 9th 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, it's one of my favorite aspects of this

Vesper
March 9th 2012


3085 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Go ahead, I don't mind, haha.

I don't think it's interesting or unique in that it's a very popular chord progression (if you haven't ever heard the "Pachelbel Rant", look it up on Youtube), but I think the context is amusing.

BallsToTheWall
March 9th 2012


44785 Comments


That songs alright but that Japanese operatic goth band Liv Moon is really where it's at.

seedofnothing
March 9th 2012


3425 Comments


"You should also notice that track V uses the (in)famous chord progression from Pachelbel's Canon in D, which is kind of odd for a black metal song, even though it's so popular elsewhere, haha."

Yeah I hear it Vesper for sure. Literally exactly the same.

TheSpirit
March 9th 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Okay added something about the chord progression.

Thanks again Vesper, I think that piece really solidifies one of the main points I'm trying to make in the review

CaptainDooRight
March 9th 2012


30233 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review bro, POS

Just listened to the link Seed posted and am loving this immensely

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

TheSpirit
March 9th 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good shit man, thanks :]

booreno62
March 9th 2012


69 Comments


From ILLINOIS? My home state? I have to check this out.

booreno62
March 9th 2012


69 Comments


Good review, by the way. Short reviews are underrated.

TheSpirit
March 9th 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thank you good sir

TheSpirit
March 9th 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man I appreciate that a lot

l3urkles
March 9th 2012


141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good stuff man, I really enjoyed this as well! Glad it finally got a just review. Looking forward to seeing what these guys can do!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy