Sun Glitters
High


3.0
good

Review

by Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (103 Reviews)
March 6th, 2012 | 26 replies | 2,477 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Left out in the sun for a little too long.

Witch house, post-dubstep, dark-chillwave... I think it says a lot about a movement when so many phrases are coined to describe it. Call it cynicism, but it’s my opinion that music has reached a point where we have too many genre-tags to juggle. Whenever a revolutionary album emerges, it seems, we have a handful of journalists eager to be known as “the one who created the term ‘x’”. So how’s this for a handy one-word description? Intoxicating. The swollen landscapes of bass, subtle melodies, and minimalistic percussion topped-off with heavily modified, easy to grab vocal samples results in the kind of music that fills your mind and frees the soul; its steadily encroaching patterns inviting you to lose yourself. This is the genre Victor Ferreria fits neatly into. His debut full-length under the moniker Sun Glitters, Everything Could Be Fine, showed him experimenting with the genre by off-setting the expected dark atmosphere with an almost Boards of Canada-esque optimism. The warmer textures and beautifully endearing vocals helped distance Ferreria from his competition, and while the conflicting motifs caused the album to stall occasionally, it nevertheless remained a captivating and incredibly interesting record.

High sees Ferreria forget this somewhat. The distance between haunting, almost intimidating backdrops and the uplifting, laid-back foreground has been reduced hugely - resulting in something that flows more successfully, but at the same time seems a little less inspired, a little more forgettable. In some ways his music has become a different entity entirely: resembling something closer to a summer chill-out mix. Whether or not this change is welcome is obviously up to the individual listener, yet even I have to admit that this new slant isn’t without its merits. High kicks off with a track by the same name; its pulsating rhythms lazily developing into a shoegazingly rich sea of sun-drenched textures. Strangled repeats of “you make me high” solidify the care-free, optimistic tone. It’s positively catchy, albeit in a slightly more shallow way than we’re used to with Ferreria’s music. Underneath this all, however, we still catch glimpses of complexity and subtlety, with the percussion stubbornly maintaining an off-beat loop as he plays around with the solid 4/4 house structure that he’s restricted himself to up to this point. It gives the tracks a kind of stumbling, dream-like quality: invoking some character back into the music.

The remaining two original releases carry on in the same vein, accumulating in “They Don’t Want To Let You Know”, Ferreria’s most danceable song to date. The much sweeter melodies and increased tempo beg an inverse comparison to Jon Talabot: where Talabot moves away from the summer party scene, Ferreria’s can’t move quickly enough in the opposite direction. The remixes on the EP only support this view in that they’re fun to listen to, but a little gimmicky and not really attempting to offer anything unexpected; although they suffer further by lacking the skill and care that Ferreria still manages to showcase on High. It’s a testament to this skill that he has previously managed to make a successful album out of a style which deteriorates in quality as soon as the balance of fun and depth tilts. Sadly, while High may stand up fairly well on its own merits, this reviewer can’t help but feel a little disappointed.



Recent reviews by this author
Throwing Snow MosaicSOHN Tremors
A Winged Victory for the Sullen Atomos VIIPlinth (UK) Music For Smalls Lighthouse
The Correspondents Puppet Loosely StrungSon Lux Alternate Worlds
user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also posted on: http://www.muzikdizcovery.com/

So yeh, hi.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2012



10070 Comments


" the kind of music that fills your mind and frees the soul"
Would probably be better if you used "your" or "the" for both comparisons.

"The distance between haunting, almost intimidating backdrops and the uplifting, laid-back foreground has been reduced hugely: resulting in something that flows more successfully, but at the same time seems a little less inspired; a little more forgettable"

Both the colon and semi-colon seem to be used incorrectly here

Great review, was checking out this release today actually.



Digging: The Contortionist - Language

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

damn my slap-dash, self taught use of colons... will get it fixed.

"fills your mind and frees the soul" was intentional, though. Probably doesn't matter too much if I
change it. Anyway, thanks!

edit: think the semi-colon is actually okay there.

CaptainDooRight
March 6th 2012



28864 Comments


no semi-colon is wrong, so was colon

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Have to say I disagree, but majority rules I guess...

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2012



4412 Comments


I've never heard of them but they sound interesting. i'll have to check them out.
Liked the review, so i Pos'd

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

CaptainDooRight
March 6th 2012



28864 Comments


i like the review too and in all reality who cares about semi-colons' your review owns anyways, so pos hard bro

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

too many people...

Thanks man.

iambandersnatch
March 6th 2012



1472 Comments


You could make an argument for the -colon- being correct but the semi-colon is most certainly wrong. A comma would do fine in place of both so that is the quick fix. It's in run-on territory at that point though, so I would suggest doing something like -

The distance between haunting, almost intimidating backdrops and the uplifting, laid-back foreground has been reduced hugely. This results in (or "The result is") something that flows more successfully, but at the same time seems a little less inspired and a little more forgettable.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeh, that would work. I'll have a little think over other options then edit something in tomorrow.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2012



31097 Comments


Witch house, post-dubstep, dark-chillwave... I think it says a lot about a movement when so many phrases are coined to describe it.


Wait a minute, unless the movement you're talking about is music as a whole then we're about to have a very serious discussion

Also they call it darkwave. Dark-chillwave doesn't make any sense

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2012



31097 Comments


where Talabot moves away from the summer party scene,


You've gotta be joking

WashboardSuds
March 6th 2012



4993 Comments


new EP? sweet

Digging: Gas - Nah und Fern

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha, I knew that would piss you off, Dev. (The Talabot one, don't take it too seriously it's more in terms of conventional style anyway)

Dark-chillwave has been thrown my way a few times, so I put it in. The problem with using darkwave is that it can't really be used to describe this music. Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't darkwave describe a variant of post-punk?

Does it apply to all music? Kind of, but that's not an angle I'd really thought through when writing this.


Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2012



31097 Comments


Well what I'm wondering is whether or not your opening sentence is a kind of slate against blog tagging in general, or did you just simply lump those tags into the same kind of over-arching genre?

And yeah it is, I've just also seen people use it as a variant of chillwave - light vs. dark etc. Like I'm not saying you're wrong or anything, but dark chillwave just seems like an oxymoron

Jash
March 7th 2012



4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"High" is easily one of the best songs released this year and this whole EP is really great

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A little bit of both, but primarily the latter.

Darkwave would definitely make sense if you shrugged off the old definition...


Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2012



31097 Comments


Well in that case I'd love to hear the connection

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The connection between the tags? All focus and build up from layers of bass, often mixing a laid back vibe with darker undertones. To put it vaguely.

Or were you asking about the other one?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2012



31097 Comments


No, I was wondering how you could lump post dubstep (lol), witch house (lol) and chillwave together. Apparently layers of bass and dark undertones sealed the deal.....



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy