Burial
Kindred


4.5
superb

Review

by Liam Whear USER (7 Reviews)
March 6th, 2012 | 24 replies | 2,536 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Skrillex is in trouble

1 of 4 thought this review was well written

Skrillex’ success at the Grammies earlier in February seemed like the nail in the coffin for dubstep and electronic music; this most unsubtle and graceless of musicians, with his wirrs and his wobs, had finally hit the big-time. Thank the heavens for Will Bevan.

Fresh from his collaborations with Massive Attack, Four Tet and Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke, Kindred is his second solo EP since 2007’s Untrue, a record that was truly a landmark in minimal electronic music. Much like last year’s Street Halo, Kindred builds on the template Burial set himself with Untrue (and for basically every minimal electronic artist since, be it Mount Kimbie’s relaxing vibes or James Blakes’ isolated emotional atmospherics). However, with two of the three tracks stretching over ten minutes, the ambition has been ramped up tenfold.

‘Kindred’ opens up the EP with the chopped-up beats you’d expect from Burial, but eventually these are overshadowed by the murkiest bassline heard from him yet, before giving way too a mournful vocal sample and haunting ambience that hints more at oncoming dread and tragedy than the desolated cities at night from Burial records of yore.

‘Ashtray Wasp’ is the best of the three tracks, becoming more of a suite with all its false starts, the track evolving with every passing minute. It possesses the most ominous beat Bevan has laid down yet, sounding like the marching feet of a shambling zombie horde. When this clears away, we’re left with more haunting ambience, as the zombies unleash have unleashed their destruction, leaving little in sight.

If Untrue was meant to represent the desolate night-time cityscapes of post-rave urban Britain, Kindred represents its shambling zombified return; menacing, and back with a vengeance. Skrillex, watch out.



Recent reviews by this author
Enter Shikari A Flash Flood of ColourMoby Animal Rights
Manic Street Preachers Journal For Plague LoversNine Inch Nails The Downward Spiral
Linkin Park Minutes To MidnightBiffy Clyro Singles: 2001 - 2005
user ratings (722)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Deviant STAFF (4.5)
For Burial, the darkness has finally come calling...

LudditeStereo (4.5)
Burial sheds skin and adds muscle...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Titan50
March 6th 2012



4588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Another quick one I had to drum up for uni

chambered69
March 6th 2012



1253 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

album killsssss nice review man

ThroneOfAgony
March 6th 2012



3485 Comments


lolwut

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2012



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Summary and first paragraph are really unnecessary, if you ask me. I'm getting tired with all the Skrillex bashing in practically every dubstep review...

Digging: Amatorski - From Clay To Figures

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2012



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, this is not minimal. I'd use "minimalist" instead, to describe the music.
Pretty good review, otherwise.

Tyrannic
March 6th 2012



3224 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Kindred is his second solo EP since 2007’s Untrue"

untrue was an lp

other than that small quibble, it's an alright review. although it doesn't really make much of a point, if you ask me.

Samizdat
March 6th 2012



301 Comments


skrillex is most certainly not in trouble i hear and dance to his wompery every weekend

Titan50
March 6th 2012



4588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

untrue was an lp


Should have worded that better, I was referring that this is the second EP he has released (the first being Street Halo) since Untrue

Samizdat
March 6th 2012



301 Comments


Note that I didn't say I particularly like listening/dancing to M. Skrillex.

I'm just saying his career is not being jeopardized in any way, shape, or form. And I'm not going to rebel against my friends' party music, so there.

Hep Kat
March 6th 2012



14005 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pretty stupid honestly. i rarely neg people but well there it is

Digging: Casanovas In Heat - Belvidere b/w Destiny St.

ThroneOfAgony
March 6th 2012



3485 Comments


lol SHIGTGNAL BDOTSTRSAJKLKLKJKLGJKL;JKLJKLJKLFSADJKLFSDJKL


Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2012



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Why bring up Skrillex?

Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

TheVoiceAndTheSnake
March 6th 2012



3663 Comments


They're not even in the same realm of music

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2012



30294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Terrible review

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Samizdat
March 6th 2012



301 Comments


Maybe next time you can ramp up your ambitions, tenfold, you loner

twlichty
March 6th 2012



3394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

neg nog

Digging: Lusine - A Certain Distance

Samizdat
March 6th 2012



301 Comments


boiled custurd

Titan50
March 6th 2012



4588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol

someguest
March 6th 2012



18876 Comments


Maybe I'm missing something, but this just sounds like Untrue rehashed. I turn on the first track and hear the same fucking drum loop with sappy samples, only this time the tracks are three times as long. Pass.

Digging: BABYMETAL - Babymetal

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2012



30294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Your uni must be so proud of you



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy