Veil of Maya
Eclipse


3.0
good

Review

by kilipeti USER (1 Reviews)
March 4th, 2012 | 30 replies | 2,622 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Biggest letdown for the year, another band swimming along with the melodic bands. Michael Keene knew what suited VoM the best, they stood out very much with their inimitable riffage and Misha ruined it...

0 of 11 thought this review was well written

I find it rather boring.
It has happened to me many times, that I underrated an album at first, but after listening to it 4-5 times it became one of my favourites, but it's not the case with this album.

Many, many melodic riffs, not very suitable for VoM. Many, many selfcopying, similar and less imaginative riffs to previous albums'.
The change in Marc's tone is just awful. WHY, WHY???? He had IMO one of the very, very best tones in this era, it was supertight and easily recognized.
Also, 28 minutes? The f*ck!

This album was highly disappointing for me, it lacked the most essential thing that VoM has: those super tight, heavy, confusing, badass technical riffs, which were played by guitar and drums all along.
I listened to the album for like the 5th time and then checked We Bow in its Aura and It's Not Safe to Swim Today and realised, how much I like The Common Man's Collapse. [id] was also pretty good, I loved it, really, no matter how many people say it's flat.

I don't want VoM to step into AtB's path... Their newest album was also very boring stuff with melodic riffage.
Veil of Maya, PLEASE STICK TO YOUR ROOTS!
I really don't agree with the opinion that VoM didn't stand out of the chugging bands. For me VoM will always be the best in their class, they took a big step back with this album... It's like when I say Vildhjarta will always be my favourite heavy djenty thall band.

I think they shouldn't allow Misha to be the producer for the next album. Michael knew what to do, The Faceless never let me down, he did the finest job to emphasize VoM's strong points. I don't like Misha's stlye, he turns mostly everything into melodic crap with electronic background. His early works were so much better (Animals As Leaders' and Periphery's first album).

(I'm sorry I won't go into analyzing every tracks, many did so, I just wanted to type down my overall impressions. I only rated it good, becase VoM doesn't deserve less than 3/5)


user ratings (568)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
TheLycan (3.5)
And all they had was just...talent, endurance and inspiration....

John Henry Pitts, III (4)
An anthemic statement by a band that plays like a re-worked medley of their previous work while stic...

RosaVein (4)
Veil of Maya write a strong follow-up to [Id], but not without some critique....

pizzamachine (3.5)
Head banging all the way to the bank, "Eclipse" showcases the unchangeable deathcore act at the top ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
TBliss2
March 4th 2012



504 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The whole review is criticizing the album, yet you give it a 3 just because its Veil Of Maya. Pretty odd.

MalleusMaleficarum
March 4th 2012



13890 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

1) another review for this album is truly unnecessary

2) this review is terrible

3) lol

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

ChuckyTruant
March 4th 2012



15707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Really Bad review. You talk about practically nothing musical.

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

ILJ
March 4th 2012



6619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is one of the worst reviews I've read in some time.

And rating this 3/5 because it's Veil of Maya when you clearly don't think this is good at all, is fucking stupid. I agree that it was a letdown, but you hardly explained yourself at all. In fact, the only real complaint you put forth was that the riffs were more melodic.

So yeah, negged heavily.

Digging: Mastodon - Once More 'Round the Sun

Shuyin
March 4th 2012



11197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

anothe review for this..

why wont you guys review albums that have none?

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue with the Stars

Erratic
March 4th 2012



1120 Comments


I don't even know where to start. This is so awful and laced with fanboy-ism that it just has to be a troll review.

J0ckstrapsFTW
March 4th 2012



3652 Comments


Nope dis album is dope

J0ckstrapsFTW
March 4th 2012



3652 Comments


Neg

TooLateToGoBack
March 4th 2012



1755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What a horrible review.

EJinHD
March 4th 2012



86 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Neg neg neg

AtomicShane
March 4th 2012



1757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah not the best review for this album lol

J0ckstrapsFTW
March 4th 2012



3652 Comments


Thats erry day smoke weed erry day. Shane that avatar gets me every time

bloozclooz
March 4th 2012



1770 Comments


did you copy and paste this from a IRC chatlog or something?

FearThyEvil
March 5th 2012



12286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

How many times do you have to repeat words in this review? Holy shit, holy shit.

kilipeti
March 5th 2012



4 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm sorry it didn't appeal to you guys.
I didn't aim this to be a review at all. It started as a comment, but site said it's too much talking I might as well want to post it as a review, so I did so, even though I knew it isn't a review.
I wrote this, because I wanted to write down my thoughts on the album. Mainly because there were only reviews blessing the album, saying it's much better than [id]. I wanted to express my point of view.

About the repeating: I see now what's the problem. I intended to emphasize with it but I now see it wasn't the most appropriate. English is not my native language unfortunately.

Now I regret this, because it is not a review at all and I understand why you don't like to see something like this in the reviews. In my excuse - little though - I'm new.

But I wanted to know there are others who think like me, who doesn't like this album. To know I'm not the only one. And if anybody began thinking reading my "long comment", it was worth it for me.

ChuckyTruant
March 12th 2012



15707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

So bad

phantasm333
May 11th 2012



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The reviews of this review are whiny and pointless. There is no wrong way to give an opinion on something you listen to. Critiquing someone's review is redundant. Leave him alone, ball sacks.

ChuckyTruant
May 11th 2012



15707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The reviews of this review are whiny and pointless. There is no wrong way to give an opinion on something you listen to. Critiquing someone's review is redundant. Leave him alone, ball sacks.


hahahahah

phantasm333
May 11th 2012



1 Comments

Report this Post


hahaha

Shuyin
May 11th 2012



11197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The reviews of this review

FearThyEvil
May 11th 2012



12286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Had no idea what he was getting at.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy