Yo La Tengo
Summer Sun


3.5
great

Review

by Phil G. USER (9 Reviews)
March 2nd, 2012 | 15 replies | 2,856 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Yo La Tengo turn the mirror on themselves – a band encapsulating a married couple – and create a distorted, melancholic self-portrait.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Melancholy and disappointment pervade the music and lyrics of Summer Sun. “Little Eyes” “Today is the Day” and “Don’t Have to Be So Sad” are beautiful both for their minor key tonality and memorable lines and melodies centering on relationships. The significance of the album title, I believe, has to do with the feeling that everyone who has entered into a meaningful long-term relationship has felt -- namely, disappointment in a significant other and sadness. All relationships have a spring, summer, autumn, and eventual winter. Summer Sun captures autumn.

Summer steaks and summer stays too long
Autumn comes and all of the sudden it’s gone
Tiny birds sit patiently
Side by side on a wire
Darker days and leaves in shapes so true
Wind unfolds on nights so black their blue
Tiny birds fly silently
Side by side in the sky
Don’t be so sad when it’s time to say goodnight
I’ll be there to make sure that you sleep tight
I’m your friend when you need a friend
Until there’s nothing left in the world to make you cry [Tiny Birds]

Yo La Tengo turn the mirror on themselves – a band encapsulating a married couple – and create a distorted image, melancholic in its self-portrait. Summer Sun is beautiful and atmospheric, but its beauty is fleeting. Apparently, New Jersey’s Yo La Tengo’s idea of the summer sun is picturesque yet brief.



Recent reviews by this author
Trip Lee Good LifeLute West1996
Trampled By Turtles TroubleKyuss Sons Of Kyuss
Grand Funk Railroad Closer To HomeThe Soviettes LP III
user ratings (47)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
ThroneOfAgony
March 2nd 2012



3485 Comments


TIMELESS REVIEW POS POS POS POS POS POS POS POS

Activista anti-MTV
March 2nd 2012



3138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Thanks

Check out "Little Eyes" "Today is the Day" and "Don't Have to Be So Sad"

AtomicShane
March 2nd 2012



1755 Comments


best album art of the year goes too....

Activista anti-MTV
March 2nd 2012



3138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

it's just the band, but the married couple look like phantasmsss

KILL
March 2nd 2012



70528 Comments




Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

Activista anti-MTV
March 2nd 2012



3138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

if u don't have anything nice to say

Activista anti-MTV
March 2nd 2012



3138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

30k comments

Xenophanes
Emeritus
March 3rd 2012



10585 Comments




Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

Xenophanes
Emeritus
March 3rd 2012



10585 Comments


pos

Activista anti-MTV
March 3rd 2012



3138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

thanks dude, this is an interesting album w/o a review... lots can be said that i didn't say, but i think it worked out well

Xenophanes
Emeritus
March 3rd 2012



10585 Comments


Has me interested. I'll give it a check eventhough I didn't glean a lot from your review tbh. It was an interesting read so w/e

Activista anti-MTV
March 3rd 2012



3138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Like I mentioned, check out "Little Eyes" "Today is the Day" and "Don't Have to Be So Sad"

Little Eyes = song about child abuse
Today is the Day = song about past relationships that have long ended
Don't Have to Be So Sad = song about being in an unfulfilled marriage

The melodies are infectious, and this album is at times beautiful and atmospheric, but it suffers from its own weight, I think. YLT is always big into experimenting with their sound, and they did this to a certain extent with this LP, but I find it hard to enjoy the experimentation when it detracts from the obvious human qualities of this record.

I wrote this review in attempt to capture what I like about this record, its humanness. I left out all the other crap...

Activista anti-MTV
March 3rd 2012



3138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Also "Tiny Birds" is where the album gets its title. Definitely a worthy song

juiceviaorange
January 18th 2013



285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with the rating here, post "Electr-O-Pura" this has to be their weakest for me, but by no means a bad album. It drags a tiny bit, but is still filled with some of YLT's most beautiful work to date

Activista anti-MTV
September 29th 2013



3138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yes, agreed!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy