Dilute
Grape Blueprints Pour Spinach Olive Grape


4.5
superb

Review

by Sam Feldman USER (7 Reviews)
February 26th, 2012 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: cool album name

"After a while sin begins to form a crowd / Murdering your soul has slowly become allowed". So starts "0", one of the most under-appreciated songs of the former decade as the most gorgeous guitar tones flicker and flutter about, giving way to the grooviest of choruses only to slide into a show-stopping 2nd half of chaotic cacophony. Grape... is constantly loosely-tinged: it twinkles and explodes without warning, math-rock jams go on for what seems like an eternity, always on the fringe of insanity. Dissonant rock-outs creep in every once in a while to jolt the system but this *** is never forced, and for how dissolving some of these tracks can be Grape... is incredibly cohesive.

But the thing that really seals the deal, that really puts this over the top, is Marty Anderson's vocals and lyrics. He sounds exasperated to the fullest, had one too many cigarettes, always screaming with an insomnia-induced rasp. But it's a quiet scream, a clear scream, a man just so exhausted with everything he starts to lose control. "And I'll take another breath / And disguise myself to death / Until there is no inside left / I'll be laughing so hard" he sings on the marooned post-rock structure of "People". And so we stay on this lonely little island of Anderson's, as the beautiful, spastic guitars float around the room like his demons, getting increasingly more tense, more ferocious until the whole thing explodes. Grape... does this often and patiently: it will lull you into captivity and then send you free-falling off a cliff.



Recent reviews by this author
Death Grips The Money StoreThe National Boxer
Modest Mouse The Moon & AntarcticaDead Bugs Of a Feather
Pepe Deluxe Queen of the WaveRed Nightfall Red Nightfall
user ratings (27)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
chambered69
February 26th 2012


1253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

amazing album

ohfoxxxycole
February 26th 2012


4353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah its pretty good

chambered69
February 26th 2012


1253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

listen to it more

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2012


31218 Comments


This is probably one of those things that feels like it makes sense after you proceed to roofie yourself. Speaking of which.....

HI CHAMBERED

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2012


7026 Comments


love

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

bakkermaarten007
February 26th 2012


3545 Comments


Such coincidence, had Alphabet on repeat yesterday. That's a great song, the album itself doesn't seem to grown on me though.

carouse
February 26th 2012


302 Comments


Sounds like an amazing album, I'll check it out. Excellent review, I love the brevity.

Gyromania
February 26th 2012


15791 Comments


You kind of contradict yourself in the second paragraph, otherwise good review. I'll have to look into this album.

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

Enotron
February 26th 2012


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is so fucking good

Enotron
February 26th 2012


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the best part is in 0 when he's all like "liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiife"

chambered69
February 26th 2012


1253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah man that song is so good

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 27th 2012


15740 Comments


did you rec me this? i listened to this once a while ago but dont remember it

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Enotron
February 27th 2012


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

downer you'll love this if you haven't peeped it yet

ohfoxxxycole
February 27th 2012


4353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

people freaked me the hell out on first listen but the guitars are cool

Enotron
February 27th 2012


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

alphabet is probably my favorite off this, it builds so fucking perfectly

chambered69
February 27th 2012


1253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

beware of people that care

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 20th 2013


50458 Comments


Holy fuck great band

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

ohfoxxxycole
March 1st 2013


4353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

say thank you to potsy

mikedrumz
January 12th 2014


292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is incredible. How do more people not know about this?

chesse13
September 6th 2014


3461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool album yooooo

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy