Maker
Mirrors


3.5
great

Review

by Statrick Pickles USER (63 Reviews)
February 24th, 2012 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "And this one's about doing everything wrong and nothing right at all."

If there's one thing worth taking away from Mirrors, the first full-length from Springfield, MA locals Maker, it's the young band's already obvious mastery of their craft and sound. Every track found here resonates with the confidence and purpose of a band that's found their niche in the modern pop-punk scene, with the album as a whole easily meeting and exceeding the present-day standard. Taking cues from tour-buddies in Crucial Dudes and The Story So Far, as well as drawing some obvious influence from now-defunct Jawbreaker and even early Brand New, Maker combine the vitality of passion-driven songwriting with the accessibility of beefed-up choruses, driving their product home with the familiarity and modesty of your favorite local band.

But making a splash on the scene isn't about following footsteps or blending in with your peers; it demands ingenuity and the heart to match it. In these regards, Maker certainly show promise yet leave a good deal of room for improvement, fashioning tracks that ring loud not only of their own ideas, but with comparable ethos to that of the multitudinous other bands around them. As deep as minute-long 'For Every Mistake I've Ever Made' digs in its nails, the precise merging of that pulsating drumbeat and those high-gain guitars derive just a little too much from a sound that's been tried and tried again. Still, a song like 'A Postcard I Never Sent To You' showcases the solid acoustic front of a band that can throw externalities to the wind without compromising their identity, whereas '1989' incorporates a brief post-rock interlude that's as fitting to the record as it is expressive of the fresher and more vibrant tones that the Massachusetts quintet have in mind. Both are certainly elements that one would hope to see Maker expand upon in releases to come, and ones that highlight a band with a promising sonic future.

If Maker can be commended for one last job well done on Mirrors, it would have to be their insistence on brevity. The record as a whole spans less than half an hour, with several tracks clocking in under two minutes, a subtle yet effective ploy to ensure their general potency. Within itself, Mirrors maintains a dynamic and youthful disposition, effectively avoiding the all too prevalent trend of bands that rehash and repeat the same features of their sound. All in all, Mirrors easily posits itself as a record worth delving back into 2011's diverse musical catalog for, and presents a group with a future worth our anticipation.



Recent reviews by this author
Binary Heart SplitsvilleApe Up! Kemosabe
Joyce Manor Of All Things I Will Soon Grow TiredAnti-Flag The General Strike
Good Old War Come Back As RainSnowing Pump Fake / Scherbatsky 7"
user ratings (18)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainDooRight
February 24th 2012


29146 Comments


album art is kinda soothing

Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

iFghtffyrdmns
February 24th 2012


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^that it is


Stream:
http://propertyofzack.com/post/6622140146/propertyofzack-exclusive-stream-maker

Also posted:
http://muzikdizcovery.com

Meant to write this AGES ago cause this band is awesome. Even though it's not from this year you should check it anyways if you have a god damn soul.

Adabelle
February 24th 2012


4257 Comments


Hmmmm, maybe/maybe not. If you listen to Yaphet Kotto I might ;)

Leatherneck
February 24th 2012


660 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

finally a review! and it's a pretty good one by the way.

FelixCulpa
February 24th 2012


1240 Comments


Woah, seems like we finally got a person challenging Davey for the longest rec's by reviewer.

I gave this a listen a couple a days ago and enjoyed it to an extent. Nice review "I fought for years domination's" ;)

iFghtffyrdmns
February 24th 2012


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Woah, seems like we finally got a person challenging Davey for the longest rec's by reviewer. "

haha yeah I made it long so the formatting would look a bit nicer - plus this band does closely represent a lot of those others.


Knew you'd be in here quick andcas

pmmets07
February 24th 2012


5877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck yeah. i love this album. especially earthquakes. will read later.

Tyrannic
February 24th 2012


3262 Comments


"multitudinous"

holy shit what a word

iFghtffyrdmns
February 24th 2012


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

har har har I har har heart Latin < 3

pmmets07
February 24th 2012


5877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you have quite the vocabulary ifght

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2012


10207 Comments


It seems like staff/contributor reviews have been a lot shorter lately. Not at all a complaint, just an onservation. My personal stance is that it's an attempt to balance out Deviant's gigantic reviews :P

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 8th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This band rocks. Check 'em out, Omaha.

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 8th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Which tracks do you think are the best here, Andcas?

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 8th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Interesting choice.

pmmets07
July 9th 2012


5877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

because it's the one acoustic track...?

earthquakes is one of my favorite songs ever.

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 9th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It does have an acoustic guitar. Basement Song came off as one of the more accessible tracks.

pmmets07
July 9th 2012


5877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh my bad andcas. i was thinking of the acoustic track. a postcard i never sent to you.

pmmets07
July 9th 2012


5877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album and holy shit are absolutely perfect summer pop punk albums.

ShitsofRain
August 27th 2012


5897 Comments


it's awesome

Digging: Anthony Shakir - Frictionalism 1994-2009

pmmets07
August 27th 2012


5877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i learned everything that i know from my brothers...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy