Yaphet Kotto
The Killer Was in the Government Blankets


5.0
classic

Review

by Adam S. USER (6 Reviews)
February 23rd, 2012 | 39 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's easily worthy of the mounds of hyperbolic praise that it never received.

Where do you start with Yaphet Kotto? Put simply, they are the most consistently brilliant emotive hardcore act that you have never heard of. Formed in 1996 in Santa Cruz, California and releasing just three LPs in their ten-year lifespan, I suppose it is unsurprising that they slipped by mostly unnoticed. As with a large number of bands who are lumped into the “emo/screamo” genre, it is often only retrospectively that they are appreciated as much as they deserve.

Perhaps so far, my praise seems excessive; allow me to explain. The issue with the majority of debut LPs is their lack of refinement. Sometimes, there is passion but no emotion; at other times there is beauty without any real soul and occasionally there is intensity without direction. The perfect balance is almost impossible to find but on “The Killer Was…” Yaphet Kotto produced a seemingly flawless record easily worthy of the mounds of hyperbolic praise that it never received.

The first track, “First Meetings Agreement” acts almost as a miniature version of the rest of the album. The casually intertwined guitar melodies create a lush texture and there is a gorgeous fluidity despite the intricacies of some of the riffs and drum fills. As far as vocals go, there is a range from the softly-sung duet parts to the passionate and heart-felt deliveries that are commonplace amongst bands in the genre. But they are far from typical in their nature. The vocals can come across as intense but also as nonchalant purely as a result of subtle changes in their delivery and the result is jaw-dropping.

One distinctive feature of “The Killer Was” and also Yaphet Kotto in general is their fantastic ability to give each song the perfect flow. Not a single moment feels rushed or dragged out but effortlessly fits into the masterpiece. The astonishingly mature sound that is the final product has influenced countless bands and is undoubtedly a classic.



Recent reviews by this author
Morpheus Descends Chronicles of the Shadowed OnesHeroin Heroin
Wooderson Let The Man SpeakSaetia Demo Cassette
Kukim Live Morgantown Sound Radio Show
user ratings (48)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
related reviews

We Bury Our Dead Alive

Comments:Add a Comment 
Adabelle
February 22nd 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First review, don't burn me, listen to the album instead.

ohfoxxxycole
February 22nd 2012


4353 Comments


nice summary

CaptainDooRight
February 22nd 2012


30252 Comments


album art messed up

Xenophanes
Emeritus
February 22nd 2012


10622 Comments


Idk if it's MLA or whatever, but I think you have to state the title fully at least once before you abbreviate it. Small complaint. Really great first review. I've heard a song or two from these guys. Will look into further.

rasputin
February 23rd 2012


14555 Comments


good band

eggsvonsatan
February 23rd 2012


1087 Comments


I remember liking these guys from a long time ago, but I can't remember what they sounded like.

CaptainDooRight
February 23rd 2012


30252 Comments


"Idk if it's MLA or whatever, but I think you have to state the title fully at least once before you abbreviate it. Small complaint."

this is true

craigy2
February 23rd 2012


551 Comments


Superb first review! Perhaps a little more meat on the bones would be nice, but this really is very good. Great job!

CaptainDooRight
February 23rd 2012


30252 Comments


yeah i agree, superb

BallsToTheWall
February 23rd 2012


44805 Comments


what everybody else said.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

iFghtffyrdmns
February 23rd 2012


7047 Comments


could definitely use a little more about the music/album/construction/songs themselves and a little less about the general state of music or that scene or whatever, but a solid first nonetheless.

AND GUESS WHAT YOU'RE RIGHT I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THEM AND I'M STILL NOT GONNA LISTEN TO 'EM CAUSE I'M TOO IMPORTANT AND COOL

Adabelle
February 23rd 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album art looks fine to me, maybe mod/med fixed it or something.

About the review being short, it looked longer written out and also this didn't have a review so it was mostly about actually giving this a review but thanks for all the feedback!

Adabelle
February 26th 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Two new ratings since the review, I count that as a success, even if they were probably people who had forgotten to rate from months ago. I think I might review Syncopated... next; it's equally as good if not better.

Rev
February 26th 2012


9439 Comments


I don't have this one :/

Adabelle
February 26th 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Go get it then doofus...

Rev
February 26th 2012


9439 Comments


but I already have so much unlistened music to get around to =(

ffs
March 7th 2012


4883 Comments


i will listen to this

ffs
March 7th 2012


4883 Comments


f**ck you dad!!!

Adabelle
March 7th 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, rules, etc

Adabelle
May 6th 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bumped hard because someone deleted their rating, poser



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy