The Ting Tings
Sounds from Nowheresville


2.0
poor

Review

by Major Tom CONTRIBUTOR (139 Reviews)
February 22nd, 2012 | 29 replies | 3,966 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Ting Tings aren’t going to Nowheresville; they’re just going backwards.

For a duo whose only real draw is their release of tunes as pop-worthy as ‘That’s Not My Name’ and ‘Shut Up and Let Me Go’, that fact they’ve acted a right royal pair of twats in the build-up to album number two reveals a great deal of what you’d need to know before you’ve even hit play.

First off, the 4 years they've spent between 2008 debut We Started Nothing and now would perch more pressure on the couples oddly-matched shoulders than is ever going be an aid to critical soft-touches. After fannying about lending their repertoire of 2 decent (yet HUGELY migraine-worthy) hits to iPod ads and building studios in disused jazz clubs in Germany’s capitol, the pop pair decided to climb atop their musical high horse and chuck out the 11 tracks they initially recorded for Nowheresville merely because “the record company liked them”. For any other band this move would surely be met with a level of artistic respect but coming from these two – a pair hardly established for their uncommercial ditties – it reeks off unself-aware pretentiousness.

What their supposed creative and respectable sophomore effort should sound like then is something which it ultimately fails to. The squelchy synth pops of ‘One By One’ or the hip-hop-meets-rock tepidness of ‘Hang It Up’ don’t sound like chart-rejecting, serious artist tracks at all and that’s precisely the problem. Claiming to have branched-out and gone beyond daft pop single turf will be the downfall of the Tings – a duo who already appear to be rolling down the hill to mediocrity faster than any detractor of We Started Nothing could’ve even wished for.

The album is just plain sailing for The Ting Tings. They try mixing genres and injecting doses of dance floor fun via synths, and it sails by on a current of averageness to the point where, after 34 minutes, you won’t have clawed your ears off but only because you know you’ll never have to visit again. In their quest to avoid the charts the pair will be successful – the music sounds like pop-lite, and in trying to be arty or whatever they want to believe they’ve watered down their only appeal and alienated their chances of survival. Katie and Jules; if I were you’d i'd think about buying a property in Nowheresville – you’ll be stuck there for quite some time.



Recent reviews by this author
Metronomy Love LettersTemples Sun Structures
Bombay Bicycle Club So Long, See You TomorrowOasis Dig Out Your Soul
Oasis Don't Believe the TruthOasis Heathen Chemistry
user ratings (35)
Chart.
2.3
average
other reviews of this album
Alex Beebe (2.5)
The Ting Tings make their sound using different ingredients, but it all builds up to have essentiall...

Raul Stanciu STAFF (2.5)
A mess of an album that grabs tight to its title....

related reviews

We Started Nothing

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



1106 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Album has leaked, to no splendour. Hope you enjoy my review.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



6366 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I actually thought this was pretty good

Digging: Shackleton - Deliverance Series No. 1

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



7314 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I have absolutely no desire to listen to this, yet I still probably will at some point.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



1106 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I wasn't expecting anything from this yet i still felt disappointed. Never a good sign...

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



6366 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Idk, The Tings Tings - for me - are a band to just switch off my thinking/criticising button and have some mindless fun.

WashboardSuds
February 22nd 2012



4984 Comments


SHUT UP AND LET ME GO

Digging: Acid Bath - When the Kite String Pops

KILL
February 22nd 2012



70599 Comments


worst shit ever shoot them both

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



1106 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

clercqie - I get you dude but a major point, as i made in my review, was that they were claiming to have turned off the pop-factor yet have produced a tepid, average pop record. Their two big tunes i find quite alright but nothing on this comes close to even those imo.

EDIT: KILL's a big fan, obvs...

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



7314 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah I quite liked That's Not My Name back in the day but it (and The Ting Tings in general) got old very quickly. It didn't help that their LP kinda sucked.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



1106 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This seems to be one of the rare instances where we're on the same wavelength, Ali!

Love how everyone is dropping by to diss the Ting Tings and not to read the review haha. I know they blow but at least bloody read the review! I'm an egomaniac!!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



3335 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the girl in this band is beautiful, that's why I listened to them once in a while (mostly watched the videos). however, i haven't listened to this and you should've waited a few days more for this to come out because it will probably be deleted by the moderators.

Digging: Karma To Burn - Arch Stanton

PoodleRapist
February 22nd 2012



249 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

didn't read, but wanted to diss.

...just kidding. it's not that bad! sure, there's absolutely no substance, and it's completely derivative, and it's a bit too obnoxious for its own good at times, but...

....wait. i was going somewhere with this.

PoodleRapist
February 22nd 2012



249 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

also pos

Beachcoma
February 22nd 2012



526 Comments


What is the album art supposed to even represent? Themselves?

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



3335 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it was an artwork contest and the band picked this one as the cover.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



1106 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Cheers Poodle ;)

insomniac15 - Hope not. Its had quite a few ratings so its spread a bit already. Stream will hopefully pop up soon too so it'd be mean if they pulled it haha.


Nikkolae
February 22nd 2012



4768 Comments


somehow their debuts name seems a bit ominous now doesn't it?

Digging: We Came Out Like Tigers - Ever-Crushed at Pecket's Well

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



3335 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

hopefully not Tom because it's a good review.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



1106 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nikkolae - LOL!

insomniac15 - Cheers, bud.



insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012



3335 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I gave this a listen and it's a downer. The only great thing here is Hands which is on the Deluxe Edition. pos



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy