Funebrarum
Beneath the Columns of Abandoned Gods


4.0
excellent

Review

by CaptainDooRight USER (93 Reviews)
February 21st, 2012 | 39 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Funebrarum's roots shall'nt be overlooked. For the "La La" contained within is yummy.

Isn't it lovely how music can enhanced your being and physical mood? If you're not knodding "yes" then you're a steaming piece of flatulence.

Many people don't know that Funebrarum has band member's from Disma and Evoken; being band's that arose in latter dates. It's funny how a lot bands created better music when they first began. This album stands strong against all of the band member's newer accomplishments.

The technical feature of the drums stands out most to me. The tone is reminiscent of "Path of the Weakening" by Deeds of Flesh. This comparison is only in the tone, not the style of play. The drums are clearly playing a solid/advanced style of OSDM drums. Their not afraid of getting into the brutal death metal territory, but never become rediculously over the top. The production of the snare and bass drum are higher in the mix than the cymbals. This offers a unique listening experience and allows the drum wrist work to really shrine through.

The vocals are always in a gutteral fashion and aren't my fav of the album but I don't feel they detract much frm the experience of "BTCOAG". They provide good flow and keep the album running along in a smooth fashion.

The riffs are always gold and the bass is clearly audible and provides greatly in the atmospheric presense of Funebrarum's first LP release. The bass has distorted effect on them that add to the grimy factor, clearly audible in tracks like "Depths of Misery". The guitars are extremely sexy and have a lot of sexual appeal. They lull the listener in with catchy heavy riffs and transitions like the ones found in "Miasma of Pestilence".

The album length is very appropiate. This 5 track records allows for longer songs; giving enough time for the crusty emotions to develope. Running in at 30 minutes of solid playing time the listener will be taken through a museum-like journey of everything solid OSDM metal has to offer as well as providing a heightened experience with well above average drum work.

Funerbrarum is one of the most consistent and well thought out Death Metal bands around in our modern age and their cataloque should never be overlooked. Have a taste of the "La La".



Recent reviews by this author
Dropped Flyer Electronic CigaretteAbacus Abacus
Van der Graaf Generator Pawn HeartsFinch (NL) Beyond Expression
Orwell AVOHFASIHOdyssey (USA) An Abstract Existence
user ratings (41)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Relinquished
February 21st 2012


28364 Comments


rules

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Abyss

Beachcoma
February 21st 2012


526 Comments


i need more death metal in my life. killer as fuck review too

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


16757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome band

ShadowRemains
February 21st 2012


22229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

need



new



album

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


19587 Comments


still havent found a link for their split with Undergang that will rule

and yeah, need new album, this doomcrushes hard

Digging: Mother Mallard's Portable Masterpiece Co. - Like a Duck to Water

ShadowRemains
February 21st 2012


22229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

can't find a link for the undergang LP either, which I would like to hear

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


19587 Comments


goddamn feds fuck em all

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


16757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck da police

Vesper
February 21st 2012


3085 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ughhhhhhh this band....















































SO FUCKING GOOD.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


16757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

crushes

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


19587 Comments


its no alcest

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


16757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

read SuicideVeil90's drudkh soundoff lololol

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


19587 Comments


yeah i bumped it, it was amazing

ShadowRemains
February 21st 2012


22229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

drudkh was much better than handful of stars but not quite as good as microcosmos



that was some shadowsfallen-esque material right there

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


19587 Comments


gonna write a review and use that as the opening paragraph fuck yeah when does the record actually drop

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


16757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

when does the record actually drop


The 24th. I have staff dibs on it but if you post a review with that as the opening paragraph I'll pos.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


19587 Comments


i will 5 it i am already writing it, it will be amazing

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


16757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

m/

Hawks
February 22nd 2012


36771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of my favorite death metal bands right here.

Digging: An Autumn For Crippled Children - The Long Goodbye

Hawks
September 21st 2012


36771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely not as good as The Sleep of Morbid Dreams, but this still slays hard.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy