Eisley
Deep Space


2.5
average

Review

by Irving Tan STAFF
February 19th, 2012 | 85 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Houston, we have a problem.

It’s mildly surprising that Eisley have taken this long to come up with a studio release whose title references outer space, particularly given that the band’s name takes after a city from the Star Wars franchise. Yet the title of Eisley’s latest EP could just as easily be describing its contents: Deep Space sees the five DuPrees charting a wide reentry path through the universe that they had previously created for themselves via Room Noises, Combinations, and last year’s The Valley. Vocal harmonies soar once more above a series of dissonant guitar lines and inoffensive drumbeats, and the songwriting ticks all the boxes required to become an oft-repeated science.

It’s the safest thing since airbags, to be sure, but there’s also a tangible lack of friction, and a lack of friction often means no heat. Accordingly, Deep Space frequently comes across as sterile, cold, and willfully empty. The lofty introduction that is opening track “Lights Out”, for instance, bobs along solely on the rhythmic strength behind Stacy DuPree’s opening chant of “Away with me/Away with you/Away with sight and all its darkness” – which would be fine, if it didn’t itself approach metronomic levels of redundancy. Elsewhere, “Laugh It Off” is a less fiery version of The Valley’s “Smarter”, whereas “192 Days” swaps lyrical sophistication for some orotund bluntness. “Baby, you’re still driving me crazy,” wheedles Stacy DuPree, as a stately two-note guitar riff hums in the background. At once underwhelming and bizarrely mundane, it practically sums up the sensations that come from listening to this EP: instead of the dreamy and ethereal surrealism its title suggests, we’re frequently left floating listlessly in a void.

The title track provides for the EP’s greatest disappointment. Described by the band as a song about a couple going into space to live together, the track opens in a typical Eisley manner, with Stacy DuPree emoting herself over atmospheric surroundings before her band starts to build musically and up the tempo. Later, she and sister Sherri trade vocal harmonies over a chorus, complete with a thick down-tuned guitar throttling deep into the mix, as if Manchester Orchestra’s Robert McDowell had dropped by the studio to contribute a few parts. Unfortunately, it all sounds nothing like the vainglorious, whimsical epic that the song’s setting leads you to expect it to be; in fact, for a taste of hope and excitement, your time would probably be better spent reading Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451. Forget outer space; this EP doesn’t even have enough fuel to make it out of the atmosphere.



Recent reviews by this author
U2 Songs of InnocenceThe Pineapple Thief Magnolia
Ty Segall ManipulatorLinkin Park The Hunting Party
Coldplay Ghost StoriesCaleb McAlpine All Things New
user ratings (20)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm sorry Willie and Gyro.

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

KILL
February 19th 2012


72090 Comments


indie poop

Digging: Steve Hackett - Out of the Tunnel's Mouth

Winsomniac
February 19th 2012


8012 Comments


I could have used some coffee from a Christian coffee shop.


Apparently this is pretty passable though.

Digging: Submotion Orchestra - Alium

KILL
February 19th 2012


72090 Comments


ching chang ching chang chong

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh, KILL. Classy as always.

Scoot
February 19th 2012


17887 Comments


Plenty Of Paper – the song sounds like a bunch of paper, a gift of paper. Large Amount of Paper! All yeah, paper, more paper.

Digging: Renounced - The Melancholy We Ache

Knott-
Emeritus
February 19th 2012


10198 Comments


yah this was underwhelming

ThespianLesbian
February 19th 2012


248 Comments


hot

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Mmhmm.

This was also my third 2.5 review in a row for 2012 lol; in other words I have listened to pretty meh music so far this year.

Knott-
Emeritus
February 19th 2012


10198 Comments


Fun./Sleigh Bells/John K. Samson

yre welcome

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ily Knott.

Gonna Adam all to my iTunes as fast as I can :D

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Give it a go then mate. But seriously I don't think it's particularly impressive in any way at all.

Gyromania
February 19th 2012


15967 Comments


What a lovely review! Concise and masterfully written, Irving; have a pos. I do like this quite a bit,
but not as much as when I first heard it.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


6281 Comments


ching chang ching chang chong

lol shame on you KILL



did a quick read on the closure paragraph, brilliant, will read the whole text later.

Digging: Deadwood - Picturing a Sense of Loss

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


28785 Comments


pretty awful review, made worse by the fact that you apologize to gyro, the ultimate weekender eisley fan. #falsefan.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ouch acad =(

Any criticisms that you make care to make?

Gyromania
February 19th 2012


15967 Comments


never happened.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh, okay. I just followed him up on that one because sometimes he does have good, honest criticisms to make with regards to review-writing.

Also, dude, can we haz ur Eisley intervue wryt-up nao?

Gyromania
February 19th 2012


15967 Comments


It's a shame - he does have some validated and appreciated posts, but then other times it's like he's
contriving to be the most unapproachable user possible. I'm mostly referring to his random jab at me,
but aside that your writing here is as good as always imo.

I'll be posting the interview here in a couple-few days! Well, I'll post a link for it, I mean.

Ire
February 19th 2012


41822 Comments


pretty awful review, made worse by the fact that you apologize to gyro, the ultimate weekender eisley fan. #falsefan.


false kate bush fan too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy