Taking Back Sunday
Tell All Your Friends


1.5
very poor

Review

by crandynewman USER (38 Reviews)
February 14th, 2012 | 153 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No thanks guys I will not being telling all my friends.

I love pop-punk. And I hate bad vocals. So what happens when you combine something I love with something I hate. Well, you make me hate that something that I love. And thats the best way to describe Taking Back Sunday's debut album Tell All Your Friends (yeah right). It has plenty of catchy songs to make me love it but I really can't stand the vocals on it. Evidenced by later albums, Taking Back Sunday and their singer Adam Lazzara (as well as their many many backup vocalists) would get way better vocally but on this one its just a pain to listen to from the front to the back!

The album starts off with You Know How I Do which is probably the worst song on the album. It suffers from most of the problems (bad vocals and poor producion) as the rest of the album but this one isn't even all that well written or catchy. Not a good way to start the album but luckily Bike Scene brings things up just a little bit with some catchy guitar and a cool anthem part at the end. That's a nother thing I don't like about the album; every single song is an anthem! I mean I like a good anthem as much as the next guy but this is ridiculously too far. The vocals stay pretty consistantly bad the whole album through. Its weird that they're so bad because certain parts are really obviously autotuned because Adam and John's voice flicker around unnaturally all over the place.

Thats not to say it's that bad of an album though. If Adam from Where You Want to Be (a much MUCH superior album) and Fred re-recorded this album it would have been great. Because other than the annoying vocals and the repetitive structures the songs are written very well. The lyrics are usually pretty good even if they are a little dramatic sometimes. They are often treated like sister bands with Brand New and I could see how you might think that. But if Where You Want to Be is Taking Back Sunday's Deja Entendu (a pop punk masterpiece) then Tell All Your Friends is Taking Back Sunday's Daisy, a loud clunky mess with too much repetition and annoying vocals.



Recent reviews by this author
The Beatles Let It BeThe Beatles The Beatles
Stooma Against the WorldThe Beatles Magical Mystery Tour
The Beatles Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club BandSay Anything Anarchy, My Dear
user ratings (1630)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
crandynewman
February 13th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

got the idea from the other guy that reviewed it today

PrewDelisek
February 13th 2012


42 Comments


you are the single greatest troll in the history of trolls

ohfoxxxycole
February 13th 2012


4353 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i dont feel like the structures here are repetitive

crandynewman
February 13th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

if i was a troll then that would be a big complement

PrewDelisek
February 13th 2012


42 Comments


maintaining your composure, i see what youre doing here...

patman1001
February 13th 2012


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

how is the production bad on this?

crandynewman
February 13th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

thanks prew!

crandynewman
February 13th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"Its weird that they're so bad because certain parts are really obviously autotuned because Adam and John's voice flicker around unnaturally all over the place."

foxblood
February 13th 2012


6797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

inb4 andcas rage
lol summary

ohfoxxxycole
February 13th 2012


4353 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that sentence doesn't flow well and hardly answers his question

patman1001
February 13th 2012


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

im not hearing the autotune

Tyrannic
February 13th 2012


3262 Comments


crandy, yes or no. do you honestly feel like youre a productive member of society? no bullshit dodges or crying about this
not being constructive. are you or are you not?

Recspecs
February 13th 2012


9829 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

in b4 andcas rage

Forreal though. What the fuck. This just confirmed you as a troll (your 19 other reviews probably do, but I don't give a shit) for me.

ILJ
February 13th 2012


6712 Comments


"Thats not to say it's that bad of an album though"

You gave it a 1.5, that's pretty bad.

Again, it seems like all you ever do is focus on vocals in your reviews. Instrumentation man, that's what music is about. Writing something about the actual music would also give you a better picture of the album as a whole, cause you to give it more than a couple listens, and probably result in a longer, better review.

crandynewman
February 13th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"crandy, yes or no. do you honestly feel like youre a productive member of society? no bullshit dodges or crying about this
not being constructive. are you or are you not?"

yes
ive done 20 reviews in 2 weeks thats pretty productive


and sorry you feel that way respecs

ILJ
February 13th 2012


6712 Comments


"ive done 20 reviews in 2 weeks thats pretty productive"

And 19 of them are terrible, the other one only being decent. That kind of erases any productivity factor you might have had.

Tyrannic
February 13th 2012


3262 Comments


you sincerely feel the writing of the twenty pieces you contributed makes you a productive member of society?

question: who's reading them? i mean actually reading them, not just giggling the whole time?

crandynewman
February 13th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"im not hearing the autotune"

chorus and 2nd verse of bike scene especially john is the one that i remember the most

DarthMann
February 13th 2012


13815 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol you gave this a 1 but yfw a 4.5

but awesome work crandynewman i enjoyed the review!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111one

crandynewman
February 13th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"you sincerely feel the writing of the twenty pieces you contributed makes you a productive member of society?

question: who's reading them? i mean actually reading them, not just giggling the whole time?"

sure, some people enjoy them at least

and im being productive to myslef by getting better



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy