Uncle Acid And The Deadbeats
Vol. 1


4.5
superb

Review

by Voivod STAFF
February 12th, 2012 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Should your music fix include late-‘60s-to-mid-‘70s vintage rock, Uncle Acid And The Deadbeats debut album is a long lost friend from the past, stopping by to say hello and catch up on what has been, what is and what will be.

The ‘70s occult heavy rock revival is projecting itself onto the second decade of the 21st century with full force, following its atypical and rather “pale” commencement during the early-to- mid ‘00s. This projection has attained characteristics of a rapidly growing appeal to a newly established fan base and, in effect, to the major labels and their managers. The latter almost exclusively account for old-school rock fans or members of disbanded (for the most part) and similar in style music ensembles, who decided to establish their own small labels in order to distribute their favorite music since no one else would (Lee Dorrian and Rise Above Records is one example out of the not so many). Bands that started their activity during the ‘00s in small and underground labels (Witchcraft, Graveyard and The Devil’s Blood, to name a few), now prosper from the support of major labels, namely Nuclear Blast and Metal Blade. The important thing though, is that this revival is not finite, as new bands of equal or greater quality are constantly popping out, presenting slightly differentiated yet awesome mixtures of the same base musical blend. One such band is the English act of Uncle Acid and the Dead Beats and their debut self-financed album Vol. 1, which is nectar to the ears of those who are thirsty for high quality vintage heavy rock.

The band is a power trio comprised of Uncle Acid on vocals, guitars and keyboards, Kat on handling out the low frequencies and Red behind the drum kit. Everything else about the band’s whereabouts lies in utter obscurity, yet any selling point oriented information other than their actual music, would be really redundant. In a nutshell, their music is where it is at. Implementing a sound production that simulates perfectly the misty stench of ‘60s London skid rows, the heavy rock of Uncle Acid and Co. appears to be relatively constrained at first. Soon enough though, a structural relaxation towards diverse musical pathways becomes gradually observable. Whereas there’s that boogie driven, straight-in-your-face heavy rock that will force die-hard rock fans either to bang their head in the air or their foot on the floor (“Crystal Spiders”), there are occasions where this heavy rock gets as bluesy and nostalgic as it can get, leading in psychedelic and wonderful solo guitar or keyboard driven jams that could go on forever ( “Lonely and Strange”). Furthermore, the band lets its occult rock to be alloyed with the cool glam/hippie/rock n’ roll baby boomers used to get their heads and bodies off with, during mid-‘60s to mid-70s. Songs like “Dead Eyes of London”, “Vampire Circus” or the magnificent album closer “Wind up Toys” are in line with the aforementioned respect, as the rock n’ roll fun and groove is blended superbly with the bleak aura of occult/vintage heavy rock. A crucial contributing factor in all the aforementioned musical perspectives lies in Uncle Acid’s inherently psychedelic and smooth vocals, which complement every song perfectly.

Should your music fix include late-‘60s-to-mid-‘70s vintage rock, Uncle Acid And The Deadbeats debut album is a long lost friend from the past, stopping by to say hello and catch up to what has been, what is and what will be. Uncle Acid and his mates manage to evolve wisely within the relatively constrained spectrum of ‘60s/‘70s rock and give something that does not resemble to anything relevant to the 21st century occult/vintage rock revival. Those who know their vintage rock, will have a really hard time figuring whether this album came in 2010 or 40 years ago, as its constituent ingredients are shuffled to the brink of perfection.



Recent reviews by this author
Riot V Unleash The FireSanctuary The Year the Sun Died
Voivod VoivodEssence Beyond Carnivalism
Electric Citizen SateenVicious Rumors Live You to Death 2 - American Punishment
user ratings (23)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


6357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Crystal Spiders:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Weag53DCXNA


Witches Garden:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IlAaE148rAw


Dead Eyes of London:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zzy21LHw3eU


Lonely and Strange:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xnjPuuc7CA


Vampire Circus:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u0ivQjQj2dk


Do What Your Love Tells You:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5G2ljG4V-DQ


I don’t know:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uw5TCbOCJG0


Wind Up Toys:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NgEnp-PJKGE





Constructive criticism is most welcome.

Digging: Aspherium - The Fall of Therenia

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


3521 Comments


yes, occult heavy rock! this album is good. great review pos. they seem to be better than The Devil's Blood, at least better than their latest album.

Digging: Stonebride - Heavy Envelope

Mewcopa0
February 12th 2012


1809 Comments


i loved Blood Lust. I will check this out too


Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


10676 Comments


Awesome review, Blood Lust was excellent so I will definitely look into this.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III - Saturnian Poetry

SteelErectedb4you8er
February 12th 2012


2618 Comments


Awesome Job, Voivod. I love this band.

TheNotrap
February 12th 2012


8137 Comments


Another good review.

I'm not into vintage rock nowadays. I will probably check this out in a couple of months.

Digging: Funebrarum - The Sleep of Morbid Dreams

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


6357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks guys.

I like Vol. 1 a little better than Blood Lust, because it heads in so many directions, as I write in the review.

Blood Lust, while it is awesome too, is almost exclusively Sabbath (4 first albums) oriented.

"Wind Up Toys" is such a fantastic song, i could listen to it all day.





@ insomniac15

I too tend to like Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats more than The Devil's Blood. These guys take vintage to its extremes.

iFghtffyrdmns
February 12th 2012


7047 Comments


nice write up void

doesn't exactly sound like my schtick

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


7474 Comments


I need to check it out. I'm only familiar with their second album which is good.

Great review as always.

Digging: Clipping - CLPPNG

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


6357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ iFghtffyrdmns

Yeah, probably you are right, however, I've read reviews about this that mentioned the existence of proto-punk influences.

I think you will find some interest in songs like "Dead Eyes of London" or "Wind Up Toys".

Funeralopolis
February 12th 2012


11898 Comments


I was told to listen to this but I am a rebellious mongoose.

Digging: Owen Pallett - In Conflict

CakeWithCream
February 12th 2012


1029 Comments


well stop being rebellious, you can still be a mongoose

Hikikomori
February 12th 2012


48 Comments


Love this one as well as Blood Lust. Band is great.

Funeralopolis
February 12th 2012


11898 Comments


I like being a mongoose, I think I was rewarded in my previous life for being a productive honey bee, but boy oh boy do I miss the wings. The sex? You don't even know how good the queen is.

rockandmetaljunkie
February 13th 2012


3884 Comments


HOLY SHIT this awesome man !!!
I caught my self jammin and headbanging !!!

Vintage classic rock FTW !!!
Where did you found those guys ?

rockandmetaljunkie
February 13th 2012


3884 Comments


Good review btw

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


7474 Comments


"Where did you found those guys ?"

Lol. You must have slept under the rock the whole last year. Their latest album has been enormously hyped everywhere except Sputnik.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


6357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ rockandmetaljunkie


Glad you like it man.

Πριν 2-3 τεύχη (τεύχος 323) υπήρχε αναλυτική παρουσίασή τους στο Sub Terra του Metal Hammer, από το Βασίλη Ζαχαρόπουλο.



@ greg84


Their most recent album has 16 votes, which is cool.

I mean, it could have like 5, given the underground status of the band.

Will review it soon enough.

rockandmetaljunkie
February 13th 2012


3884 Comments


"Πριν 2-3 τεύχη (τεύχος 323) υπήρχε αναλυτική παρουσίασή τους στο Sub Terra του Metal Hammer, από το Βασίλη Ζαχαρόπουλο."

Αυτο ειναι καλο. Νομιζα οτι το περιοδικο γραφει μονο για γνωστα συγκροτηματα.
Δε διαβαζω αυτα τα περιοδικα επομενως δεν γνωριζω και πολλα για το περιεχομενο τους.

rockandmetaljunkie
February 13th 2012


3884 Comments


"Lol. You must have slept under the rock the whole last year. Their latest album has been enormously hyped everywhere except Sputnik."

Unfortunately i don't have enough time for digging or searching for newly emerging hyped bands.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy