Say Anything
Say Anything


4.0
excellent

Review

by crandynewman USER (38 Reviews)
February 12th, 2012 | 22 replies | 1,523 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Although its not as consistently good as their other albums, Say Anything by the band of the same name is a great addition to their discography and an album that reeks of fun.

4 of 7 thought this review was well written

Max Bemis is a bit of an idol of mine; it's been quite the triumph to watch him overcome his bipolar disorder and I think the stability that he's received certainly shows through in his musical progression. If ...Is a Real Boy was a messy, raw masterpiece that reveled in his craziness and In Defense of the Genre was his recovery, then this self-titled release his certainly his return to sanity. Don't be fooled though, this album does have it's fair share of crazy moments, like condemnation of everyone (including himself) on Hate Everyone, the circus sounds of Mara and Me, and the spoken word snark of Property. Max obviously knows that he's been through a lot and has decided to allow his music to show that, but never so much that it becomes a pain to listen to.

Let's not kid ourselves, Max IS the band; if you don't like him, you aren't going to like the band just based on drummer Coby Linder's contributions (which are few on this album). Max can admittedly be a little much to handle on the first listen, but once you get hooked, you'll stay there. He winds his way from singing, to pretty much whispering in the verses of Eloise, to screaming in the bridge of the final track, making the most out of his limited vocal prowess. He oozes charisma which more than makes up for his lack of a traditionally good voice, and every track on the album has something interesting that he brings to the table vocally. Among the coolest moments have to be the climax of Eloise and the end of Cemetery, which is probably one of his best moments on any Say Anything record.

The biggest flaw with this album is it's consistency, as it does have a couple of duds in the form of She Won't Follow You and Young, Dumb, and Stung. These aren't bad songs in their own right, but the former is pretty middle of the road while the latter simply falters from false aggression and a somewhat annoying rhyme scheme. However, the good on this album far outweighs the bad, and it would behoove you to listen to this album whether you're a Say Anything fan or not. It's Bemis-y enough to keep the SA fans interested, yet accessible enough to draw in new fans with its eclectic sound. Like the kid on the front of the album, Max is my hero.



Recent reviews by this author
The Beatles Let It BeThe Beatles The Beatles
Stooma Against the WorldThe Beatles Magical Mystery Tour
The Beatles Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club BandSay Anything Anarchy, My Dear
user ratings (717)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
crandynewman
February 12th 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

one of my favorite bands

SCREAMorphine
February 12th 2012



1712 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review crandynewman, pos
This is pretty fun to listen to.

There was a Bside to this which I loved as well, can't remember the name though

crandynewman
February 12th 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks scream!

ive only heard narcissus but it was a good bside

DarthMann
February 12th 2012



13467 Comments


yes more crandynewman

crandynewman
February 12th 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks darth!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012



3165 Comments


talk about the tracks more and less about your opinion. you should be as objective as you can in your arguments and review the album in a way that i can understand what's going on even if i haven't heard this (i actually haven't heard this and i can't say what genre is, what's about, etc.)

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

Island
February 12th 2012



577 Comments


insomniac15 can you do me a favor

Tyrael
February 12th 2012



20442 Comments


are crandy's reviews actually getting better or am I just stupid

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012



3165 Comments


i am still trying to give advice to the man, but if he doesn't do anything about it i'm gonna stop

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012



9519 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

This is surprisingly good. Have a pos, alt- uh, friend!

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

Wombat988
February 12th 2012



387 Comments


Is there anyway of setting it so Crandy can only release one review a week?

ConsiderPhlebas
February 12th 2012



6157 Comments


Good review

ILJ
February 12th 2012



6550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This review actually showed some significant improvements. My only real gripe is that you really only focused on Max as a vocalist (which is slightly forgivable since you did mention that he IS the band in your opinion) but you should still at least mention the instrumentation at least a little.

But, you seem to be making improvements, and for that, you get a pos.

Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

johnnyblaze
February 12th 2012



2575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you seem to be making improvements, and for that, you get a pos. [2]

crandyman 4 staff 2012

Digging: The Hold Steady - Teeth Dreams

crandynewman
February 12th 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks guys! except for wombat

guitarplaya91
February 12th 2012



484 Comments


^Shit's cold.

TheVoiceAndTheSnake
February 12th 2012



3663 Comments


"thanks guys! except for wombat"

Because he is telling the truth?

crandynewman
February 12th 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hes being unhelpful, not giving real criticisms

TooLateToGoBack
February 12th 2012



1686 Comments


great job, Crandy.

love reading your reviews! have a POS.

crandynewman
February 12th 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks toolate!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy