Young Guns
Bones


3.5
great

Review

by fish CONTRIBUTOR (43 Reviews)
February 6th, 2012 | 18 replies | 6,850 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Although not quite as solid as their debut, Young Guns' sophomore effort is an enjoyable record which stands out amongst the wide array of (relatively) mainstream rock music there is to offer

All Our Kings Are Dead was a fantastic debut album. Pumping up a Lostprophets-esque energy with catchy melodies and immense choruses, before adding dark overtones and mesmerising guitar leads to create a gorgeous atmosphere, it propelled Young Guns right to the forefront of the British rock scene. It was mainstream rock at its freshest, its most passionate and just generally its absolute best. Honestly, topping it was going to be extremely difficult.

Musically, Bones isn’t particularly different to its predecessor. Gustav Wood is still crooning out powerful melodies, the large power chords are still present as well as atmospheric guitar leads occasionally combined with synthesisers, pianos and acoustic guitars for added depth. Frankly, Young Guns didn’t really need to change much anyway; they pretty much perfected the sound they were going for right from the start. On Bones however, something seems to have been lost a little. The same passion that would captivate the listener for the entirety of a song over and over on All Our Kings Are Dead is less consistent on Bones, and whereas on the debut each song held its own, on here they are less separable and less cohesive. The atmosphere that gave the debut its best songs has been toned down a little too, and the other components don’t quite take up the slack. All Our Kings Are Dead had more variety as well, with heavier songs, softer songs, more atmospheric songs and more stripped down, regular rock songs, all adding their worth to the whole.

Bones is definitely more an album of ‘the moments’, rather than the songs as a whole, but although it doesn’t quite match up to its older brother on consistency and general quality, it’s still a great album. The catchy melodies are subtler and less hard hitting, but they’re still there and often take a few listens to fully open up to the listener’s ears, most notably on opener “I Was Born, I Have Lived, I Will Surely Die” and lead single “Learn My Lesson”. Young Guns are still at their best when they bring in atmosphere, especially on the title-track (also quite probably the album highlight) and the grandiose “Headlights”, which employs a shuddering bass and intense tremolo picking right from the offset. “You Are Not” is another immense and atmospheric number right the way through and despite a little cheesiness throughout the album (it doesn’t really get much cheesier than an acoustic guitar in a song called “A Hymn For All I’ve Lost”), there’s still something deep about Gustav singing the line ‘everything ends…’ as his vocals fade away into the reverb, and closer “Broadfields” is equally elegant.

Despite occasional blips such as “Dearly Departed”, “Towers (On My Way)” and “Brother In Arms” (the more upbeat, straightforward and coincidentally weaker songs), the album is a great follow up to Young Guns’ debut. Although it doesn’t quite stand the weight of expectation, Bones still places Young Guns far ahead of most of their counterparts and shows just how deep and convincing relatively ordinary rock music can be in the right hands.



Recent reviews by this author
JMSN †Pllajë†Say Lou Lou Better In The Dark
Sky Ferreira Night Time, My TimeM.I.A. Matangi
The Weeknd Kiss LandNK Nothing To Be Gained Here
user ratings (94)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Davey Boy STAFF (3.5)
Unless a certain TV series exposes ‘Bones’, Young Guns won’t fill arenas just yet....


Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2012



21559 Comments


constructive criticism much appreciated. I know I spoke a bit too much about their first album but its still difficult not to feel a little disappointed this didn't quite match up to it

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

Titan50
February 6th 2012



4588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No idea this was out yet, sweet

AlecBaldwin
February 6th 2012



147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I prefer the singles from this album to those from their previous album. They sound (I hate to use
this word) more 'anthemic'.

Previously the vocalist seemed to take himself too seriously as well, I think he's grew into himself
as a song-writer now (does that make sense?). He's more willing to let the lyrics speak for
themselves, rather than trying to force emotion in his delivery.

This is just my opinion, based on the singles. I listened to this once on Spotify earlier and I think
it sounded promising. The grade is probably fair. The review is good - especially the final sentence,
which is just so accurate. I pos'd.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2012



21559 Comments


the last one had like 5 singles by the end of its run though, lol. the title track is definitely anthemic, but I don't really know what you mean about the lyrics... the haven't really changed much from the last one and neither have his vocals

Sanders
February 6th 2012



2339 Comments


Good review, getting on this now. How's the drumming on this album? I was impressed when I saw them live, that the drummer could be quite so energetic and hold his vocals so well at the same time.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2012



21559 Comments


the drumming's decent but it's in no way at the forefront of the music, except maybe on the title
track. it gives a kinda thickness and solidity

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2012



21559 Comments


sorry Davey I inb4d you

AlecBaldwin
February 6th 2012



147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"but I don't really know what you mean about the lyrics... the haven't really changed much from the last one and neither have his vocals"

I mean that the vocalist used to be a bit melodramatic, as though every word coming out was so remarkably important and pain-staking. It's the same with "Learn My Lesson", at least in the video, but he doesn't seem to do this as much anymore. Or maybe I need to listen closer?

AlecBaldwin
February 6th 2012



147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Btw, how long have you been listening to this album? Is this review based on today's listening, or have you had it for longer?

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2012



21559 Comments


my preorder arrived a couple of days early so I've listened to it quite a few times

I mean that the vocalist used to be a bit melodramatic, as though every word coming out was so
remarkably important and pain-staking. It's the same with "Learn My Lesson", at least in the video,
but he doesn't seem to do this as much anymore. Or maybe I need to listen closer?

his vocals seem quite melodramatic on quite a few of these tbh... "Everything Ends", etc

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"sorry Davey I inb4d you"

I was gonna say "no problems" in reply, but having just listened to it for the 1st time, you took most of my points you ba$tard.

The loss of that "atmosphere" you speak of clearly stood out to me, although I disagree that it wasn't cohesive, as I sense a theme running through it.

I also didn't mind a couple of those straight-forward tracks you weren't too high on.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2012



21559 Comments


I apologise ):
but the straightforward tracks are just so bland

1SecondToDie
February 6th 2012



35 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Quite good album (even excellent) and I like its more than their debut album. I Was Born, I Have
Lived, I Will Surely Die and Bones are highlights here. Bright melodies and catchy vocals are enough
for making a good alternative. Though, many bands failed in this.

NorwichScene
February 7th 2012



1403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Just not enough stand put tracks on here for me. Their debut had some excellent tracks like weight of the world and elements plus a few others.

I like Brothers in Arms and Everything Ends, but apart from them it's pretty much average. Maybe I expected too much after their ep and debut. Still I'll give this a 3.5 as it's better than a lot of stuff on the radio



Digging: Flood of Red - Throw

sspedding
February 9th 2012



4751 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Really enjoyed Young Guns' debut so I will check this out.

Good review. Pos.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just piecing together the final parts of my review now... Stay tuned.

The title track just may be my fave from the young year so far.

NorwichScene
February 9th 2012



1403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Looking forward to it Davey

thumbcrusher
March 30th 2012



3569 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

finally got round to listening to this properly, not bad by any means. there are quite a few nice, catchy moments, but it's somewhat dull for the most part and doesn't look like it will demand many re-listens



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy